We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hotel Cantarana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cantarana
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

You know how it is. You want a vacation that is restful and fun. My husband and I usually travel to many places during a vacation and always have a plan. The idea this time was to have NO plan. We've been to Costa Rica before, and saw more areas, but loved the beach. That's why we decided to stay our whole 10 day trip at the Hotel Cantarana in beautiful Playa Grande. We had a large king room with full bath at a great price, plus a fantastic 3 course breakfast was included every day. Our hosts, Sabine and Marko Tull and their staff were very friendly and welcoming. I have special dietary needs (gluten free), and Sabine sourced gluten free bread, and offered alternatives when necessary. The hotel has a fabulous gourmet restaurant with an inventive chef. It is very easy to get around. We took the water taxi into Tamarindo to get to boat tours and other restaurants, but staying near the beach, reading by the pool, or taking a walk to the other local establishments was really all we needed to do on this vacation. We will definitely be back. We miss it already!!

Room Tip: We requested a king room, but they have other configurations that can be made into kings as well. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantarana, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear friends,
we miss you too. The hotel needs to expend, because we would like to have always a room for you, when you come to visit. :) Enjoy each day, even when you are not in our little paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    32
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
178
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The property owners are truly wonderful and will go out of their way to help you feel welcome but there are somethings travelers should be prepared for (I wish someone had posted this for me):
1. Ants in bathroom/shower -- all over (but not in bedroom/bed thank god)
2. No shampoo/conditioner/lotion -- bring your own!
3. Only a single sheet to keep you warm at night. No blankets.
4. Beds are kind of like sleeping on a futon/cot.
5. The pool is completely shaded -- never sees sun nor do the chairs around it. Which could be good for some people.
6. Playa Grande is a surfer town -- not touristy -- it is a hike to get to other forms of life.
7. You cannot put toilet paper in the toilet. None. Ever.

If you are looking for a cozy/charming/home-y feel, this is the place to go. I thank the owners, the above are just little changes- things to know.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anonymous P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantarana, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your honest review!
We are truly sorry to hear that you encountered some problems during your stay with us and we are grateful for your constructive feedback.

We are always keeping an eye on the ant situation as this is one of the small prices we pay to live in the tropics. Ants are a constant issue everywhere.

Thank you as well for your comment concerning the bathroom amenities. We do have a soap and shampoo dispenser in the shower and our guests have never experienced the absence of the amenities. Finally, we appreciate that you mention that toilet paper cannot be put in the toilet. You will find this almost everywhere throughout Costa Rica.

As well, we are very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant sleeping experience in our beds. As you mentioned, we do not have blankets in our hotel rooms, since they are not needed here in Costa Rica. For guests that would still like to have a blanket, we are more than willing to provide one for them.

With regard to the pool, we are proud to be able to provide a shaded place, since Playa Grande beach has no trees or shaded areas to protect you from the intense Costa Rican sun. Playa Grande beach and Playa Grande are indeed very quiet. The town of Tamarindo is right next to Playa Grande and only a short walk down the beach and a short boat ride to get there. Tamarindo is a busy, touristy place and known for its parties during the night. Again, we would have been able to assist with this had we known what you were looking for during your vacation.

The whole Cantarana Team was sorry that we did not have the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We felt like we were home. Marco, Sabina, and Jeanette were wonderful. We were pampered and taken care of from the time we arrived until we left. The food was great and everything was very clean and well taken care of. My daughter (fluent in German) and Jeanette had a great time singing in German. When we left (hugs all around) they all followed us to our car and stood in the road to wave good bye. We felt as though we were leaving part of our family behind. Jordans and McElveens (Georgia and South Carolina)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantarana, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Dan,
your family left a big impression on our Cantarana Team.
It was so much fun spending some time with all of you.
Even after you had to leave us, we are still singing "Kuessen verboten" :)
Safe travels wherever life is taking you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband, parents and I stayed here in November and had an amazing experience. It was cozy, but private. The people who work there made the experience so special for us. Marko, Sabine, Jeannette, Leo, Florian and Russ were all amazing hosts/hostesses as well as charming people to be around. The breakfast served tasted great and was also a relaxing experience and a great way to start the day. Dinner there was also amazing. The beach was closeby, the pool was refreshing and the hammock and chairs around the pool were relaxing. We all had a great time and were sad to leave the hotel and the owners/staff. Playa Grande is an amazing part of Costa Rica!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler617514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantarana, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review.
It's very important for us to know, that our wonderful staff makes our guests feel like home.
The whole Cantarana Team enjoyed your company very much as well.
Hope you will be back in the near future, to join us for some fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our first visit to Costa Rica. We were met at the gate in front of Hotel Cantarana by Sabine and Marko and their daughter. Each took a suitcase as we walked toward our room. Throughout our visit, this was the level of service – always anticipating our next need. We arrived just at the end of the two month rainy summer season and we were the only guests. Each evening we dined on the deck family style with the owners. Next week the chef that guests were raving about in earlier posts returns - just as Hotel Cantarana’s restaurant opens for the 10 month dry winter season. Marko is the handyman every woman wishes she had married, the grounds and rooms are spotless and in excellent repair. (Something we have not always found in tropical destinations.) Sabine is the chef every guy wishes he had married. She puts together meals and menus based upon what local farmers and ranchers have fresh plus what was recently collected by local fishing boats. Marko and Sabine are fluent in German and English. Their daughter also speaks French and Spanish. These new owners of Hotel Cantarana are more than successfully carrying on the reputation earned over the years by the previous longtime owners.

Room Tip: The choice of upper and lower rooms is merely a personal choice. Upstairs the deck has a commanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantarana, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice words. You mad my wife Sabine cry, you touched her heart. What a delight to see you two together. You are such a lovely couple. We enjoyed seeing you those couple of days at breakfast time, caring with so much love for each other. Thank you for being such a great example for all of us. Hope your ways lead you to our tropical paradise in the future. We would be happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Cantarana for 4 nights in September. We are no strangers to Costa Rica, but it was our first time staying in Playa Grande. It was the last few days of our trip and an absolutely enjoyable experience made so by the lovely new owners, Sabine and Marko. Playa Grande is a small town just 20 minutes by car from Tamarindo. Here you can escape the busyness of Tamarindo, yet be close enough to venture into town for dinner or shopping. The Hotel Cantarana is situated at the southern end of Playa Grande in a gated community where the beaches are uncrowded and the beauty of nature is everywhere. The beach is just a short walk from this beautiful little gem of a hotel. September is low season and we were the only guests during those 4 days. Sabine and Marko were so warm and welcoming. They really feel like old friends and wanted to do anything they could to make our stay relaxing and wonderful. Each morning we were greeted with coffee, juice, fresh fruits, yogurt and granola, toast and jam, meats and cheeses, and eggs. We love to eat, but thank goodness they understood we could do with less food and were not offended. : ) They are just so happy to be in Costa Rica and want to share their love of being proprietors! They even cooked dinner for us a couple of evenings since the restaurant at the hotel is closed until November. Our room was spacious, well kept with a lovely little pool outside. We can't say enough wonderful about Sabine and Marko or their little gem of a hotel. If you want a beautiful, relaxing experience in Costa Rica stay at Hotel Cantarana. I'm sure we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantarana, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and for the great review you have written. Because this was your first review, we really appreciate all the work you put in, to sign up with Tripadvisor, in order to be able to write a review for us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed not only our hotel, but also the beautiful quiet beach of Playa Grande. It's a delight to meet wonderful people like you.
We would love to welcome you as friends, next time you stop by, in our little paradise.
Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We can not say enough good things about our stay with Sabine & Marko! We arrived on the day of our 10 yr anniversary and were greeted as we pulled up by Sabine & Marko. It was their off season and the restaurant was closed as well as most places in Playa Grande. Knowing it was our anniversary they went to great lengths to make sure we had a wonderful evening by arranging a candlelit dinner on the beach in Tamarindo. Breakfast every morning was fresh fruits, breads, jams, meats, cheeses and eggs if we wanted. The property was beautiful and well maintained.
Marko & Sabine are the new proprietors of Hotel Cantarana. They made us feel as if we were staying with dear friends. They are extremely hospitable and helpful. Staying here was a little slice of paradise and the highlight of our trip. We would recommend staying here to anyone and hope to return ourselves!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krewsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantarana, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are so happy to see, that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and show us how much you enjoyed staying with us.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
1.2 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#3 of 6 in Playa Grande
367 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 6 in Playa Grande
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,437 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cantarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cantarana

Property: Hotel Cantarana
Address: Palm Beach Estates | 50308 Cabo Velas, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cantarana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small Boutique Hotel is situated in the Northwest of Guanacaste on a peninsula bordering directly on Marino Las Baulas National Park. We are 100m from the almost deserted endless beach of Playa Grande. In our beautiful double rooms & tropical garden you will find tranquility & relaxation in soothing seclusion. Our atmospheric restaurant invites you to tasty culinary excursions for your eyes and taste. Our experienced team looks after you with great care, doing their very best to make your holiday a pleasantly unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cantarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantarana Hotel Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing