We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
246
15
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
246
15
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frijoles surf shop group lesson costa rica great selection of boards bathing suits rented bikes wide range t shirts board rentals flip flops top notch body boards great store concierge service different levels co owner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 268 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

Great time with JJ and team. They got our whole family up on surfboards and were very kind and considerate. JJ even took time to tell my children to cherish these moments with their parents as time goes by too quickly. The surf shop staff is great as well.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank chasonp2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Hi chasonp2019,

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear your family enjoyed their surf lesson with our great surf instructors. We care about our customers and make it a point to tailor each lesson to the individual needs of each participant. Our goal is to provide you with a fun, educational, safe and memorable experience - looks like we succeeded :) Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019 via mobile

Great selection & prices as would be expected- very friendly staff & clean, cool interior. Loved the water bottle refill station!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Koverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Hi Koverton,
Thank you for writing a review!
We, too, love our water bottle refill station and hope many people will bring their reusable bottles or klean kanteens to Frijoles Locos and help us reduce single use plastic. With Playa Grande being a national park, we are acutely aware of the impact our actions have on the environment and every little bit helps. Besides offering a filtered water refill station, we reuse the plastic bags our merchandise comes in to provide bags for your purchases - nothing fancy but it serves its purpose!
Thank you for stopping by Frijoles Locos and we are glad you liked what you saw :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

We rented beach chairs while staying in Playa Grande. Such a nice staff....even delivered the chairs to us.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 705katherinew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Hi Katherine,
We are so glad we left such a positive impression on you that you felt compelled to write us a review - thank you!
Customer satisfaction is on top of our list and going the extra mile is so worth it with such wonderful customers like you. We are lucky to do what we do and serve the people that come to Frijoles Locos! Thank you for stopping by our surf shop during your vacation in Playa Grande :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Staying at Frijoles Locos surf shop. Lovely apartment above the store. Great staff. Drew the owner is very knowledgeable and helpful. Jeannette was very helpful in arranging our car rental and spa day for my wife. Just very relaxing to be here even if you don’t surf

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Hi John,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartments above Frijoles Locos Surf Shop and got to relax and unwind on your vacation. Our staff is always ready to assist - onsite or online - to assure our guests have everything they need prior as well as during their stay. Thanks for the visit and your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019

Our group of 7 was interested in an adventure tour, and Jeannette at Frijoles arranged exactly what we wanted! Jeannette's response time was immediate, and she patiently answered my many emails, making it clear that her priority was customer satisfaction. She arranged the Hacienda Guachipelin Adventure Tour for us, which included horseback riding, white water tubing (the most fun I've EVER had!), zip lining, a lovely lunch and ended with mud baths and hots springs. A full day that was packed with fun and adventure, always felt safe, and was incredibly well organized. You kept your belongings securely stored in a locker in between activities, and not having to carry a heavy backpack around was appreciated. I was a bit worried about not being able to carry my water around with me, but every time I felt thirsty, there was a water station available. I would highly recommend this tour, and will definitely ask Jeannette to arrange my excursions the next time I visit Playa Grande!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Hi Lynne,
Thanks so much for your review and your kind words. Customer satisfaction is indeed high on our list and our service is aimed to always reflect that we take your vacation experience to heart. We are so glad you had a fun adventure day and trusted our recommendation. All tour providers we use have been personally tested and approved by Frijoles Locos to assure a quality experience from beginning to end. We are looking forward to helping you with your vacation planning on your next trip to Playa Grande ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

Great shop we hired bougie boards if you want really good shopping they have lovely stuff. I didn't need anything but if I did this is where I would go

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 1richardbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrijolesLocos, Manager at Frijoles Locos Surf Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2019

Richard,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a great experience with Frijoles Locos and liked our rental equipment and merchandise. We appreciate the shout-out and hope to serve you again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews