We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Frijoles Locos Surf Shop
from $59.94
More Info
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveler rating
288
16
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
288
16
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf shop great selection future trips the owner boogie boards pura vida clothing bike recommendation apparel wear accessories
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 311 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2019

We had two families, 8 people in total, with 4 teens for a private lesson with JJ and JC, most of us were first-time surfers. JJ was the main instructor and he was fantastic, putting everybody at ease and having a super-positive attitude. Everybody was up on their boards (in varying degrees) almost right away and everybody had a wonderful time. Letting the kids stand in the back of the truck for the ride to/from the surf shop was just icing on the cake for them.

The fact that Frijoles Locos gives lessons on a beach they have almost to themselves (at least on our day) made a huge difference. I can imagine if you had to learn in a swarm of people it would be a lot less fun.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank boscojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2019

Hi boscojr,

Thank you so much for your super review!
We love to hear you had a good time surfing (and riding in the back of the truck ;)) and that the instructors made sure you had fun and caught plenty of waves. We've given our fair share of surf lessons on Playa Grande and are proud to have a lot of happy customers to show for it. It's great to have the opportunity to let our students experience the sensation of surfing regardless of prior experience.
We are lucky to call Playa Grande our home - it is a privilege to be able to take you away from the crowds and find a secluded spot for students to feel 100% at ease. From years of experience we know that a safe yet fun surf experience very much depends on factors like location, ideal ocean conditions and timing, which is why we are so particular with our surf lesson scheduling. Our customer's safety and the quality of their surf experience are very important to us.
Thanks again for trusting Frijoles Locos and keep surfing!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

Great shop we hired bougie boards if you want really good shopping they have lovely stuff. I didn't need anything but if I did this is where I would go

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 1richardbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2019

Richard,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a great experience with Frijoles Locos and liked our rental equipment and merchandise. We appreciate the shout-out and hope to serve you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019 via mobile

Frijoles Locos is a great surf shop in Playa Grande.
Beyond the board rentals and sales, they provide lessons as well as booking tours of all kinds. You can also arrange to have your rental equipment delivered and picked up at your house or hotel if staying in Playa Grande. Great staff really friendly and helpful

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Hi Paul,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review!
Thank you as well for pointing out that Frijoles Locos Surf Shop is not just a surf shop - besides the obvious board rentals and retail shop, we have a well established surf school with professional instructors, two 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartments upstairs and a full-time concierge who is not just available to our guests, but anyone wanting vacation planning assistance.
Quality service is our highest priority and our fantastic team is always ready to help and go the extra mile for our customers.
We are so glad you got to experience what our surf shop has to offer and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019

I worked with Jeanette for months planning our first trip to Playa Grande for myself, husband, in-laws, and 2 sons (8) and (6). She was amazing! She was instrumental in every step from helping us pick the best house for our group, arranging transportation, tour suggestions, to connecting us with JJ who was by far the best surf instructor we ever had! Jeannette was so incredible and an absolute pleasure to work with. She was helpful, attentive, and consistent. Many of my emails would be answered within a hour. We spent 3 days in Tamarindo surfing and we all agreed Playa Grande was much better. We were lucky enough to have JJ as our surf instructor. He is an absolute treasure! JJ is so passionate about surfing and patient with the kids. He elevated our trip to another level. We actually all cried saying goodbye to him at our last surf lesson. We can't get back to Playa Grande soon enough and can't wait to see our new friends again!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank testerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Dear Esterly family,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review!
It was our absolute pleasure to help you plan your vacation and it's the best reward knowing that it was as good (if not even better) as you had hoped and imagined. Playa Grande sure is a treasure and it gives us great joy to share its beauty with wonderful people like you.
We are proud to have an outstanding team at Frijoles Locos that goes above and beyond for our customers and clients. They are passionate about their jobs and it shows.
Thanks for trusting Frijoles Locos with your vacation needs and know that we are here for you and ready to assist you once again whenever you are ready to plan your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019 via mobile

Staff is helpful and friendly. Good prices and great selection. Anything you need from surfboards to bicycles.. they have it!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank eifltwrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2019

Hi eifltwrgrl,
Thank you so much for the review! Short and sweet - we love it! Happy we were able to help you out during your vacation and we hope to see you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews