We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
271
77
15
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
271
77
15
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi great waltini mexican buffet costa rica estuary tour rocking chairs minute walk rooms are small pura vida mango off the beaten path restaurant staff boutique hotel breakfast was included can't wait to go back surf lessons ernesto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 394 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2019 via mobile

This was our favourite watering hole in Playa Grande. While we drank our lovely smoothies, the kids played in the pool. The pool was a good send in this heat. Beautiful birds all around. The staff were very relaxed and helpful.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank NZJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019

For a few years I have vacationed in Tamarindo. The best part of my trip is to take a boat tour with Edgar located at the Estuary to explore the monkeys, crocs and birds. Edgar will stop at BULA BULA for lunch and cocktails if you ask him. The staff, food and drinks is wonderful. :)

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2018 via mobile

Bula Bula... Blew Our Thanksgiving for 8. The Ponga for Esturary to Restaurant..45 minutes late!!! They were under staffed. 4 folks at our table got their Dinners... the other . Nothing until I went to the kitchen and asked what the hell they were doing. This place has done well for Mexican Monday night buffet, but not a chance in hell I go back for Holiday

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

The Hotel Bula Bula is a serene oasis in an untamed jungle. Its off-the beaten-path location provides a quiet environment to relax and enjoy the beauty of Costa Rica. The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and seems sincerely interested in ensuring your stay is flawless. The food is wonderful! A convenient boat nearby will take you to and from the nearby town of Tamarindo.

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

Small, charming and isolated motel. Lots of birds and flowers, it's Costa Rica! The dirth road to get there is bad. The staff is very nice and the breakfast included in our package was ok but with a lot of restrictions. The room and bathroom are very small and dark, and there is no water pressure in the shower.

We arrived at night and met a snake (boa) while walking the path with our suitcases. The staff told us to be very careful at nignt and walk with a light because there are a lot of snakes and it is really dark (almost no lights on the site).

I would recommand to reserve only the first night to make sure it is your type of place to make up your own mind (we were almost the only customer). We reserved five nights with Expedia and left after the first one. The owner is rude, be aware of the NO CANCELLATION policy, unfortunatly we paid to learn!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ndimenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews