We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
246
15
5
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
246
15
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews frijoles surf shop group lesson costa rica great selection of boards bathing suits rented bikes wide range t shirts board rentals flip flops top notch body boards great store concierge service different levels co owner
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 268 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Another trip to Playa Grande where Frijoles came through for us in all regards. From board rentals, planning a fishing trip, trip to Witch's Rock, a massage, cool tees and all around great people, it was a pleasure as always. Thanks guys - see ya next time!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

Frijoles Locos is the friendliest, most knowledgeable, and professional surf shop in Playa Grande/Tamarindo. This stop is a must whether you want to learn to surf, improve your skills, rent high-quality boards, or buy unique souvenir t-shirts. And if you want a comfy apartment for your stay, they have that, too!

Lessons: Their coaches are committed to ensuring a good experience for all students. We were a group of one beginner and two advanced beginners and took two lessons with JJ who somehow managed to work with all three of us during each lesson and helped us improve. We learned so much from him and also got tips from Ian who saw us from the beach and looked at our video footage. I took a private lesson with Eli as well and learned a lot from him, too.

Rental boards: Their selection is huge and high quality, and their staff will help you pick just the right board for your skills and surf conditions. Boogie boards, bicycles, and beach gear are also available for rent.

Shop: They have an excellent selection of t-shirts, swimwear, beachwear, and everything you need for a perfect surf holiday or as gifts from friends and family. Even if you don’t surf, this is a great shop to visit!

Apartments: We rented one of their two-bedroom apartments just above the shop and really enjoyed our stay. Very comfy, short walk to the main break, and close to several good restaurants. The pool is clean and refreshing.

Concierge service: The apartment rental comes with concierge service provided by the fabulous Jeannette who is quick to respond to all your email inquiries and help you with whatever you need. Onsite, Omar, JC, Angelo, Andrea, and the entire crew were all super helpful. The co-owner, Corynne, was also warm and welcoming. It was clear that everyone at Frijoles Locos wanted us to enjoy our holiday, and they were willing to go the extra mile to make sure we had great time. They are the epitome of pura vida!

Thank you so much for your hospitality. I’m so glad I learned about your shop on my first visit to Tamarindo last year and even happier that I made a return visit with friends. See you again soon!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank SanukSanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

By far our favorite memory on our trip. Our instructor, Eli was the best. So amazing with our kids, really All of us. I highly recommend booking this and asking for Eli. We ❤️ You Eli!!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Courtenay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

The folks at Frijoles Locos were great. I prepaid for 5 surfboards and bikes for the week. Omar from Locos set everything up and communicated well. When we arrived everything was ready. They even delivered some boards and bikes to the house and picked them back up. One of my kids traded in the board he was using for a different model with any hassles or nickel and diming us. Totally great experience. Would highly recommend Frijoles Locos!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 886erikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Spent a week in playa grande with my friends and we rented our boards here. The board selection was awesome and the prices were cheap. Angelo took us on a guided surf tour on his day off to marbella, avellanas, ostional, and San Juanillo. He also took us on a paddle boarding trip to conchal. If you are thinking about getting a guide ask for Angelo and he will make sure your time is used well!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews