We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A tapas bar with a twist: Asian and Mediterranean fusion, great list of New World Wines by the glass, cocktails made with fresh tropical juices. Exciting and eclectic cuisine like no other in Costa Rica!
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

This was an unexpected first class restaurant in Playa Hermosa! The food is tapas style and a little on the expensive side for the area - but makes for a great "nice dinner". It has very modern architecture and and inviting atmosphere. The wait staff is excellent as well! It wasn't very busy the night we were there, in fact, only one other couple was in the restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kseflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    219
    59
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“deliciousness in Playa Hermosa”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

This restaurant was truly amazing. We had the Ginger rolls, Ahi tuna, Mongolian ribs, Papitas bravas and Portobello crostini, I would highly recommend all of these small plates. The restaurant was all open air with friendly wait staff. I would suggest making a reservation if you are going during the prime dinner hours during the busy season. We went a little later and were able to be seated without a reservation after a few minutes. Overall, Ginger's prices are more like the U.S, but I would say it is still a must if you are in Playa Hermosa or Coco.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FromtheWindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“You Need to Go Here”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

This was right down the street from where we were staying and it was a nice departure from the usual things we were eating. Great food, wine list, and atmosphere. The service, if I recall, was nothing special, but talking to the owner who I think is from Montreal, was a nice memory as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Outstanding Meal in Costa Rica!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We'd been in CR for several days, and, especially as a non-meat eater, I was starting to get a little tired of the standard fare. So we decided to splurge at Ginger -- and had a great night! Ginger has a great setting, helpful & professional waiters, and almost every dish we tried was excellent. We especially enjoyed the ginger rolls (amazing!), the ahi tuna, the chowder, the portobello crostini, and my partner dug the ribs very much. I liked the papitas bravas too, but I'd pass next time on the dorado dorado - compared to everything else, it tasted pretty bland.

Great experience, and we kept talking about how we wanted to go back. Definitely one of our top three culinary experiences of the trip, along with Mario's Cuisine and Koji's (in Santa Teresa).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, food inconsistent”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Atmosphere goes a long way to save an uneven menu. The restaurant setting-a treehouse-is lovely. The service is good and some of the all-tapas dishes are worth a try. Still, we found the food to be inconsistent. Some dishes are delicious; try the spring rolls, the Ginger ahi tuna, the salads. The portobello crostini were also good. My husband ordered the Mongolian ribs, which were so tasty that he ordered another one. These were terribly dry and barely edible the second time. The potstickers and Peking meatballs were disappointingly bland. Ginger makes great (but skimpy cocktails) and as mentioned before, the service is very good. All in all, give Ginger a try but understand that it is definitely not the foodie experience that previous reviewers have mentioned.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing