We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ā€ŗ
ā€‚ā€‚
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
246
15
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
246
15
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frijoles surf shop group lesson costa rica great selection of boards bathing suits rented bikes wide range t shirts board rentals flip flops top notch body boards great store concierge service different levels co owner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 268 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

Great shop we hired bougie boards if you want really good shopping they have lovely stuff. I didn't need anything but if I did this is where I would go

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 1richardbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2019

Richard,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a great experience with Frijoles Locos and liked our rental equipment and merchandise. We appreciate the shout-out and hope to serve you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019 via mobile

Frijoles Locos is a great surf shop in Playa Grande.
Beyond the board rentals and sales, they provide lessons as well as booking tours of all kinds. You can also arrange to have your rental equipment delivered and picked up at your house or hotel if staying in Playa Grande. Great staff really friendly and helpful

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Hi Paul,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review!
Thank you as well for pointing out that Frijoles Locos Surf Shop is not just a surf shop - besides the obvious board rentals and retail shop, we have a well established surf school with professional instructors, two 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartments upstairs and a full-time concierge who is not just available to our guests, but anyone wanting vacation planning assistance.
Quality service is our highest priority and our fantastic team is always ready to help and go the extra mile for our customers.
We are so glad you got to experience what our surf shop has to offer and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019 via mobile

Staff is helpful and friendly. Good prices and great selection. Anything you need from surfboards to bicycles.. they have it!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank eifltwrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2019

Hi eifltwrgrl,
Thank you so much for the review! Short and sweet - we love it! Happy we were able to help you out during your vacation and we hope to see you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2019

We began our trip to Playa Grande by messaging Frijoles Locos' concierge, Jeannette before we went down. She had us all set up with a rental car before we arrived and made the process super simple and seamless when we flew into SJO. The staff at the shop was incredibly helpful with rental board selection and recommendations from where to surf and eat! Drew really made us feel like we were at home! I can't wait to go back to PG and Frijoles Locos again! Thank you to all of the staff for the great service! PS The fam loves all the swag!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank VAPhillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2019

Hi Phillip,
Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy we made a positive impact on your vacation from the very first contact to the last. Sounds like your vacation was a blast and we feel honored to have been a part of it. We are looking forward to having you back one day and you know how to reach us, if you would like any assistance at all prior to your trip! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2019 via mobile

My surf lesson was an amazing time, JJ was my instructor, and he was high spirited, lots of fun, and very passionate about the sport of surfingz Iā€™d suggest Frijoles Locos to anybody!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Dalton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2019

Dalton,
Thank you for writing a review! We are so glad you had a fantastic time with JJ and felt his positive energy and passion for surfing and teaching. Hopefully you can keep it up, even though Alaska is quite cold to surf!!! You know you can always come back here for warm water surfing ;) All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews