We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You cannot beat Hotel Bula Bula”
Review of Hotel Bula Bula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bula Bula
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I went to Hotel Bula Bula for Spring break and had the greatest time ever. The staff was amazing and the hotel was literally seconds away from the beach. This hotel has everything that one could ask for, and then more. The restaurant was among the best that Costa Rica has to offer. If you are debating whether or not to stay at Hotel Bula Bula, debate no more - you will not regret it for one second. Enjoy

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 374 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

The room was quite nice and a ten-minute walk to Playa Grande which is a very beautiful beach. I think one of the best in Costa Rica.

But the food is expensive and the hotel staff neither attentive nor polite. It seems like the employees are not happy to work there. After a misunderstanding, one waiter ignored us for the rest of our stay even though we were polite and lenient towards the waiter at all times.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at Bula Bula for a few nights last month and enjoyed it all. Small, Colorful rooms, all the good things have been included. We arrived on a Monday, which turned out to be their Buffet Night at the Restaurant. Crowded, Festive and Fun. All the food and Drinks at the Great Waltinies was fabulous - they served the best Breakfasts we had in all of CR. The hotel sits about a 10 min. walk from the beach. Great surfing Beach which was always uncrowded. The owners were friendly and their staff was fabulous. We liked the location of Bula Bula, because it was beyond the shadow of Tamagingo.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lshoebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I heard that in Costa Rica monkeys came down to the beach from the forest. My wife wanted to have some nightlife. She performed some research and came out with Bula Bula, which claimed to have easy access to the near townTamarindo. The true experience was that on dry season, vegetation is truly dry. There are no monkeys around coming down the beach, and you can have easy access to Tamarindo only until 4pm. If you want to have some nightlife in Tamarindo, then you need to pay USD25 in taxi.
The hotel is in quite isolation, and you probably will feel complete dependence on the food that the hotel can provide. The service was ok, though the waitresses kept forgetting what we order, and we needed to insist several times.
I'm not coming back to Costa Rica, as I think is over rated. I found out there the very unpleasant sensation that everybody are trying to rip you off (we needed to pay USD110 from the Liberia Airport)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horacio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

What a great boutique hotel. The owners Todd and Wally and their 10 star staff, made our stay, home away from home. The food was excellent and this hotel seems to hold travelers from around the world who have the same attitudes. Which are fun and friendly. We were there when the Grammy Awards were on TV, so Todd set up a big screen TV and the whole hotel watched and enjoyed. Like I said, home away from home. It may be small, but it sure is BIG on hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The hotel is not that bad, the rooms, although small and noise, are well decorated. However, the hotel is located far away from the beach, compared to other hotels in Tamarindo. The access was a nightmare, a dusty dirt road with crossroads everywhere. The food is expensive and mediocre, but the only place to eat around the hotel. The hotel staff is not very friendly, from housekeeping to manager to owner, it just seems like everyone is bitter and angry to work there. We would not stay there again. The worst… you have to hire a boat each time you want to go to Tamarindo, because guess what, even though they present themselves as Tamarindo, they are not located on the main Tamarindo Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelorLeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PG-FT-Resident, Owner at Hotel Bula Bula, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Our goal is to provide every guest the most wonderful and enjoyable stay possible. But inadequate research on your part is the direct contributing factor for your less than optimal experience. We are not in Tamarindo and every page on our website clearly states we are in "Playa Grande". We have an interactive map on our website too. Even our logo and every email we send says "Playa Grande".

The majority of the things you didn't like are features of our little town that bring many repeat guests to Playa Grande and our hotel for over 9 years. If you were expecting Tamarindo, you should have located a hotel located in Tamarindo. If you booked through the large travel websites, every listing has a google map with our exact location. Therefore, it seems most probable that you did no research about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We spent three nights here, 2 adults and one child. It is a classic small Costa Rican boutique lodge in a great location. Very clean rooms, 5 minute walk to the beautiful, quiet beaches of Playa Grande, and a great restaurant as well! The breakfasts are fantastic, just order off the menu! The pool and grounds are lush tropical and a great spot to relax. The owners are on location running the place, so everthing is as it should be! We hope to return, and you can book here knowing you'll not regret it! As an aside, if you want to be in the Tamarindo area, this is where you want to be and not in Tamarindo itself (unless you're into noise and t-shirt shops).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetlag767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
1.3 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 6 in Playa Grande
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
294 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,618 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Esplendor Tamarindo
3.9 mi away
Seis Playas Hotel
Seis Playas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huacas
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bula Bula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bula Bula

Address: Playa Grande Road, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range: $94 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bula Bula 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set outside Tamarindo in the beach village and national park of Playa Grande. We offer the romantic, the surfer, and the active traveler a tropical oasis amid the tourist stops. Superior rooms with modern amenities compliment the elegant restaurant where exceptional seafood, steaks and local specialties are served. Friendly and attentive staff ensure your stay is a satisfying one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bula Bula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bula Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing