We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“deliciousness in Playa Hermosa”
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A tapas bar with a twist: Asian and Mediterranean fusion, great list of New World Wines by the glass, cocktails made with fresh tropical juices. Exciting and eclectic cuisine like no other in Costa Rica!
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“deliciousness in Playa Hermosa”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

This restaurant was truly amazing. We had the Ginger rolls, Ahi tuna, Mongolian ribs, Papitas bravas and Portobello crostini, I would highly recommend all of these small plates. The restaurant was all open air with friendly wait staff. I would suggest making a reservation if you are going during the prime dinner hours during the busy season. We went a little later and were able to be seated without a reservation after a few minutes. Overall, Ginger's prices are more like the U.S, but I would say it is still a must if you are in Playa Hermosa or Coco.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FromtheWindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    218
    59
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“You Need to Go Here”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

This was right down the street from where we were staying and it was a nice departure from the usual things we were eating. Great food, wine list, and atmosphere. The service, if I recall, was nothing special, but talking to the owner who I think is from Montreal, was a nice memory as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Outstanding Meal in Costa Rica!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We'd been in CR for several days, and, especially as a non-meat eater, I was starting to get a little tired of the standard fare. So we decided to splurge at Ginger -- and had a great night! Ginger has a great setting, helpful & professional waiters, and almost every dish we tried was excellent. We especially enjoyed the ginger rolls (amazing!), the ahi tuna, the chowder, the portobello crostini, and my partner dug the ribs very much. I liked the papitas bravas too, but I'd pass next time on the dorado dorado - compared to everything else, it tasted pretty bland.

Great experience, and we kept talking about how we wanted to go back. Definitely one of our top three culinary experiences of the trip, along with Mario's Cuisine and Koji's (in Santa Teresa).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, food inconsistent”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Atmosphere goes a long way to save an uneven menu. The restaurant setting-a treehouse-is lovely. The service is good and some of the all-tapas dishes are worth a try. Still, we found the food to be inconsistent. Some dishes are delicious; try the spring rolls, the Ginger ahi tuna, the salads. The portobello crostini were also good. My husband ordered the Mongolian ribs, which were so tasty that he ordered another one. These were terribly dry and barely edible the second time. The potstickers and Peking meatballs were disappointingly bland. Ginger makes great (but skimpy cocktails) and as mentioned before, the service is very good. All in all, give Ginger a try but understand that it is definitely not the foodie experience that previous reviewers have mentioned.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ginger's Blew Me Away”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband heard of this place and it happened to be right down the road from our hotel. The food was absolutely incredible and had an Asian, Thai, Costa-Rican twist to it. The wine list was extensive and the prices were very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing