We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great restaurant”
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A tapas bar with a twist: Asian and Mediterranean fusion, great list of New World Wines by the glass, cocktails made with fresh tropical juices. Exciting and eclectic cuisine like no other in Costa Rica!
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Best restaurant we've tried on our trip. Food is very good, staff is very nice, we had a very nice evening there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur_727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    219
    59
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pure Asian Excellence”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you’re looking to step out for a night of fine Asian dining under the stars, surrounded by Americans, this is the place for you. The food is tapas style, small plates, and full of flavor. My 7 year old daughter and I shared the pot stickers, spring rolls, fried zucchini and vegetable stir fry and we were stuffed! The dulce de leche bar is a small treat for dessert. Service was friendly and fast. They all speak English or Spanish. A great find.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas & Perfect Setting”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had dinner here on Thanksgiving our first night in Costa Rica. The food was AMAZING. From drinks to tapas to dessert, our dining experience was perfect (though a little pricey). It was easily the most expensive meal we had during our 7-nights in town, however it was by far some of the best food we ate!

Between the two of us, we ordered 5 tapas dishes:
Ginger’s Ahi Tuna*
Firecracker Shrimp*
Spring Rolls
Potstickers
Thai Red Curry Beef on Cripsy Plantains*

Honestly, I loved everything we ordered and would STRONGLY suggest the items I starred above. I am drooling just thinking about it!

For dessert we had the signature dish, Pavlova which I could eat EVERY SINGLE DAY it was so good.

The mojito was a little light on the rum, while the margarita was the best in town! Highly recommended, especially with limited dinner options in Playa Hermosa.

The architecture, ambience and wonderful service played a huge part in our dinner as well. All were wonderful, and I would eat here again and again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaLTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The food is delicious and the atmosphere is so fun! It is on a raised deck outside! Staff is also very friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank etatum65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The food and drinks were meticulously prepared and wonderful. We actually ate there3 times during our stay even though we were at the very close all inclusive Occidental Grand Papagayo. We did have a rental car which helped.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarilynandWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Panama, Gulf of Papagayo
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing