We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Costa Rica”
Review of Sugar's Monkey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sugar's Monkey
Ranked #3 of 6 Playa Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
1 review
“First trip to Costa Rica”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We began our trip to Costa Rica in Playa Grande and stayed at the Playa Grande Inn. Justin and his crew made us feel right at home. We stayed in luxury hotels in other parts of the country and as nice as they were, they did not compare to the warm welcome we received at PGI. Even the interaction we had with the locals felt more "authentic" than that we had with the service personnel at high-end establishments. As an absolute novice surfer, I was never made to feel like the goober I was and the beach at Playa Grande was large enough that I never felt like I had to worry about getting in the way of the more advanced surfers. Justin was very accommodating in guiding me towards the right board and the right break. When I return to Costa Rica, I won't stay in another city or another hotel, PGI is where its at. From the yummy breakfast burritos to the frozen "Painkillers" I just can't recommend PGI enough.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs. There are loud birds that sound off before sunrise and the sun comes up early on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    34
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
47
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is the spot if you're looking for a good value near the beach. I think it's an ideal spot for surf trips. The rooms are definitely on the minimalist side, so I would recommend looking somewhere else if you need a little more amenities in the room. Full disclosure: a couple bummers were we didn't have a coffee maker setup in the room (which everywhere else we stayed in CR did), the shower water didn't get very warm, and the walls are pretty thin in terms of being able to hear other guests on the property (I wore earplugs and slept fine). On the plus side, they have a pretty good selection of surfboards for rent and Justen is a cool guy and hooked us up with a larger room. Bottom line, even though you might be compromising on amenities, it's a great value for the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Playa Grande Inn is a great value and a great place to stay to leatherback turtles laying eggs. We didn't eat at their restaurant, but we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicman107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We loved the pool, proximity to the beach, the restaurant at the hotel, the ping pong table, the staff (Justen was very helpful, thank you) and the cleanliness and size of the room. Thanks PGI for a great vacation, we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraavlBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stopped in tonight for dinner at the Playa Grande Inn after watching a beautiful sunset. It opens at 5 PM. We started with a Cucumber Collins cocktail that was so refreshing and made with fresh ingredients. The shrimp spring roll appetizer great and the main course, a sausage crusted mahi mahi and a parmesan chicken the best we've ever had. To finish it all of, a pumpkin bread pudding with rum glaze. Wow! The best part was it wasn't outrageously priced like some of the other restaurants in Tamarindo. The service and staff were very friendly as well. When we went they only take cash. Its well worth the drive from Tamarindo if you're looking for something new. I can't tell you what the rooms were like since we just ate there.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Friendly and laid back!!! I stayed at Playa Grande Inn (PGI) for a few nights and WILL GO BACK!!! They had a great long term local staff whom were very friendly, accommodating, and , fascinating people. Had to admire my room constructed out of all local wood, which gave a very warm beach vibe. PGI had an awesome bar. In my opinion it was the perfect bar to hang at in Playa Grande! Good food at the bar or table area (kid friendly). Also, you MUST try out the Marbar Restaurant adjacent to PGI. Again, my favorite restaurant in Playa Grande! Surf and Turf was half price and better than most places at home. LETTUCE BEEF WRAPS!!! PGI,s pool area was pretty chill for relaxing, drinks, whatever after a perfect day of surfing. As for surf, the beach was a short walk right across the street. It's a beautiful protected national park with numerous different surf spots for all levels of surfers. Lots to do there for all who comes. If you go to PGI with an image of how you envision an "as seen in a magazine trip to Costa Rica", YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LennyNmbSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We really enjoyed the simple accomodations-relaxed atmosphere-spectacular beach. Justin was a wonderful host who went the "extra mile" and drove us to the local airport for an early flight. Stay here to experience Costa Rica's wildlife, surfing and great food.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.0 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 6 in Playa Grande
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Marejada Hotel
La Marejada Hotel
#3 of 6 in Playa Grande
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
274 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,451 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar's Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar's Monkey

Property: Sugar's Monkey
Address: | 250 Meters South of Minae, Cabo Velas, Playa Grande 50308, Costa Rica (Formerly Playa Grande Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar's Monkey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical life style Sugars Monkey is a small hostel where you can breath ocean; 150 mt from miles white sandy beach, welcomes its guests with pool surrounded of tropical garden where you can eat fresh and healthy food from our restaurant open from breakfast time till dinner. Eight room with air conditioning, ambient fans, private bathroom, shower and hot water; Two room settings: doble room for two occupancy and large room for four occupancy. Community space, gym and pool table are free for guest, Be Water surf rental and tour will happy to take you into waterworld ....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Sugar's Monkey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Playa Grande
Hotel Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing