We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular”
Review of Hotel Cantarana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cantarana
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently, and can't say enough good things about this hotel. Others have mentioned the specific perks of staying here: the warm hospitality of the staff, the incredible food and drinks from the restaurant, the ideal location on a near-deserted beach, etc. I agree wholeheartedly with those compliments, and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KantSpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    33
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
179
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My friend and I just got back from a 4 night stay at Hotel Cantarana. We picked the hotel based purely off of reviews on tripadvisor and we were definitely not disappointed. First of all, Playa Grande is absolutely incredible and if you are thinking about a trip to Tamarindo come to Playa Grande instead. It is the most beautiful, peaceful, deserted beach with excellent waves. Low tide is especially fun because there are great tide pools and so many wonderful shells to collect. The beach is a short walk from the hotel and it's fun to see the expat vacation houses on the way (I was definitely fantasizing about living there!). It was perfect to go to the beach in the morning and then come back in the late afternoon to chill by the pool and read. I cannot rave enough about how friendly and accommodating the entire staff was. Marion and Reinhardt make you feel so very at home and are always willing to answer a question or go out of their way to help. Marion spent a lot of time organizing a special tour for us to do the activities we were interested in like hiking and horseback riding rather than just getting stuck doing a packaged tour. We ended up on a private tour of rincon de la vieja with our own nature guide. It was incredible that we were able to pack so much in in such a short time without renting a car. Marion really made it possible. Also, breakfast is delicious and totally filling so that you can get away with skipping lunch and having a snack in the late afternoon. The service and hospitality of this hotel is unparalleled given the cost. I cannot rave enough about this place, and I only wish that it could be duplicated in every destination I would like to travel. Go to Playa Grande and stay at Hotel Cantarana!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Stayed there in Dec 2011. Great value, location and service. We would come back. 

Pros:
2mn walk to a beautiful beach (surfing can be good - beach break)

Wi-fi but have to go closer to restaurant to pick-up signal using iPhone/iPad.

A tasty breakfast is included - OJ/coffee, eggs, toast, fresh fruit, and cold cut sandwiches to make.

Dinner was good too but some dishes were too salty (ahi tuna).

Cons:
Very basic yet clean rooms. A "double" is 2 twin beds side by side. 

Old locks to rooms - we found that at least 2 of our room keys to different rooms could be used to open another room's door.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank powder1538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cantarana, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay in December! We appreciate your evaluation and would like to comment on two of the points mentioned above.

With consternation we noticed the multiple usability of our room keys – we did not know. Also, we apologize that we did not be aware of this review earlier to be able to solve this problem yet. As a matter of course, we immediately initiated the replacement of the locks.
We always focus on the best for our guests and naturally take safety for granted. However, we also depend on the help of our guests. We would be more than glad they would inform us personally of an important issue like this, so we would be able to react promptly.

Regarding to the room categories, we would like to clarify that our rooms are equipped with different bed types. Only one of the double rooms has twin beds. Offering this room we always point out that it is a twin bed room.

With warm regards,
Marion & Reinhard Unglaube
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We recently stayed at Playa Grande and really enjoyed our time there. The staff is very accommodating and the meals were some of the best we had on our trip. I wish we had been able to stay in the guest houses since they look beautiful and I love that they were a little tucked away. The regular rooms are in one building, 2 on the bottom and 2 on the top and the one negative to that is that the walls are somewhat thin so you will hear your neighbors moving around. The room was very clean and well taken care of. The bed wont be the best you've ever slept on but it gets the job done I suppose. I did find it strange that they did not offer blankets in the room and only sheets. I know we're in a tropical place so a blanket might seem silly to have but when you have a battle of the AC like my husband and I do, someone always ends up colder than the other so extra covers would be nice. Overall, if you're looking for a nice tucked away, quiet, and relaxing places, you cant go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: Guest houses seemed more private and larger than the regular rooms but they are a short walk away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allegmma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Cantarana for 11 days (we arrived home in Toronto just last night!) and loved every moment of it! Marion, Reinhardt, Julia and Chef Rebecca - all made us feel so welcome, so taken care of and greeted us with a big smile each time we saw them! The hotel is located in Playa Grande in a very small and safe community called Palm Beach Estates - it is across the river from busy Tamarindo which is useful for banks and souvenir shopping. Otherwise Playa Grande has it all! It is absolutely peaceful paradise and Marion and Reinhardt go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is relaxing and wonderful from start to finish. By the time we left, we felt as though we were saying goodbye to good friends! The food at the Restaurant Cantarana is incredible - fresh seafood, amazing flavours - a real treat! Also, we went to Playa Grande to surf and there is a surf camp just around the corner with boards, great instructors and great waves only a 3 minute walk away! Really we cannot say enough about our incredible experience, we will definitely return in the future for another stay at the paradise that is Hotel Cantarana!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatrinaAndLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I stayed at the hotel with my partner for three nights over Thanksgiving break. Everything about the hotel was just lovely. The service was very personal, the place was very clean, the food at the restaurant was delicious. Kudos to the owners: Marion and Reinhardt. They are very knowledgeable about any activities you may want to do in Guanacaste. This is definitely the place for travelers who look for an ultimate getaway in an idyllic setting.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooklynite11201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

These guys take care of every detail. The hotel is lovely, the setting perfect and the food is great. If you are looking to get away from it all, you need to stay here. Period.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
1.2 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#3 of 6 in Playa Grande
372 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
138 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,219 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cantarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cantarana

Property: Hotel Cantarana
Address: Palm Beach Estates | 50308 Cabo Velas, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cantarana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small Boutique Hotel is situated in the Northwest of Guanacaste on a peninsula bordering directly on Marino Las Baulas National Park. We are 100m from the almost deserted endless beach of Playa Grande. In our beautiful double rooms & tropical garden you will find tranquility & relaxation in soothing seclusion. Our atmospheric restaurant invites you to tasty culinary excursions for your eyes and taste. Our experienced team looks after you with great care, doing their very best to make your holiday a pleasantly unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cantarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantarana Hotel Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing