We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Las Tortugas
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cantarana(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Grande Park Hotel and Villas(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bula Bula(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel RipJack Inn(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indra Inn(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$47
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol y Luna Lodge(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Manglar(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$47
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar's Monkey(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Marejada Hotel(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Grande Surf Camp(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
170
78
49
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
78
49
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanoe tourcosta ricahot tubleatherback turtleslaid backhowler monkeystaco starboogie boardingbring your own shampoorental carprivate poolbeautiful beachnight lifehappy hourshort drivegreat surfinglouis
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 322 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Somewhat basic hotel in a great location. Stayed in a two level room at the top floor of the main house. Great view of ocean and sky. Lovely beach, so much nicer overall than Tamarindo that has become too touristy. Food ok but not great. Head over to El Cafe del Pueblo, 5 min drive for excellent Italian food if in the mood.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank AngOber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I went to Las Tortugas two times and recommended it to friends as well! We only have good thinks to report. The owner and his wife are kind, real and healthy people. The stuff is friendly and warm. We both traveled around the world and this place is on our top ten list!

Room Tip: Hotel Rooms, Economy Rooms and great Appartments just a little away from the main Hotel! Try there great food on the best dining location in all of Playa Grande!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were 4 people in the greek 6 appartment for a week in may and it was great! We were there to surf and playa grande was a good choice for us with a large range of breaks everywhere in the beach. The room was cool, the staff was really friendly and the hotel environment was beautiful, with monkeys, iguanas, lime trees and mango trees. We enjoyed our stay at Las Tortugas and we'd be happy to do it again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loveswellsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

If you are looking for authentic, unpretentious, breathtaking beaches, excellent staff, delicious local food and a comfortable and affordable stay in Costa Rica at the beach...you have found it! My husband and I rolled the dice after he found Hotel Las Tortugas online...IT IS WONDERFUL...what a find! Walk down the beach to a lovely cove where you can snorkel at the black sand beach! Beautifully landscaped...feels like a jungle! Perfect for families or couples it is peaceful, relaxing and if you want to adventure out...they will help arrange whatever you need! We can't recommend this highly enough for the vibe, surf, snorkel, food, modest accomodations and love!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool on the second floor... it had a large balcony with rocking chair and a papasan perfect for afternoon siestas! We saw iguanas in the trees, dragonflies flitting about and birds enjoying the beautiful landscaping. PARADISE!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel has a nice local vibe: rooms are decorated in bright primary colors, lots of room, nothing fancy. People hanging around not doing much, sitting on plastic chairs. Guests hanging out at the pool, walking the beach. At night everyone gets cheap mixed drinks and goes to the beach for a social hour. People walk around and introduce themselves. It's wonderful. The sunsets tend to be spectacular. Food is good, not fancy, and prices are good. It's a great place to stay and get into the local vibe. Staff are friendly, and things move at a slow pace. If you're looking to relax on a great Central American beach, this is the place to do it. Air conditioners are really noisy though, so bring ear plugs.

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach side are really nice.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews