We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable quality in Playa Grande”

Upstairs at the RipJack
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our open air restaurant is located on the second floor and offers a unique treetop dining experience. RipJack also offers private chefing, full catering service and specializes in weddings and other special events. We offer a highly unique menu of fresh local seafood as well as tasty treats from the land. We are family friendly and offer special menus for kids twelve and under.Our restaaurant is closed on Tuesdays. There are several dining options within walking distance.To Go Meals - designed for guests on the go or those with vacation rentals and no time to cook!
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unbelievable quality in Playa Grande”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had an amazing culinary experience at RipJack - a welcoming yet sophisticated beach side restaurant. We started with two delicious cocktails - mango jalapeno and guanabana margaritas. Next we had their delicious seafood sampler, with shrimp on hummus, grilled mahi salad and calamari. Our mains were impeccably cooked tuna rolled in sesame seeds, and the other was grilled to perfection ribs in homemade barbecue sauce. Service was fantastic. The menu begs you to return. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bettiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    78
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great options, little pricey but yummy!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Delicious food, great portions, excellent service. Not a budget option, but worth it. Menu has good choices for vegetarians and is overall very healthy. Kids loved it too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LauraMAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favorite of Playa Grande!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Went bak several times. The food was delicious, the view very nice and there service great! They had a greg a great selection at reasonable prices, This was our favorite place overall in Playa Grande. I had the Seared Ahi Tuna & Palmito several times and it was fantastic. My son loved the calamari. We were never disappointed with the cocktails!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g2tmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast / Lunch”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We visited the RipJack fro Breakfast / Lunch after a morning session and 3 of us had breakfast that was outstanding and I had the fish tacos, which were the best I have ever eaten. A little on the expensive side, but outstanding food and service. We will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh, Fun, and Friendly!!!!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Annie and Nubia made every bit of our destination wedding planning stress free! On top of making every bit of the rehearsal dinner, ceremony, and reception picture perfect they also helped with activity planning and transportation. The restaurant is open air in the tree tops with a glimpse of the ocean. Beautiful, bright orange flowers adorn some of the trees surrounding the restaurant. Every time we enjoyed lunch or dinner the food and service were above and beyond. It is very obvious the chef Andy takes pride in what he prepares. The food and cocktails were very fresh! Kelsey, Eric, Alabama and the rest of the staff were on top of it while being pleasantly fun! We can not wait to be back at Rip Jack to catch up with friends we made. If in Costa Rica don't miss this charm, and enjoy a guanabana smoothie with rum for me!

Helpful?
Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs at the RipJack also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Upstairs at the RipJack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing