We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel RipJack Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cantarana(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Grande Park Hotel and Villas(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bula Bula(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flor y Bambu Hotel Glamping(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indra Inn(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$47
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol y Luna Lodge(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar's Monkey(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Marejada Hotel(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Grande Surf Camp(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Manglar(Playa Grande)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
273
86
25
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
86
25
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrip jackyoga studiocosta ricalaid backyoga teacher traininghot garlicgreat foodevery mealsurf lessonswonderful vacationfantastic beachsurf shopshrimptraveling aloneupstairs restauranthappy hourfell in love
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 402 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

As a yoga teacher myself, I'm always grateful for a good class and Annie's yoga is absolutely incredible. She's a wonderful teacher and generous loving person to be around. Class with her in the beautiful studio they've built at Rip Jack Inn is always one of the highlights of our trips to Playa Grande and something I look forward to all year. I highly recommend her class, not just as the best in the area, but as one of the most gifted teachers I've had the pleasure of practicing with.

While we usually rent homes nearby, we've also stayed at Rip Jack Inn and loved it. The treehouse style restaurant is perfect for good food, wine, and a great vibe.

Room Tip: Just ask -- they're all pretty great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlustcoasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for this fantastic review. Annie puts all her heart and soul in the RipJack and its services and facilities. We are so happy to hear that you had such a good and inspiring time at the RipJack. Hearing compliments like this is worth all the work. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rooms were very good and one of the best in lae reasonable but the bar and restaurants are one of the best in Playa Grande. The location is suoerior and good parking facilities. Easy to find and the character of the building blends into the National Park

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you were satisfied with what the RipJack Inn has to offer. We are constantly changing and improving our business. We would be excited to have you staying with us again and provide us with your feedback. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Although my boyfriend and I did not stay at this hotel, we did visit a couple of times during our stay in Playa Grande.

The hotel does look very relaxing and clean. It is steps away from the beautiful Playa Grande.

We went there a couple of nights and the service was amazing here. All staff were super friendly, accommodating, and professional.

The food was amazing. It is clear the chef has a talent in cooking. I had the Lomo Saltado and my boyfriend had a steak and shrimp special. Both dishes were delicious and fresh!! The Lomo Saltado was the best I ever had. Gracias por todo, amigo - su hospitalidad y amistad!!

When we do come back to Playa Grande, we will definitely come to Rip Jack again. The menu may be a bit pricer than surrounding restaurants, but it is worth it 100%.

PS- don't forget to try the chocolate cake!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

How wonderful to receive yet another review from guests that did not actually stay at the hotel, but were frequent visitors. We are always so excited to see people returning almost every day during their vacation and leaving with a hand shake and bright-eyed saying they will be back soon. This is the best compliment you can give us. Quality of food and service are essential to us. We are constantly improving, changing and experimenting, which makes your feedback even more valuable. Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to see you again! Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were in Playa Grande in late July-early August 2013. We did not stay at the Hotel RipJack, but we were frequent visitors. We found the hotel one afternoon during happy hour. The margaritas perfect. We also had dinner there one evening and they accommodated our group of 23 (11 kids and 12 adults). The food was also very, very good and fresh. Another visit to the hotel was for a yoga class, instructed by Annie. I was experiencing vertigo/motion sickness during the class and Annie was kind enough to call the local physician an arrange a visit with her. This was very helpful given my limited fluency in Spanish and limited knowledge of the local area. Our final meal in Playa Grande was at the RipJack for breakfast. It was delicious! I highly recommend the banana pancakes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHISSYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your great review and ranking! It is nice to see visitors returning because they enjoy the atmosphere at the RipJack. We are happy to hear that we fulfilled or even exceeded your expectations at our restaurant when it comes to food, drinks and service. Every hotel and restaurant strives for excellence and it looks like we are on the right track ;-) Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and the tripadvisor community. PURA VIDA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived at the RipJack Inn in the late afternoon -- hot and tired from the drive from Monteverde. It was a pleasure to enter the cool, clean and nicely decorated room at RipJack. A little oasis. The location is excellent - short walk to the beach. The staff is friendly and well trained. Our only disappointment is that breakfast was not included. All of the other hotels/inns that we stayed at in Costa Rica provided breakfast. We like to get up, get a bite to eat and go explore. Meals at RipJack were more then what we wanted to pay. All in all, a clean and charming hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mari v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Mari, thank you for your time to write us a review. It is great to hear that you felt well taken care of when you arrived. This is one of our main goals and our staff naturally creates a welcoming atmosphere that makes you feel at home right away. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed that breakfast was not included. We try to make sure it is clearly communicated on all booking sites that breakfast is not included in the room rate. However, we are always more than willing to create a package deal for our guests that can include meals as well. Just let us know what you would like to have during your stay with us and we can tailor a special package for you. Again, we appreciate your kind words and send you muchos saludos de Playa Grande.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews