We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We travel 2000 miles every year to eat and drink here. Enough said!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taco Star

Taco Star
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Central American, Costa Rican, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Florida
Level Contributor
360 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“We travel 2000 miles every year to eat and drink here. Enough said!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

This has become our favorite restaurant on our yearly visits to Tamarindo. If you are in Tamarindo and miss this place then you are missing the real Costa Rican experience. The restaurant is owned and operated by Brittany and her husband Yie (Jay). It is located right off a great surfing beach. Just a small bar with only a few seats but some of the best tacos at the best price in the area. The same taco is twice the price in Tamarindo and not as tasty as these. The drinks are cold and the service and "conversation" can't be beat. We cannot say enough great things about this place. All the local surfers eat and hang out here (that should tell you something).
Hint:
The easiest way to get there from Tamarindo is by walking North along the beach and crossing the small river by water taxi for $1.00. Continue another mile or so on the beach and you will see the restaurant on the right side. There is a tall surf lookout right in front of the place. By car, follow the signs for Playa Grande ( about a 20 minute ride from Tamarindo). The restaurant is at the end of the road. PS: the boat rides across the river stop around 4PM.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainBill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    40
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super fun little taco stand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I first became acquainted with Taco Star on my first trip to Playa Grande a few years ago. I had just broken my board on a heavier wave, and staggered up the beach to eat away my sadness. Their simple and tasty beef and veggie tacos, while nothing special by outward appearance, are truly great when the ambience and vibe of the location are taken into account.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crnickazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum! And on the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place was really great. You can get a tasty beef or veggie taco and both are delicious. The banana bread is really yummy, too. While on the beach of Playa Grande you definitely grab a taco at TacoStar. Although the place is right there on the beach, we actually had trouble finding it... it is basically attached to the Hotel Tortugas on the beach side.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Taco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a couple of lunches at Taco Star, and it is a unique take on the taco. Very tasty, and well worth checking out!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Was told by my seat mate on the plane down that the Taco Star was not to be missed. I tried it for lunch midway through the week, and except for the ambiance, a taco shack on the beach, I was disappointed. I had the veggie taco, only two choices - veggie or beef, no fish (and its (on the beach) - and I found it average at best.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Magic165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Star also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Taco Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing