We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had the best time ever!”
Review of Sugar's Monkey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sugar's Monkey
Ranked #3 of 6 Playa Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had the best time ever!”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed at PGI October 28 - 31st. It was short vacay but well worth it! Justen and his family were welcoming and friendly. Chris and Darcus who ran the bar/restaurant on site were FaBulous! Food was delicious (ask for the chef special pizza---delish!), beer always cold. A very short walk to the beach and the whole place had a nice, relaxing, cozy feel. I was expecting "rustic" for the price, but was very pleasantly surprised. The decor was cool and had a hip vibe. The pool was pretty, our room was nice, we even had towels shaped as swans to welcome us and we had hot water. I've been to Costa Rica twice before, so I know...hot water...isn't always a given! I took a surf lesson from Doug who was from South Africa, really cool dude. So if you guys go...yes....do it! ;-) say hi to Chris, Darcus, Doug, Justen and Family for me! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSetGirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    34
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
47
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Visited here for a week on a surf trip with my friends. Rooms are clean and nice. Food is delicious. People are always friendly and will give you good tips on where to go and what to do and see. Nice place to relax while resting from long surf sessions. Good music. Just wish rooms had a microwave, mini fridge, and a safe. Other than that it was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomePersonHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Justin the owner is super accommodating. Rooms were what we needed to stay in our budget. We feasted at the Marbar and supplemented with shakes from Lynn at PGI. Pool was great and ping pong super fun. Watched streaming US Open live at the bar-nice touch.

Only negative: 'Boos boat trips" is a total waste of money!!! going to Witches Rock? Choose Coca or another boat service, Boos is a total rip off. They need to drop the s from their name....

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

After staying at several hotels in the region for a surf trip I could not have been happier to end up at Playa Grande Inn. Justin made the place very welcoming and relaxing. It's the only place I stayed where it was super relaxing and accomodating even if the surf wasn't on. Great pool area and even better area with couches, hammocks and good music. Having said that it's just a short walk to the beach and great surf to be had. Definitely look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laclippers78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Justin and his wife are just awesome. This place has a combination of the perfect vibe and set up. The rooms are super clean, hammocks everywhere, ping pong, the beach really close by, and insanely good food. If I go back to CR at anytime, this will be my spot.

You won't find a better value either.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soflasurfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

PGI is a very good value. It's perfectly clean and the hotel central pool area is a great hangout for taking a break from the beach. We enjoyed the ping pong table, pool table and foosball. Justen, the manager, is easy going and always wanting to help with any needs. Jason, the restaurant manager, was great and enjoyed making tasty food and sitting around and talking. Currently there is a fruit and soy smoothing bar owned by Rita and those were excellent. The hotel staff is very easy going. The beer is cold and reasonably priced.
The Playa Grande beach is the place to be for surfing. It’s the best low tide Frisbee beach I’ve played on in many years.
I would and will stay there again.
Comments:
The rooms are no nonsense: clean beds, a small table and 2 chairs. The A/C worked well. There is nothing else in the room. There isn’t an ice machine at the hotel.

You can’t see the beach from the hotel. Nor can any other hotels in the area. The beach is a short walk through the trees.

If you’re an early riser, there is no nearby food/drink available until 8 AM.
Food isn't cheap, but Costa Rica beyond street food isn't cheap so PGI was in the middle price wise

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Stayed at PGI from Thanksgiving thru the first week in December. Went with my father and brother, both non surfers and first time visitors to Costa Rica. We could not have had a better time. The hotel was perfect. Clean rooms everyday and A/C. The staff was great and always available for any request. Great place to just hang out and forget about the world. The pool, bar and restaurant are all there for you. Great food and a great place to relax with some cold beers. Justen (new owner) was available for advice on what to see and do in Costa Rica for the first timers. His advice was priceless. He helped us set up deep sea fishing and an excursion zip lining. Both amazing. At the PGI you become a "Local" as soon as you check in and the entire staff make you feel right at home. Just wake up and wander to the beach to surf whenever you get the urge. Just a few minutes walk down a sand path and great surfing as far as the eye can see. I will be back to the PGI!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyeguy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.0 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#3 of 6 in Playa Grande
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,455 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
5.4 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar's Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar's Monkey

Property: Sugar's Monkey
Address: | 250 Meters South of Minae, Cabo Velas, Playa Grande 50308, Costa Rica (Formerly Playa Grande Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugar's Monkey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical life style Sugars Monkey is a small hostel where you can breath ocean; 150 mt from miles white sandy beach, welcomes its guests with pool surrounded of tropical garden where you can eat fresh and healthy food from our restaurant open from breakfast time till dinner. Eight room with air conditioning, ambient fans, private bathroom, shower and hot water; Two room settings: doble room for two occupancy and large room for four occupancy. Community space, gym and pool table are free for guest, Be Water surf rental and tour will happy to take you into waterworld ....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Sugar's Monkey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Playa Grande
Hotel Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing