We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Hotel Las Tortugas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Las Tortugas
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel is on the beach at Playa Grande and has only ambient lighting because the the owner is committed to preserve a favorable environment for sea turtles that come to lay eggs in the evening. I was impressed with their commitment. At night, the restaurant was candle-lit which was one of the most romantic dinners I've ever had. The food was excellent and we sat there listening to the waves. Will definitely go back one day!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mvora_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    74
    47
    16
    8
See reviews for
83
123
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Heard about Las Tortugas from a friend's parents who stayed there a few summers ago, right when they told about about the amazing beach front, restaurant, and vibe I knew we had to book there! It was definitely the most relaxing trip we've ever taken, loved booking excursions through the hotel and exploring in our rental car. We rented surfboards through Taco Star at the beach, canoed in the estuary, swam, and went for lots of beach walks. Loved the relaxed feel - it's like a home! All the staff is awesome, there's a room to accommodate anyone it seems. Hoping to head back with friends soon!

Room Tip: Many of the rooms in the hotel have beautiful porches!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

When our original reservation at another hotel fell through Hotel Las Tortugas was happy to make room for us and provide us with a wonderful place to stay. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful and eating 3 meals a day staring at the ocean only feet away was one of the better parts of our trip. The food was delicious and so were the mango margaritas! Thanks to Lewis and his wonderful staff we had an amazing relaxing stay and were definitely sad to have to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katebugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a great value for the area. The staff are all very friendly and most have been working there for a long time. They are flexible and take a personal interest in their guests. The restaurant is always available to serve food and drinks and they have a variety of selections. The rooms are very clean and well air-conditioned and the staff is prompt in cleaning the rooms every morning. I stayed in Playa Grande to take some surfing lessons and to enjoy some relaxing days on the beach and this was a perfect location, close to Frijoles Locos surf shop and Playa Grande surf shop as well as all the beginner surfing spots. The pool is a great place to relax and read a book with a cold beer. The beaches to the north I recommend walking or running to. They are secluded, beautiful and clean with smaller waves and great places to swim.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

When my Oregon friend told me she was finally doing that trip to Costa Rica, I thought : Las Tortugas Apartments!!!We rented 4 since my kid´s friends also came so we were a big group of 17, and enjoyed the beauty of the beach in Playa Grande, the friendlyness of the hotel's staff, the convenience of having a kitchen to cook for the crowd, and how close it was to show my visitors other beaches like Tamarindo, Danta, Conchal, and Brasilito .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrisLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

From the moment we drove in and were met by Alexi until the day we departed with hugs and handshakes, we had a wonderful stay at Las Tortugas. If you are looking for an American style hotel with cookie cutter rooms, phones, tv, & night time action this is not the place for you. But if you want to relax in comfortable surroundings, enjoy excellent home cooked style meals, and be able to watch the birds, monkeys, and iguanas right from your poolside lounge chair Las Tortugas is perfect. Lots of families staying there, as well as surfers and retired travellers make for an interesting mix. One thing in common, by about 8 pm everyone was lights out after all day at the beach or in the pool and you could here a pin drop. Lewis and Carrie are making a difference in the lives of the local people by providing jobs as well as working to protect the environment in the surrounding area. The staff are cheerful, friendly and helpful as well as patient as I struggled through my limited Spanish ( although they have English speaking staff always close by ).
All in all, we had a wonderful week at Las Tortugas and look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: We had room 10, air conditioned with a balcony overlooking the pool. Just perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

What a wonderful little get away. The staff is super friendly. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are very nice. I stayed in room 10 which has a very nice balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The beach is incredible. Huge and uncrowded. You owe it to yourself to pay a visit here.

Room Tip: Ask for room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfutterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.1 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#3 of 6 in Playa Grande
367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Marejada Hotel
La Marejada Hotel
#2 of 6 in Playa Grande
183 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 6 in Playa Grande
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Tortugas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Tortugas

Property: Hotel Las Tortugas
Address: Frente al mar, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, ecotouristic hotel located directly on the beach in Playa Grande with our rooms, pool, jacuzzi, open-air restaurant/bar, and hammock area just steps from the sand and the main surf peak in Playa Grande. We offer every kind of accommodation and price range with small economy rooms on the beachfront property with AC and private hotwater bathrooms starting at $25/night and our honeymoon suite with oceanview between $70 and $130/night depending on the season. We also offer economical apartments with kitchenette facilities up the road from the hotel, just a five minute walk to the beach. All of our apartment guests enjoy full access to the beachfront hotel amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Las Tortugas Hotel
Las Tortugas Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing