We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and great host but mediocre beach”
Review of Sol y Luna Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol y Luna Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Playa Grande B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed at the Sol y Luna for 3 nights this December and Alex, the owner was already very helpful and friendly even when we had not even arrived yet, giving us tipps and reserving our place on the turtle observation tour for us. The lodge is remote and very quite, situated ion a nice garden and surrounded by forest. A really peaceful and quiet place to relax. We did spend most of the time at the very nice pool (with Jacuzzi) or did drive to Playa Conchal as we did not like Playa Grande at all. So if you have a car to drive to other beaches it is OK: Playa Grande is really big and seamingly a good spot for surfers (which we are not) but the beach lacks any kind of charm and has no shade for a real nice day at the Beach. The way to the beach through the forrest was absolutely Ok and would not have been and issue for us had we liked the beach. The cabins are really nice and have cozy hammocks on the terrace. They offer a little kitchen area and are far enough from each other not to disturb anyone. There is a real good place to eat nearby. So overall a real nice place to stay with a very nice and helpful owner, we just did not like the direct beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy_Niko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 72 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2010

The best hotel in Costa Rica. Great food nearby, Great waves a short walk away. We're coming back and this is the only hotel we're going to stay at. Alex the owner is great. Awesome staff, best maid service ever. Immaculate rooms, very romantic. Can't wait to stay again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshSwanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We enjoyed our stay in Sol y Luna Lodge. The bungalows are well designed and include a kitchen, a jacuzzi and a back porch. Having the kitchen was very useful and probably saved us a lot of money since restaurants are expensive for every meal. We also enjoyed being at the pool at the hot times of the day. The Playa Grande beach is only 500 meters away from the hotel and it is a much nicer and less crowded beach than in Tamarindo.
Alex, the Italian owner of the lodge, was a great host and went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable.
We stayed in the non-air conditioned bungalows and while the fans worked well we thought some screens on the windows would have allowed us to take better advantage of the cool nighttime breeze.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRurlaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

This place definately has potential that isn't being reached. The pool and jaccuzi are lovely but they were dirty and unkempt. The place is quite a distance from the beach but it is a beautiful walk. Birds singing woke us up every morning and I would highly recommend it to anyone fond of bird watching. The rooms were a bit dirty looking but only if you looked closely. They were however, nice and spacious. I didn't like how the cleaners would always turn our air conditioning off as soon as we left and we would come back to a boiling hot room. The owner was nice enough to give us a lift to the supermarket once we realized we were in the middle of nowhere without a vehicle. Also they advertise they have a restaurant and bar but they don't. That really sucked since there is nothing around!!! Overall it was pretty average but the price was right!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

This is the place we were looking for, the place to give us a sense of living in Costa Rica, surrounded by splendid nature and relaxing moments. Garden is filled with beautiful flowers and trees. This property made us feel home away from home. The hosts, Alex and Carmen, were there to provide us with anything we needed so we can enjoy those moments even more. We came in off season and there were not many guests. Bungalows are well designed and they are rustically beautiful. For the great price we did not expect our room to be cleaned every day, but Carmen insisted to make sure that important things get cleaned. Sol y Luna Lodge is not Ritz, and don’t forget that you are in the nature and in the middle of the forest so expect some bugs inside including ants, but there were not many mosquitoes or any dangerous animals. We enjoyed being woken by howling monkeys and exotic birds every morning. Our daughter enjoyed well designed pool and Sol y Luna was a great place to come back to after being on the beach. We recommend having a 4x4 since the road is not pawed and if you really want to enjoy great beaches, you will need to drive. We had a choice to move to Tamarindo area (more developed and lot of tourists) but after seeing how much we enjoyed Sol y Luna bungalows and our peace, we choose to stay with Alex another week. Peace and sounds of the nature are really great for complete relaxation. We did not need AC, the breeze flows trough the bungalows well. Best of all is that our daughter has a new appreciation of living in different place. There is a great local bar Kikes, with friendly staff and good food that we enjoyed visiting each day. The only drawback of Sol y Luna Lodge is access to the Playa Grande, which is though forest and small path (some people might like it). Since we are not surfers and liked other beaches anyway this was not our major concern. It would be nice that in the future, Sol y Luna Lodge offers beach towels. Property is being upgraded and we hope to enjoy dinner on the site. We will definitely come again if we can and will recommend this place to our friends who want to experience beauty of unspoiled Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

We just spent one week at Sol Y Luna lodge. It is a great, restful location, very cute bungalows with hammocks on the porch. Each bungalow is very private, with hibiscus fences between each of them. The landscaping is great, and there is a nice pool and jacuzzi also. If you are looking for a peaceful place, this is it. Alex and Carmen are great hosts, and work very hard to make this a paradise for those who visit.

cat22
discovery bay, ca

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

I really wanted to like Sol Y Luna and was excited to stay here, but can't say it lived up to my expectations. I can see why some people would really enjoy it here though because it is very calm and restful in a beautiful forest location. I can see this hotel really turning into something great, it is just missing a few touches. The price is incredible though, so I suppose you can't be terribly picky.

It just seemed like the hotel wasn't ready to be opened yet, it felt deserted and I was scared to walk around by myself at night. There are no lights around the walkways or pool area. There is a light in the pool but not on the deck so it was dark and a bit scary (I am a bit of a chicken though)...and the road was almost impassable due to a very bad rain. Alex had it fixed immediatley, but since the last rain was October I wondered why he hadn't fixed it before our arrival. The property is beautiful, with howler monkeys on the grounds, and the cabinas are great and private. Ours was not clean though, and the sheets seemed as though they had been washed awhile ago then left on the beds. I found dead bugs and dirt in the beds and in the bathroom.

We went to breakfast in the morning and when we returned the room was being cleaned, so I am thinking it was perhaps a fluke that things weren't up to par...we didn't stick around to find out though.

We were there in the low season so I think that perhaps Alex just hadn't gotten into the swing of things yet. There is a wet bar at the end of the pool (and the pool area and jacuzzi are beautiful by the way) but it is not open (it would not have made sense for it to be open as there were no guests.) One negative is that the path to the beach has been closed. We did not like driving to the beach and did not stay a second night here.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank alocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.6 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 6 in Playa Grande
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 6 in Playa Grande
373 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna Lodge

Address: Calle del Kaiser, Playa Grande 50308, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Grande
Price Range: $81 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Sol y Luna Lodge" is located in a green forest, 5 min walking from the Playa Grande beach. Offers a nice swimming pool with Jacuzzi; all bungalows are provided with a private bathroom with hot water, shower and Jacuzzi; a fully equipped kitchenette, cable TV, fan and terrace with hammocks; most of them have A/C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sol y Luna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing