We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was charming , peaceful and a delightful experience .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Huerto De Playa Grande

El Huerto De Playa Grande
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“It was charming , peaceful and a delightful experience .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

The food was delicious and we particularly liked the pizza . We returned twice. Service was excellent and were given a lovely liquor with our dessert on Valentine's Day. It is in a lovely garden atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank historyteacher11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    68
    19
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponoka, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We are staying in Tamarindo and travelled up to Playa Grande to go to The Garden Grill as we had seen an article about it in the local paper. Much to our dismay the Garden Grill was closed (the article indicated that it was closed Mondays when in actuality it was closed Sundays).

We went up the road and found the Cafe del Pueblo. We were seated promptly. We ordered drinks which were delicious. My husband had the passionfruit mojito which was the best drink i have tasted in our trip so far (and we have sampled "a few")!!!

I ordered a hawaiian pizza and hubby ordered the special spaghetti. Both were truly divine!!! We ate every last morsel. The pasta was homemade and so unbelievably fresh. An incredible meal. We were so full we had to skip dessert :(

The pizza was by FAR the best either one of us have ever tasted.

Service was fantastic. We enjoyed every minute.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank hottaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Get there early or you will be turned away.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The pizza is great and cheap. I had the mahi mahi and I couldn't finish it - so much food. We tried to go there earlier and they said they were full. Instead of asking us to wait or allowing us to be on a list it seemed we had to leave. It was kind of weird. We went back the next night earlier. They only have 6 tables or maybe 8. Good food and service.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travel17_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever/Worst service ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Literally some of the best pizza I've eve had. Unfortunately that was tempered by the worst waitress on Earth. 2 hours for pizza is ridiculous. It was half an hour until we could get our first glass of wine. After asking twice for our check, it took her another 30 minutes. Very unattentive throughout. Frustrating experience but like I said, the pizza is almost worth the B.S.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank signal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wood baked pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

The pizza was awesome, and the atmosphere was very invitining. Great outdoor dining

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Huerto De Playa Grande also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Huerto De Playa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing