We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was the best meal we had in Costa Rica”

Upstairs at the RipJack
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Central American, Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Our open air restaurant is located on the second floor and offers a unique treetop dining experience. RipJack also offers private chefing, full catering service and specializes in weddings and other special events. We offer a highly unique menu of fresh local seafood as well as tasty treats from the land. We are family friendly and offer special menus for kids twelve and under.Our restaaurant is closed on Tuesdays. There are several dining options within walking distance.To Go Meals - designed for guests on the go or those with vacation rentals and no time to cook!
West Olive, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This was the best meal we had in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I'm a total food nerd and love local food when I travel. This was not traditional Costa Rican food, but it was simply amazing. I had fresh tuna served with fat Asian noodles and a light teriyaki glaze. Dining in the tree tops was wonderful, but the food was truly spectacular - fresh, local ingredients, served in thoughtful and interesting combinations gets me every time. We dined at the Rip Jack as a special dinner for our last night in Paradise and if (hopefully when) we return, I would vote to make it our first night's meal, not the last.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    75
    23
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stopped here by chance! What a smart move. :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Had a super dinner. The staff is wonderfully friendly, bi-lingual, and very accomodating. you HAVE to try the Jalapeno Mango Margarita. THEY are to die for. Just wish I could replicate the recipe at home. The mussels were huge, but a couple not cooked thouroughly. If in the area, I'd go back. If you get there and can eat off the lunch money, you'll save a bunch of money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annieo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had two dinners at RipJack as it was within walking distance of the villa that we rented. Both times the food was very good. Generous portions and very tasty. The teriyaki tuna was excellent and we also enjoyed the Mahi mahi our first time there. The watermelon mint margarita was also delish!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed at the Rip Jack for 4 nights and ate here 5 meals. Menu is extensive and everything we had from ceviche to mahi sandwiches to ribs and flank steak were excellent. The fave by far however has to be the teriyaki tuna. Melt in your mouth good and perfectly cooked! Friendly service but don't be in a rush as usual in Costa Rica. Enjoy the pura vida!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“service, service, service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Rip Jack for 5 nights. We had breakfast every morning and two dinners while there. I was a bigger fan of the breakfast meals; there were plenty of healthy choices, everything was uber-fresh and the coffee was outstanding. The view of the treetops and occasional wildlife gave it a cool tree-house feel. Our servers were all pleasant and eager to please, learning our preferences and offering suggestions after a couple days. Dinners were tasty and lovely to look at. I loved that our dinner server kept our waters filled and would place our napkins on our laps!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoriMa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs at the RipJack also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Upstairs at the RipJack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing