We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paloverde Tour”

Tico Tours Guanacaste
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tico Tours Guanacaste is a Licensed and Insured Tour Company. Our Company aims to provide you with an active experience of the real Costa Rica. We will take you off of the beaten path for a one-of-a-kind, matchless experience unlike those of the standard big coach tours. Tico Tours Guanacaste provides first-class personal attention, superior customer service and unique adventures for an unforgettable experience. It's truly our pleasure to share the natural beauty of Costa Rica through a native's perspective, while maintaining the desired of comfort and quality of service that today's travelers expect and deserve. Our company uses air conditioned, up-to-date vehicles with full insurance coverage. Customer satisfaction is our #1 goal! Tico Tours Guanacaste prides itself on individual attention to client. We will do all in our hands to ensure that your time in Costa Rica is truly memorable.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I went on a jungle boat tour and it was enjoyable despite the rain. The shuttle arrived on time at my condo and I was met by Marcos (the driver) and Carlos (the tour guide). On board was also a couple from Texas. Not being peak season, the tour group was evidently very small. We drove for at least 45 minutes if not more to get to the boat at the river. In the interim, Carlos talked about CR culture, etc. and answered all our questions. Marcos was an awesome driver and did his best to avoid all the potholes along the way (they called it the "massage" part of the tour). Once on the boat we cruised along the river while Carlos described our surroundings and the boat driver would point out the wildlife, e.g. crocodiles, various birds, bats, monkeys, iguanas... after about an hour and being asked to tip the boat driver we then got picked up at a different location and went for lunch which was a typical Costa Rican meal - rice, beans, choice of meat, salad, vegetables, choice of soft drink or coffee and rice pudding. After that we headed back to Cayo Coco but stopped at a souvenir store requested by the couple on the tour.
In a nutshell, great tour guide, great driver, very clean shuttle van. They also provided pop, water, beer in a cooler. When making inquiries they were quick to respond to emails. Therefore why do I rate this tour a four instead of a five star... Simply because I personally don't think it warrants the $100 US price tag.

1  Thank cubata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernalMata, Director of Sales at Tico Tours Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015

Dear Cubata, it's such a shame that even having a good driver in such bad roads like in the one you got the "Car Massage", a very good guide as Carlos and a nice typical Costa Rican lunch you gave us 4 stars. We don't ask our customers to tip any one, when we get out of the boat we ask people to thank our captain for his good eye, tips are completely up to you. Even if is high season we manage small groups, we don't want our customers to wait in long lines, no body likes that, and when we get on the boats is just for the people that go with us, we don't join other parties at Palo Verde, but we do appreciate reviews, thank you for taking your time and share your thoughts with us, maybe sometime you can come back in high season and you will see how we work. Luis Lios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 430 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I had the best time on our all day tour with Tico Tours. Our guides were Bernal and Juan Carlos! We were the only two on the tour due to the slow season which gave us a great opportunity to get to know our guides. Bernal and Juan Carlos were so knowledgeable about their country! We learned so much about costa rica in just one day. We went horseback riding to an amazing waterfall where we started our zip lines (the best zip lines in Guanacaste)! The lunch we had was a 3 course meal and was amazing. We had so much fun playing in the volcanic mud and the hot springs.
Juan Carlos was our personal photographer for the day and got some amazing pictures of us! Bernal and Juan Carlos went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time.
Thank you so much for making our honeymoon special!
I would recommend Tico Tours to anyone in Costa Rica!
Love,
Heather & Adam

Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015

Heather C It means so much to us that you had a great honeymoon trip. It was a real pleasure meeting you both and being able to show you some of what this beautiful country has to offer, Thank you so much for bringing out my name and I'll let Juan Carlos Know about your good comments and thoughts. Also thank you for sharing your pictures with us Thanks for your recommendations to other people we highly appreciate it. Bernal Mata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Tico Tours made my first trip to Costa Rica unbelievable, it was a once in a lifetime adventure. Bernal's desire to make sure you enjoy every part of Costa Rica is very exciting. He and his guides go above and beyond to make your vacation special. He has so many different tours, you can find something for everyone. The sailing was beautiful and water rafting was beautiful and exciting. The Borinque was the best, the horseback ride up the mountain to zip line across the jungle was my favorite. AMAZING! The Buena Vista waterslide is a Special Waterslide, don't miss it. Trust me one trip will do! LOL

Bernal's love for his country and his passion to share it with you makes your vacation like none you have ever had before or will have again. Costa Rica's is the VACATION SPOT!!!! It's natural beauty, people, food and unique adventures are PURA VIDA. Go and enjoy this beautiful country with TICO Tours.

Thank you Bernal for all you did to make my trip so AWESOME!!! Especially all the quick stops
with the Martin group - You were so kind and patient!

Rita S.

Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015

Pura Vida my dear Rita S I can only say thank so much for bringing out my name and I must agree with you, Borinquen has my favorite zip lining in Guanacaste and it's a beautiful place to stay with amazing scenarios. You know I love my country so much that I love talking about it and love it even more when my new friends fall in love with it as well. Thanks you so much for such a nice review. Bernal Mata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had a great time touring the waterfalls, delicious typical Costa Rican lunch, hot springs, mud baths, & a little shopping on the way back. Really enjoyed our guides who spoke excellent English. Since it is low season there was just two of us, so we had a very customized tour with much one on one attention.

Thank HeidiK_from_Cbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015

HeidiK_from_Cbus let me thank you for those nice pictures you are sharing with us. I know it was low season but even in high season we manage small groups, we are all about our customers and we try to give them our best so they enjoy the tour as going out with friends, we always appreciate reviews, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Bernal Mata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Small groups, host has great interaction with his guests. Friendly and informative on the drive to locations. Tours included lunch and were wonderful. Best beef and seafood we had! Loved the zip line and steam bath after. The river tour even though not the best time of year was fun and yes we did see monkeys, numerous bird, crocs and more.

Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernalMata, Owner at Tico Tours Guanacaste, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015

Gail K, reviews like yours make our days here in Tico Tours, I'm so glad you enjoyed both of the tours you did with us, such a shame at the river, but at least you got to see many animals. So good to know you enjoyed the meals, the places where we go they hire amazing cooks. Thanks for your review. Bernal Mata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tico Tours Guanacaste also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tico Tours Guanacaste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing