We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A true gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A tapas bar with a twist: Asian and Mediterranean fusion, great list of New World Wines by the glass, cocktails made with fresh tropical juices. Exciting and eclectic cuisine like no other in Costa Rica!
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A true gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Fusion food at its best. At first thought it a bit odd to have tapas alongside Asian dishes but it really worked well. Friendly staff. So good we visited twice in our short stay!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    195
    52
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New york City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best food in Playa Hermosa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Quality of the food, selection of tapas, original drinks, attentive service plus very pleasant setting.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaggieJ12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Best restaurant we've tried on our trip. Food is very good, staff is very nice, we had a very nice evening there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur_727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pure Asian Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you’re looking to step out for a night of fine Asian dining under the stars, surrounded by Americans, this is the place for you. The food is tapas style, small plates, and full of flavor. My 7 year old daughter and I shared the pot stickers, spring rolls, fried zucchini and vegetable stir fry and we were stuffed! The dulce de leche bar is a small treat for dessert. Service was friendly and fast. They all speak English or Spanish. A great find.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas & Perfect Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had dinner here on Thanksgiving our first night in Costa Rica. The food was AMAZING. From drinks to tapas to dessert, our dining experience was perfect (though a little pricey). It was easily the most expensive meal we had during our 7-nights in town, however it was by far some of the best food we ate!

Between the two of us, we ordered 5 tapas dishes:
Ginger’s Ahi Tuna*
Firecracker Shrimp*
Spring Rolls
Potstickers
Thai Red Curry Beef on Cripsy Plantains*

Honestly, I loved everything we ordered and would STRONGLY suggest the items I starred above. I am drooling just thinking about it!

For dessert we had the signature dish, Pavlova which I could eat EVERY SINGLE DAY it was so good.

The mojito was a little light on the rum, while the margarita was the best in town! Highly recommended, especially with limited dinner options in Playa Hermosa.

The architecture, ambience and wonderful service played a huge part in our dinner as well. All were wonderful, and I would eat here again and again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaLTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing