We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palo Verde Wildlife-jungle tour”

Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tico Tours Guanacaste is a Licensed and Insured Tour Company. Our Company aims to provide you with an active experience of the real Costa Rica. We will take you off of the beaten path for a one-of-a-kind, matchless experience unlike those of the standard big coach tours. Tico Tours Guanacaste provides first-class personal attention, superior customer service and unique adventures for an unforgettable experience. It's truly our pleasure to share the natural beauty of Costa Rica through a native's perspective, while maintaining the desired of comfort and quality of service that today's travelers expect and deserve. Our company uses air conditioned, up-to-date vehicles with full insurance coverage. Customer satisfaction is our #1 goal! Tico Tours Guanacaste prides itself on individual attention to client. We will do all in our hands to ensure that your time in Costa Rica is truly memorable.
Somerset, Sandys, Bermuda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Palo Verde Wildlife-jungle tour”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This morning Marco was at our Pacifico condo 5 minutes before the planned pick up time of 7:30am. The tour van was clean and like new with comfortable seats.
There were 7 of us on the tour and all had a great time.
We arrived at the Wetlands base and were treated to tamarind juice, Ice tea, coffee, watermelon and pineapple.
We were then taken to the boat and went for a river journey for about an hour and a half.
Marcos and the river boat operator were good spotters and we saw crocodiles, howler monkeys and White Faced Cappuccino monkeys. We saw several bird species, iguanas etc.
After the boat tour, there was a demonstration of extracting sugar juice from sugar cane using oxen to turn a press.
We then had a fantastic Tico meal and relaxed before heading back to Coco.
All agreed that this was fantastic.
You cannot go wrong with Tico Tours!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata, responded to this review, April 14, 2015
Ray C we highly appreciate your review. Palo Verde is a nice family tour, and there's nothing better than get to see animals in their natural habitad. I'm glad to know all of you enjoyed the tour, if you guys ever comeback we will be waiting for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    16
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goose Creek, South Carolina
1 review
“Excellent Tours”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We did 6 tours total and all were amazing!!! We did the jungle river tour, sunset/snorkling tour, ATV tour, Volcano/Waterfall tour, Horseback riding/zipplining tour, and the class 1/2 rafting tour. All of the tours were excellent and had beautiful scenery, but our favorites were the Volcano/waterfall tour and the zipplinning. The waterfalls were absolutely beautiful, like something you would see only in a magazine and volcano mud bath and hot springs is something we will never forget. The zipplinning was just a blast, the guides were helpful and fun. We were able to do the "superman" and go upside down with the help of the guides. We were lucky enough to have Juan Carlos as our guide for all of our tours and he did an excellent job!!! We were impressed with his overall knowledge of everything in Costa Rica. The transportation was always on time and the vans were always very well kept. There was free juice, water and beer with all the tours and we had lunch included in all of our tours. Tico Tours made our vacation one we will never forget!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata, responded to this review, April 15, 2015
Dear Rachel T it makes us happy to know you got unforgettable memories while you were here, it was a pleasure to help you showing our country and drive you guys around in all the different areas and tours, JC actually told us he spend a nice time with you, I'll let him know about your good comments. We hope to see some time soon. Bernal Mata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Guanacaste family vacation 2014”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Bernal and his team made our week in Costa Rica one to remember for a lifetime. We loved JC, Juan Carlos and our drivers. Our ATV beach hooping trip with JC was so much fun, we got to see some of the most beautiful beaches that Guanacaste has to offer. Playa Conchal was by far our favorite beach. We got to stop and swim and spend some fun time with our ATV guides and of course JC!! The food was amazing and we ended our day with some shopping at Coco Beach!! Our second tour was so much fun with Juan Carlos and our driver. Miravalles volcano was amazing, We did some horseback riding, wildlife viewing, thermal pools, waterslide and of course mud baths. Saw some amazing waterfalls did some hiking into the rainforest. Walked on bridges and my daughters jumped off a cliff into a waterfall. We had two amazing days with Tico Tours and staff. If you are in the Liberia make sure to book with the best. Tico Tours!!! Familia Yepez and Gaines thank you for your hospitality!! See you soon!! Pura Vida

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rgaines G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata, responded to this review, April 15, 2015
rgaines G I cant do nothing but agree with you, I love Playa Conchal, it's a beautiful beach down in Guanacaste. What can I say about JC, he is something. We are happy to know you enjoyed our tours

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review, I'll pass on you good comments to JC, and honestly I hope to see you guys some time soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tico Tours was the highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Wow! Tico Tours delivered above and beyond our expectations! The adventure was amazing and the guides were so knowledgeable. Never did we feel we were on a tour. We felt we were privately guided around to see the best of Costa Rica by close family. I would definitely recommend these amazing excursions by Lilliana and Bernal. Do not be fooled by bigger tour companies that pack a small bus with lots of tourists. We had a private tour for the 4 of us in our party each time with Tico Tours. This was the highlight of our trip!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly45215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata, responded to this review, April 15, 2015
Kelly45215 beyond your expectations? reviews like yours make my staff and me grow as person and make us love what we do, honestly we enjoyed our tours every time we do them, every tour is a different experience and you learn new things every time. there's nothing that makes me feel happier than reading your review, thank you very much. Bernal Mata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Snorkeling - Catamaran - JetSki - Personal transports”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

An absolute MUST! Go with a known service with great reviews. My 21 year old son and & I had a most memorable time together, thanks to the help from Tico Tours. Tico Tours is also respected by the local retail stores and restaurants. You must take the snorkeling, zip line, Nicaragua, and JetSki tours. THANK YOU!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank RayDO27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata, responded to this review, April 15, 2015
RayDO27 I must say thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, you took some of our tours and we tried our best for you guys to enjoyed as much as possible, the crew on the boat told us you actually had a very nice experience, I'm glad to know that, hope to see you guys again in our beautiful Costa Rica. Thank you very much for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing