We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome fishing experience”

Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours is a fully licensed and insured fishing company ready to take you out for a full day or half day of fishing. Snorkeling and Surfing to Witches and Ollie's Point is also available. We offer a wide variety of fishing options in the Papagayo Gulf: inshore, offshore, coastal, bottom, casting, fly and spear fishing. If you are looking to save money or prefer not to fish alone, Lisa can arrange a split-charter with other fisherman/woman looking for the same. Captain Daniel has over 40 years of fishing experience and his mate Mauricio, fluent in English, has over 20 years. These guys love to fish and are fishing professionals. We now have a GoPro camera to film your fishing adventure in which Lisa can cut/edit your video to be posted on Youtube. Snorkeling can be included at the end of your fishing trip at no additional cost. This is a great tour for the entire family to explore the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Costa Rica sport fishing is known worldwide as one of the greatest sport fishing/surfing destination plus the weather is great almost all year round. For the intermediate and experienced surfer, trips to Witches Rock and Ollie's are offered with a guide. We look forward to hearing from you. Pura Vida!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome fishing experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We took a morning fishing trip and the two guys that ran the boat were great! The knew the waters well and when a dial fish showed up they patiently trolled the waters until this beauty too the bait and we were able to reel it in! We also caught Bonita Fish which we then took to ne of the restaurants neat the beach when we got back and they cooked it up for us. Just a GREAT day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We appreciate you took the time to write us up a great review and will relay your comments. I uploaded the photo of your sail fish and made it our primary photo - its a beauty, thanks for sending them. We look forward to having you out fishing again when you return to your new home away from home. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    17
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Fishing!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We would definitely recommend North Pacific Tours! Mauricio and Captain Daniel knew exactly where to go for fish. As soon as we got the lines in the water we hooked two mahi-mahi. Then we caught 2 sailfish! The first was about 140 pounds and the second just over 100! We also caught an Amber Jack and a few Wahoos. Lisa was terrific to work with to set up our tour. If we get back to Costa Rica we will definitely fish with them again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
The photos are awesome, thanks for posting them along with your review. I will be sure to let the crew know you both were really happy with your fishing trip. We hope to see you again - Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooper city
1 review
“Great Anniversary Trip”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I went to Costa Rica for our 25th Anniversary. We went for a full day of fishing with North Pacific Tours. We had a fantastic time! Mauricio and Daniel did a great job putting us on the fish. We caught bonita, jack and mahi. But the highlight of the trip was the sailfish my husband caught. We would definitely recommend them. Lisa was a great help setting everything up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificTours, Manager at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
It is going to be hard to top your Anniversary in the years to come! I think you'll both need to make a yearly trip down to fish. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next trip with us. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Catch em, cook em and enjoy!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our second time fishing with North Pacific Tours and like the first time we had a great experience. We did two half days and got into the fish on both days catching 9 mahi mahi on the first day! They ranged from about 12-20 pounds each. As foodies who love to cook, we grilled, pan-fried and made fish for dinner almost every night. It doesn't get any fresher than that! Our only regret was that we couldn't ship some of our fish back home to enjoy with friends and revel them with our fish stories and the ones that didn't get away. When we return to Costa Rica we'll definitely book our fishing excursions with Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hi Marlene, Thank you for the review! The fishing has been fabulous this rainy season that it is making our jobs easy. I have a feeling you'll be back here again fishing with us. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Got the Waves.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Highly recommend this operation for a trip out for surf at Ollies or Witches. They were reliable, competent, and professional. Lisa was very accommodating while Captian Daniel and Mauricio did a great job on the water. No complaints at all and I would use them again without hesitation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi Pete, Your our first surf review, so thank you, we appreciate it. Enjoy the summer catching waves and we look forward to your next visit. Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing