We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playa Grande treasure”
Review of La Marejada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Marejada Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Playa Grande treasure”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights here, family of 3. Beautiful, quiet, clean room with hot shower, comfortable beds. Excellent meals at the Mar Bar restaurant which adjoins the hotel. Short skip to the beach for early morning walks/surfing - just fantastic. Refreshing pool. Gail, the owner, booked surf lessons for us and we had a great, first time trying surfing. Walking distance to the National Park office for leatherback turtle watching night tour.
Plan to return here one day to spend at least a week enjoying this hotel and area. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fav4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
93
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked two rooms. The owners were very helpful and booked a turtle tour for us.
Rooms are not very big but very clean, good A/C and comfortable beds. the pool was a great treat to our kid during a very hot afternoon.
The hotel is 3 minutes walk from a beautiful beach.
Great value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilytripCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Perhaps a little unusual, but we never got the chance to stay here, as they were fully booked during our stay in Playa Grande. But after hanging out there a lot and having numerous chats with many of the guests and a great room tour with Gail, we are sorry we were stuck at the dump next door.What we did do was spend a lot of our food dollars at the Mar Bar which is attached to the hotel...Lindsay, the manager, runs a great little bar/ restaurant and her staff are people she should be proud of. They have all been there long term, are so polite and funny to boot. Her management style shows through in her happy staff. The Panko Chicken has to be the best value in all of Playa Grande...it will even stuff you full after the longest of surfs. Compare this to the $7 I spent for four chicken wings at Playa Grande Inn and it's a no brainer. Our only hope is that next trip to Playa that La Marejada has the rooms we need for the time we have!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelnimbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

La Marejada is the perfecr hotel. Not only were the rooms and pool kept immaculately clean but the owners Gail and Carli welcome you as if you had come home. If only home was a thirty second walk from a really fun Costa Rican beachbreak. Though technically a seperate buisness the food at the on-site Marbar was delicious and the staff there just as friendly and welcoming. I cannot recommend La Marejada enough. One night stay is all it takes to quickly learn what the "pura vida" spirit is all about.

Room Tip: All rooms will have you waking with a smile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here three night and it was the best three nights we had so far in Costa Rica! Rooms were really cute and very clean! Staff were really friendly and very helpful. The hotel was right near the beach and if you need to hire a surf board Justin next door had lots of boards for a good rate. The food at the bar out the front was really good too! If your going to playa grande stay here you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The La Marejada is a great hotel!! Gail and Carli and everyone else who works there is so nice and friendly!
The hotel has a beautiful pool that is very refreshing, the rooms are clean, beds are comfy. Nice atmosphere, food is great at the marbar. We love it there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed one night at La Marejada. We are residents of the country, and appreciate the welcome touches found at La Marejada. The beds are comfortable, not always the case in Costa Rica. The rooms are a good size, and outfitted with ceiling fans, air conditioning and a big screened window. The bathrooms are small yet very functional. Everything is spic and span clean.

The hotel is a 2-story building with a total of 8 rooms, so very intimate and pleasant. We spoke with Gail, one of the owners, who readily provided a lot of excellent advice on getting around and enjoying the area. There is a small restaurant on the premises with delicious filling breakfasts and killer ginger beer. Also Gail did not hesitate to recommend some of the other eateries nearby.

If you are here to see the turtles, the national park office is an easy 2-block walk down the road. The beach is a 2-minute walk away through some trees. We were told the hotel provides small boogie boards for playing on the waves.

We will return to La Marejada.

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs room, as it gave us a view down to the pool and limited the number of folks wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarchasmHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.0 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#3 of 6 in Playa Grande
367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 6 in Playa Grande
369 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.8 mi away
Hotel Capitan Suizo
Hotel Capitan Suizo
#3 of 22 in Tamarindo
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marejada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marejada Hotel

Property: La Marejada Hotel
Address: 200m Sur de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Marejada Hotel, located in the quiet town Playa Grande is a hotel for surfers and beach goers alike. The hotel is located a quick walking distance to the white sand beach of Playa Grande. Our on site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner focusing on fresh, homemade food made with the best local ingredients available. The property itself is shaded with mature palms, has an inviting pool to cool off in, as well as hammocks for relaxing outside in the tropical ambiance. The rooms are simple, clean, and stylish, with A/C, hot water, and comfortable beds and linens. The surrounding national park ensures an experience for nature lovers and gives a tropical sleepy charm to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Marejada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marejada Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing