We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, not so great food”
Review of Hotel RipJack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RipJack Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

For our last night we eat here. They have a large seleción of American type food. Large portions (and prices!). Service is good BUT two out of four who eat here got sick! One had to go for treatment and the other was out for more then 24 hours, both violently sick. Not sure what happens but we were not to happy about it....

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank 12345678910go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. We feel sorry that you had such a bad experience in our restaurant. Since no one else complained about food poisoning or similar, we can exclude this as a reason. The dish you ordered was very popular that night and you were the only ones having a reaction, maybe an allergy? Our restaurant manager complimented your dinner and tried to help you as best as possible. Obviously this is not a great way to end your vacation and we regret seeing it is associated with the RipJack Inn now. We hope you are all well and you can forget about this experience and keep the positive memories of your vacation more present. Take care and pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Hotel RipJack Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 379 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at RipJacks in Jan 2014. Coming from Tamarindo, which was crowded and super touristy (vendors walking the beaches, looks if knick knack shops), Playa Grande was perfectly removed, without being far away. Tamarindo is a 25 min drive, or you can walk to it along the beach. The staff have been very welcoming, giving us tips for day trips and turtle watching tours. There is a yoga studio on site. The restaurant serves delicious fresh and local food. It's a very popular surf spot - tonight we counted about 100 surfers out at dusk, and it was beautiful watching their silhouettes as the sun went down. Overall this has been a bit of heaven at the end of our trip, and I would highly recommend it. The only downside is that things (rest/bar) close down early, so if you are looking for a party scene, this isn't it.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your review. We are more than happy to hear that you found a piece of heaven here in Playa Grande and that the RipJack Inn with its people and good food was part of it. Also, thank you for pointing out that Playa Grande is a very tranquil little surfer town. If you are looking for night life and night clubs, Tamarindo is the better option.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at the Ripjack Inn for two nights at the end of December 2013. Hotel service was very friendly and relaxed - mostly young staff. The owners had recently taken over the adjacent property and had given the whole place a facelift and a fresh coat of paint. It was very clean. Small fridge in the room which was nice to keep some cold drinks and snacks.

While you can't see the beach from the hotel, it is only a 30 second walk through the woods to get there. Playa Grande is a fantastic beach - great waves for surfing or boogie boarding, very flat and a great walking beach as it goes on for miles. Walking early in the morning you can see the tracks of the leatherback turtles that have come ashore in the night to lay eggs.

Onsite restaurant is fairly good. Nice selection and food is generally pretty good. We were there on New Year's eve and the staff was a little overwhelmed, but did everything they could to make us happy.

We will definitely come back here the next time we are in Costa Rica.

There

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the kitchen to ensure quiet
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highflier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the RipJack Inn. We especially value your positive feedback about the new part of the hotel, as we put a lot of work, effort and passion into it to make it a worthy addition to the RipJack. We are proud to have a dynamic, enthusiastic and cheerful team of people working here and enjoying it. Happy employees lead to better service and therefore content guests. We are aware that there might be moments, when staff is overwhelmed. However, we also know that our employees will do their udmost to put a smile on your face, no matter what ;-) Thank you and pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just spent a wonderfully relaxing week at the RipJack. What s nice, friendly and unassuming place to while away the days. Everyone who works at this place could not be any more friendly or helpful. Located about 100 yards from beautiful Playa Grande beach and away from any large hotels or condo developments affords the RipJack a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere.
A popular surfer destination but also perfect for families and other non surfers.

Room Tip: The deluxe pool rooms are away form the main part f the inn and very quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magic165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hi Magic165, thank you for this magical review. Nothing makes us happier than happy guests. We hope to see you again! Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is as close as you can "be" to the beach as legally permitted these days, i.e. in second row, a mere 100m away, which is fantastic! We stayed for 7 nights together with our gron-up twnis sharing Suite No. 2 and were more than pleasantly surprised of: the cleanliness of the place, the very good quality of meals all times, the frinedliness and dedication of all staff in whatever functions, the nice pool in front of our room (there are two pools on the compound).
You shouldn't miss the watch-turtle-lay-eggs tour if it's the season for it (front desk will arrange that for you), enjoying a massage at the Frijoles Locos place, book surf lessons with Frijoles Locos.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms "under the restaurant/bar"-complex
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HajoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you, gracias & vielen Dank for this amazing review. It is great to hear that we exceeded your expecations and contributed in making your vacation a wonderful experience. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again! PURA VIDA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights and it was awesome. The service and employees were great. I guess they had recently bought the hotel next to the RipJack Inn, which was the part we stayed in. Everything was clean, nice, safe, with a fridge, TV, etc. The walk to the beach was short (a few minutes) and close, but the walk to the surf shop (Frijoles Lococs) is about a 10-15 minute walk. Playa Grande doesn't have much around it; it's a great getaway for beach bums. We really enjoyed it, and Tamarindo is not too far for a day trip. :)

Don't forget to check out the leatherback turtles at night! It was fully booked, so we missed out on seeing the leatherback. We ended up going to other beaches with a local and seeing many other turtles (about 14) laying eggs. Great experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for this – let’s use your expression - awesome review! We are glad you liked staying with us and we thank you for your feedback about the new part of the RipJack Inn. Since it is still very new to us, we rely on our guests to share their experiences and opinions. This way we can improve and become even better ;-) It is unfortunate that the tours for the leatherback turtles had been fully booked, but we are happy that you got to see turtles after all. Thanks again for choosing the RipJack Inn and we hope to see you again! Pura vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We ate here 2x during our 4 night stay in Grande. We loved the food - all of it - and the service was awesome. Great veggie and fish dishes and cocktails are great. It is not cheap but is definitely cheaper than Waltinis.

Can also attest to great yoga with Patti on Monday evening.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank atb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you so much for this great feedback. Our kitchen and restaurant crew will be very happy to hear your compliments that I surely will pass on. Same goes for our fantastic yoga teacher Patti. It is always great to see your name mentioned in a review and I am sure Patti will be excited as well. Thanks again and pura vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
142 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,498 reviews
5.9 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
534 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RipJack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RipJack Inn

Address: 50m Al Sur de Oficna de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range: $46 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RipJack Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RipJack Inn is a quaint 21 room owner operated hotel located only 75 yards from the ocean. Our rooms are each individually decorated and come equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, coffee makers, in room safes and outdoor patios. With the exception of our standard rooms each room also has cable TV and mini-fridge. Rooms can all accommodate a minimum of three or five guests depend the type of the room. RipJack inn offers a full service restaurant with some of the best food in the country with a heavy emphasis on fresh local seafood. During your stay take advantage of our on-site yoga, massage and surf lessons. RipJack Inn can also help you arrange all of your activiites including sailing, golfing, diving, sport fishin and much more.We are located just one hour from the Liberia International Airport (LIR) or 20 minutes from the Tamarindo Airport (domestic). Playa Grande is a laid back quiet beach town that is also part of the National Park created to protect the endangered Leatherback turtles. Nesting season is between October and February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RipJack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ripjack Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing