We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food Great service”

Upstairs at the RipJack
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Central American, Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Our open air restaurant is located on the second floor and offers a unique treetop dining experience. RipJack also offers private chefing, full catering service and specializes in weddings and other special events. We offer a highly unique menu of fresh local seafood as well as tasty treats from the land. We are family friendly and offer special menus for kids twelve and under.Our restaaurant is closed on Tuesdays. There are several dining options within walking distance.To Go Meals - designed for guests on the go or those with vacation rentals and no time to cook!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Food Great service”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed at the RipJack for a week and had all meals here except for a couple of lunches and one dinner. I found the food to be consistently good, with a decent price and best of all, all the wait staff were super friendly and helpful. My only criticism is that the menu needs to change, it is the same menu everyday. But in a week I found a couple of favorites and enjoyed all the choices.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Magic165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    75
    24
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great drinks”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My spouse and I had dinner here on night during our 2 day stay in Playa Grande. It had a very fun, relaxed atmosphere and the staff was great. We felt it was overpriced (would highly recommend eating next door instead) but the food was decent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benthebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
162 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice setting, good quality foods”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Were staying for one week and enjoyed all of it: the breakfasts, the lunches as well as the dinners. The staff is very nice and friendly, sometimes they do mix up orders or forget, espacially when there is lots of traffic in the restaurant. But this is onlz a minor detail.
More important is the very high quality of the dishes prepared and served at no matter what time. Most customers seem to be US Americans, so in case you don't have a problem with that: this is the place to go and eat (and stay) at Playa Grande. Definitely!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HajoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
“Upstairs at the Ripjack”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great dining experience with creative food in a very laid back environment. They have good prices and incredibly friendly staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gta1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great surf bar with lots of action”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Spot on service with tasty appetisers. Staff are very friendly in making you feel welcome. Huge open loft bar overlooking all the action coming up from the beach

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs at the RipJack also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Upstairs at the RipJack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing