We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wood fired pizza in the jungle”

El Huerto De Playa Grande
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Huerto is a Mediterranean Fusion style restaurant based in the tranquil national park Marino Las Bualas, famous for its wood-oven Pizzas. Its suitable for large groups, romantic dining, children and special occasions. We also serve fresh fish, tenderloin steaks, salads and pastas, cocktails and personally selected wines.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wood fired pizza in the jungle”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A must if you're in Playa Grande. Good food, good service, great bar. It's open air so use repellant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobs711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    73
    19
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahwah, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best OF Dinners”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a 5 star dining establishment that is certain to please the most discerning palate or fussy diner. Menu is a pure delight; wine list among the best we encountered; service exceptional and value extraordinary. We had two appetizers; a pizza (brick oven****) and 4 entrees with a bottle of the best Argentina Wine we have had under $40 and the boys are still talking about the dessert which was as beautiful as it was delicious...if you are in the area go and enjoy the food; the wine; the company; and the dining room...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddleston, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good pizza, ok service, LOTS of mosquitos!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were there during the summer months which represents rainy season, so the mosquito feast may have been seasonal... However, that is still out over-riding memory. The outdoor seating was cute and very comfortable for our group of 10. The pizza was quite respectable, especially given how far away from seemingly anything this little corner of Costa Rica is. We tried almost everything on the menu. It was all excellent. They take reservations, but somehow forgot that we'd made one...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMLBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good pizza”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We've eaten here twice, a year between visits & the pizza was very good both times. What a relief when you return to a place on vacation and find the food is still so good. The wood fired pizza is just like what we've had when visiting Europe. If you like thin, crispy crust & flavorful toppings, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katnboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I thought I was eating Pizza in New York !”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Who would of thought Pizza in Playa Grande? Well our Host on our vacation brought us to this wonderful hand tossed Pizza and baked in a large outdoor brick oven.Their were so many ways you could create your own Costa Rican pizza. everyone in our party of 8 had a huge pizza. The wine special was great and the salads were pretty good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ttfncop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Huerto De Playa Grande also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Huerto De Playa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing