We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great people + Great food = Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bula Bula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bula Bula
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Great people + Great food = Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Wonderful experience at Bula Bula! Bula was recommended by a friend and it did not disappoint. I started my stay with a warm welcome from the staff as though we were old friends. This was followed by many great meals...we highly recommend the tuna and eggs Benedict! Bula's open bar and dining area make for a great place to gather and meet new friends. The owner, Todd, and his staff (particularly Jessy and Ernesto!) add to the warm atmosphere and entertainment. As for the property itself, the rooms have a colorful, Costa Rican charm and the beds are super comfortable. They were also very well air-conditioned, which was great since we had unseasonably warm weather. Lastly, the property is only a 10-minute walk to Playa Grande...a wide, uncrowded surfer's beach. Be sure to catch the gorgeous sunsets each evening. All in a great experience! Thanks to all and I hope to see you again soon!
- Hao

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hao P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    72
    14
    14
    11
See reviews for
82
155
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

My fiancé Kyle and I heard about Bula Bula through TripAdvisors and through a friend who lives and works in Playa Grande, so we decided to give it a try.

If staying in Tamarindo (which we were), Bula Bula offers a free boat ride across the estuary with dinner reservations. We did not have reservations so we decided to take the 20 minute drive and we're so glad that we did!

We ordered the buffet which included beans, rice, chicken, steak, guacamole, various salsas, and more food which I cannot honestly remember because there was a lot of food... it was all very delicious! For dessert, we ordered their chocolate brownie with ice cream.... WOW.


The atmosphere is very pretty and welcoming, and the staff is great. Jesse and Ernesto are a friendly and hilarious duo. Todd (the owner) came over and talked to us for a while, sharing his story and experiences with us. He is an excellent host and treats his guests like family.

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Bula Bula and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Without a doubt, the best place to stay in Playa Grande. I have travelled up and down the entire Pacific coast of CR from Liberia right into Panama and this is one of my top two places to stay in the country. The owners, Todd & Walter, are great down to earth people who have always made me feel more than welcome. Excellant Restaurant with with Grande portions ( the Blackened Tuna is a must try ! ) and an awesome horseshoe bar your bound to make new friends at. Been there numerous times over the last six years and always come away with great memories. Looking forward to dropping in on the boys again real soon !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis, California, United States
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We went for TxGiving dinner wit 5 friends and spent the night. Loved it, great food and an excellent time all around, we will do it again. We are now friends with the owners and several of the folks there as they have become regulars in our trips to CR.

Room Tip: Pick an end room they are a little more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Bula Bula no less than 10x, and will continue to come back whenever in the area. Great, friendly staff, who are Costa Rican locals, and treat you like friends. Wally & Todd know how to take care of their guests, and can line up anything you desire to do.

Beware of the Siberians (cocktail, not people) from the bar, an after swim delight can turn quickly into an early night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Originally booked in for just 2 nights, extended to 3 but couldn't do longer as had to come home. This place should be in Places to Visit Before You Die. 10 bungalow style rooms small but stylish and incredibly clean. Staff become mates after a few hours and Todd and Walley are perfect hosts. Now for the bar, well you turn up, sit and drink and get introduced to each other by the perfect hosts so that everyone knows each other. The food is fabulous, the parrots hilarious and all the staff, just wonderful. A few minutes walk from the wonderful beach if you can tear yourself away to surf, walk or sit and then back to the bar for the Mango Marguerita ! I want to go back, immediately.

Room Tip: All rooms have a piece of porch with rockers on, in the shade and just great for hanging out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Facilities come and go but personality and service are forever and Bula-Bula prides itself on both and they deliver. For two years I have taken every guest to Todd and Walley's place (bula bula), and everyone of my guests, friends, family,everyone , has raved about the friendliness of the great team at Bulas Bula. The excellent food and abundant happy hour are icing on the cake. Everyone is welcomed and everyone is pampered with friendship and service. The ambiance is total Costa Rica from the gardens,to the decor to the goofy parrots. A 10+ on my charts!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reswisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
1.3 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#4 of 7 in Playa Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#10 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bula Bula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bula Bula

Property: Hotel Bula Bula
Address: Playa Grande Road, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bula Bula 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set outside Tamarindo in the beach village and national park of Playa Grande. We offer the romantic, the surfer, and the active traveler a tropical oasis amid the tourist stops. Superior rooms with modern amenities compliment the elegant restaurant where exceptional seafood, steaks and local specialties are served. Friendly and attentive staff ensure your stay is a satisfying one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bula Bula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bula Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing