We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Las Tortugas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Tortugas
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This was our second stay at Las Tortugas. You can't get a better location - on the beach. The other options in the area are mostly further from the beach, and I cannot understand why anyone would choose them.
We travelled with four other families and had excellent fun. The staff were like part of the family by the time we left.
Highlights:
- location on the beach
- restaurant staff are really friendly, and service is great
- sundowners on the beach, close walk for a refill
- restaurant food is great, compared to other options in the area
We debated whether we'd change the hotel or give it an update, but decided it would really detract from the relaxed and easy going nature of the place.
We did fishing, surfing, zip line, snorkling, and spent rest of the time on the beach.
Take your own beach towels, and bring your own shampoo. You might also want to pack boogie boards for the kids - we did.

This place definitely gets our vote. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 315 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2010

Freindly staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds/pillows, nice pool and hotel is on the beach. Food at the restaraunt is so-so, but they make killer margaritas and have good beans and rice. Prices are fair and they have very good service. A very peaceful environment and relaxing hammock area by the pool where you can hear the ocean.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connienonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

The hotel itself was excellent with a great location right next to the beach, a good bar, nice swimming pool/ jacuzzi and brilliant staff. We stayed at one of the better rooms which was reasonable, with effective air conditioning but good do with a little modernisation. However the overall experience was positive despite the room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed here briefly on my way up the coast, and used the wireless to find my way to my next location. For the brief time I was connected, someone hacked my email accounts. I found out two days later that another guest also had his email hacked. Take care in the future!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
2  Thank Doc_ECS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Good value, the food is good and the hotel is by the beach and easy to find. However it is at the end where the waves are bigger.
The staff were not as helpful as in some places we stayed but gave info if you asked questionsn

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank Carolinewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed in Playa Grande to view a leatherback turtle, enjoy the beaches and relaxing atmosphere. We had heard great things about Hotel Las Tortugas, the compassion of the owner and the proximity to see the turtles, but were really disappointed by our stay. Our room was not clean, the bed lumpy, the hammock outside our room had a huge hole in it, and our reservations to view the turtles got mixed up due to an error at the front desk. We try and give folks the benefit of the doubt, but this time around we just experienced too many negatives.

While we were glad to experience seeing a leatherback turtle come up on the beach to lay eggs, we almost lost our reservation due to errors at the Hotel's front desk. They told us the wrong date, and had to go the following night to get on the wait list. We barely got into the last group. They weren't very apologetic about the mistake, and I was amazed. Seeing the leatherback was the #1 reason we visited. I would have liked to see a bit better service since they must know the draw of that experience.

Our room definitely had scene better days. It looked beaten down and needed a new mattress and a good scrub.

The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful as is Playa Conchal - a short drive up the coast. I definitely recommend exploring the different beaches in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atwoodexplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

my wife and i went surfing in Costa Rica for five weeks our first stay was at the hotel las tortugas, we had a fantastic time there they made us feel welcome and at home, the food was good, the pool area was always clean and never crowded, the accomadation was cleaned every day. we stayed at four other locations, this was the best by by far..
this Hotel is in a quiet location, chris & emma from cornwall.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racerboy199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.1 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 6 in Playa Grande
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
143 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 6 in Playa Grande
373 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
2.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Tortugas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Tortugas

Address: Frente al mar, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range: $25 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, ecotouristic hotel located directly on the beach in Playa Grande with our rooms, pool, jacuzzi, open-air restaurant/bar, and hammock area just steps from the sand and the main surf peak in Playa Grande. We offer every kind of accommodation and price range with small economy rooms on the beachfront property with AC and private hotwater bathrooms starting at $25/night and our honeymoon suite with oceanview between $70 and $130/night depending on the season. We also offer economical apartments with kitchenette facilities up the road from the hotel, just a five minute walk to the beach. All of our apartment guests enjoy full access to the beachfront hotel amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Tortugas Hotel
Las Tortugas Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing