We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Wedding Experience”
Review of Hotel RipJack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel RipJack Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the RipJack for the first time, Nov 2008. We fell in love. The staff was helpful, curious, friendly and made us feel at home. The atmosphere was super chill, beach paradise. It was so relaxing and enjoyable that we swore we would, one day, return. Shortly after our departure from Costa Rica, we decided to marry. We couldn't think of a better location for a chill, beach wedding than Playa Grande. We contacted the RipJack immediately and began to work with Annie and Dave. They were amazing and they put me in contact with the wedding planner, Gregory. He was able to put exactly what we had envisioned together, without ever having clear idea ourselves. Annie & Dave were always available and answered all of our questions prior to our arrival. They helped us arrange tours and a spa day for our guests, they basically took care of EVERYTHING for us. My idea of a perfect vacation and wedding is one where you can relax and let someone else worry about the details. The RipJack (and Gregory) were able to fulfill that wish. We had a very small wedding, especially since my side of the family didn't make it due to weather. Annie, Dave and Gregory worked really hard to make it that much more special for us. They arranged a private, tikki torch lit dinner by the pool with personalized menus, music and then dropped by with their daughter, to say hello and congrats. We thought that was really a nice touch. The RipJack and surroundings have such and chill, family vibe. I would highly recommend staying there with family or as a romantic getaway. Its BEAUTIFUL. Oh, the outdoor, poolside yoga is totally worth the money. It was a small price to pay for relaxation in paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 379 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2011

This place seemed to be one of Costa Ricas undiscovered secrets. The most amazing beach which was virtually desserted was only a few paces away. Great surfing spot and chance to see the nesting leatherback turtles with a little patience and a willingness to stay up very late. Andy was really friendly and helpful as were all the other staff. Small, but clean, air conditioned room with relaxing hammock area outside. The food in the restaurant was delicious - especially the fish, and good choice of specials on offer. On one hand want everyone to know how great this place is, but on the other don't want to reveal the secret tranquility that is the very thing that makes it so very special.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stumurdoch1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed four nights at the RipJack Inn in Playa Grande and after spending a couple of days at this hotel I wished I had stayed at the other close by Inn's.

RipJack is a little more family oriented which is great with those with kids. The cabinas are not really worth paying the extra money... just stay in a regular room. The cabinas are probably a little bigger but they aren't private at all. Yoga sessions were taking place right outside my room... and we heard all the "cackling" at 8am before they started... not cool!

The restaurant's HAPPY HOUR was great!!! But for lunch and dinner...was another story as I guess we came at a time where they ran out of every food item on the menu + they ran out of stove gas in the middle of our lunch.

Anyways...we were on vacation mode and didn't mind to much but... there is better hotels/inns and restaurants right next to RipJack like Rancho Privado, La Marjela and even Playa Grande Inn. They have a lot more atmosphere and dinner at those restaurants were phenomenal compared to RipJack.

We basically showered and slept at RipJack but hung out at other hotel bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelinaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed here over Christmas for 10 days and had a wonderful time. When we arrived at Liberia our ride was there as arranged by the hotel. The hotel is a wonderful 'boutique' hotel with peaceful gardens between the main hotel and the side building which has two rooms. The main hotel has 6 rooms which are below the restaurant - our girls stayed in one of those rooms. You could hear the restaurant above, but they shut down each night by 10 so a good nights sleep was had by all.

We had breakfast every day in the restaurant - excellent food, large selection, good value - we had 4 suppers there and then thought we should venture away - there are approx 6 or 7 restaurants within walking distance, our favorites were the one at Hotel Las Tortugas, and also the Italian Pizzeria in the little 'town' of Playa Grande...

Yoga 4 mornings per week at the hotel was wonderful....surf lessons easily arranged at surf shop 15 minutes walk away...beach very 'grande' and uncrowded, though between Christmas and New Years there were definitely more people about than just prior to....a 20 or 30 minute walk gets you to Playa Ventanas....amazing and you have it practically all to yourselves.....keep walking another half an hour and get to Playa Carbon around the point where there seems to be drifts of black sand that is probably volcanic origin...be careful to watch the tides as you will get stuck there if the tide comes in!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schweizerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed at the Rip Jack Inn last week and everything was great, the staff is very nice and the rooms very clean and tastefully decorated.
The on site restaurant is excellent!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjosson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Dave, Annie, and the entire staff were so great! Everyone was so helpful and friendly. My fiance and I stayed at the RipJack in for our entire 10 day vacation to Costa Rica and would recommend the hotel to anyone that is planning to travel to Playa Grande!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabbygSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

What can I say about the Rip Jack Inn?
The hotel is exactly like the two incredible owners Annie and Dave. Amazing, laid back, and very very easy to love.

From the moment we arrived and were greeted, I felt at home.
We booked out the whole hotel for our wedding party.

The whole staff from top to bottom is attentive, professional, caring, warm and always do everything they can to please and make sure you're happy. Our wedding went off without a hitch, from the perfect weather, to the amazing food at the up stairs at the restaurant, to the amazing party had during our reception, it was the most memorable 10 days, we honestly feel like family now.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
142 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,502 reviews
5.9 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
536 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RipJack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RipJack Inn

Address: 50m Al Sur de Oficna de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range: $77 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RipJack Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RipJack Inn is a quaint 21 room owner operated hotel located only 75 yards from the ocean. Our rooms are each individually decorated and come equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, coffee makers, in room safes and outdoor patios. With the exception of our standard rooms each room also has cable TV and mini-fridge. Rooms can all accommodate a minimum of three or five guests depend the type of the room. RipJack inn offers a full service restaurant with some of the best food in the country with a heavy emphasis on fresh local seafood. During your stay take advantage of our on-site yoga, massage and surf lessons. RipJack Inn can also help you arrange all of your activiites including sailing, golfing, diving, sport fishin and much more.We are located just one hour from the Liberia International Airport (LIR) or 20 minutes from the Tamarindo Airport (domestic). Playa Grande is a laid back quiet beach town that is also part of the National Park created to protect the endangered Leatherback turtles. Nesting season is between October and February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RipJack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ripjack Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing