We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only place i wanted to be in the whole area”
Review of Hotel Las Tortugas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Tortugas
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2010

let me start by saying we came down without our children to check out the best places to go with our kids on the next trip.
we booked at the apartments at las tortugas for 3 days to begin our vacation. we had a rental car and we able to explore whenever we wanted. the rest of our trip was booked in neighboring beaches, once seeing those aras all we wanted too do was go back to the peace and quiet of las tortugas. the main hotel is great, amazingly helpful staff, excellent food, only hotel on the beach, never saw a vendor on the entire beach...if fact the beach is peaceful.
well, we canceled and lost deposits at the other locals as we did not want to go to those locals/hotels and we just wanted to stay in our amazing apartment. i have rental property and i live on the beach, so i am pretty picky about tidiness and staff reception...it was all amazing! we plan on coming back for a month in august.
also, friends of ours stayed in another spot in playe grande at $115+ a night and when they saw our peaceful apartment about a block away they were not real happy with what they were paying...just an awesome place,.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3surfergirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 317 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2010

We came from Tamarindo and were so relieved to have a nice quiet beach place to stay. Room was pretty clean and I liked the way the hotel was built to reduce ambient light at night to help with sea turtle conservation. The coffee maker in the room had ants in it the first morning - the staff were good about it and let me have a coffee from the restaurant at no charge and then had housekeeping give the coffee maker a thorough cleaning - it was fine to use the next morning. Restaurant looked a bit suspect, so we only had one lunch at the hotel - had to order at the bar and they just yelled down to the pool area when the order came up, I had to go up and get it - but still charged an automatic 'service fee'/tip - not sure what I was paying that for! Would have been nice if they could just run it down to us.
This is a good place to stay if you're planning on staying up late hoping to catch a glimpse of the leatherback turtles laying eggs. Only a short walk back to the hotel from the park office after - which is a relief because the roads in CR are tough enough to drive in the daylight when you can see the potholes coming!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parksgirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2010

For $40 a night, our room was never going to be five star but everything else about our stay made that fade in to the background. The hotel is right on a BEAUTIFUL beach, just gorgeous. Every meal we had here (especially the quesadillas!!) was great, and the staff were SO nice and helpful. Despite their very limited English, and our non-exstent Spanish, they saved our holiday when Budget car rentals in Tamarindo completely let us down and screwed us over - the hotel staff spent ages on the phone ensuring we weren't stranded and sorted out alternative transport for us. Which meant we got to stay and relax for one more night - a big bonus! We saw an endagered leatherback turtle nesting on the beach, and got to be beach bums, followed by a dip in the hotel's lovely pool and shaded hammocks adjacent. This hotel has so much going for it for the bargainous price, although our room did smell very damp and the mattress was curved so maybe next time I'd go for one of the slightly more expensive rooms in the main building - just a tip!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoTravelTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We were warmly greeted by apparent owner in the parking lot. Someone was in the parking lot all the time until they locked the gate. We came in one night from our turtle tour at 2:00 am and there was a guard.
It is right on the beach which is awsome as are the sunsets. The food is good.
The linens are worn and stained but clean. Housekeeping is ok but not exceptional.
The rooms were nice but ask for the ones with the beach view. I paid more for mine and had a balcony overlooking the pool. The door to the balcony didn't really work.
I would stay here again due to location.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbellwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Awesome food with great service. Great beach and plenty of hammocks to lay around in. Beautiful environment. In close proximity to plenty of attractions, wonderful place to get away.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maroonout32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Well I don't know how Las Tortugas is able to do it year after year, but the rooms, food, and staff were wonderful. We stayed 10 days and had a super time. Spoke with the locals all over Playa Grande and they said the same thing - they have the best typico tico food in PG. We were a large group of two families and the kids were aged 14-21 and they all raved about how much they loved the experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DQDUDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Beware of the owner when surfing. He puts out a bad vibe in the water. Calls people off of a wave when he hasn't even started paddling for it. Yells at people if he thinks they get too close to him. A total kook. Rooms lack cleanliness, Staff is great. It's best to stay somewhere else like Hotel Bula Bula or RipJack Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chumwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.1 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 6 in Playa Grande
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 6 in Playa Grande
373 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,577 reviews
5.4 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Tortugas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Tortugas

Address: Frente al mar, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range: $25 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, ecotouristic hotel located directly on the beach in Playa Grande with our rooms, pool, jacuzzi, open-air restaurant/bar, and hammock area just steps from the sand and the main surf peak in Playa Grande. We offer every kind of accommodation and price range with small economy rooms on the beachfront property with AC and private hotwater bathrooms starting at $25/night and our honeymoon suite with oceanview between $70 and $130/night depending on the season. We also offer economical apartments with kitchenette facilities up the road from the hotel, just a five minute walk to the beach. All of our apartment guests enjoy full access to the beachfront hotel amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Tortugas Hotel
Las Tortugas Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing