We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”
Review of La Marejada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Marejada Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here three night and it was the best three nights we had so far in Costa Rica! Rooms were really cute and very clean! Staff were really friendly and very helpful. The hotel was right near the beach and if you need to hire a surf board Justin next door had lots of boards for a good rate. The food at the bar out the front was really good too! If your going to playa grande stay here you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 187 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

The La Marejada is a great hotel!! Gail and Carli and everyone else who works there is so nice and friendly!
The hotel has a beautiful pool that is very refreshing, the rooms are clean, beds are comfy. Nice atmosphere, food is great at the marbar. We love it there!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed one night at La Marejada. We are residents of the country, and appreciate the welcome touches found at La Marejada. The beds are comfortable, not always the case in Costa Rica. The rooms are a good size, and outfitted with ceiling fans, air conditioning and a big screened window. The bathrooms are small yet very functional. Everything is spic and span clean.

The hotel is a 2-story building with a total of 8 rooms, so very intimate and pleasant. We spoke with Gail, one of the owners, who readily provided a lot of excellent advice on getting around and enjoying the area. There is a small restaurant on the premises with delicious filling breakfasts and killer ginger beer. Also Gail did not hesitate to recommend some of the other eateries nearby.

If you are here to see the turtles, the national park office is an easy 2-block walk down the road. The beach is a 2-minute walk away through some trees. We were told the hotel provides small boogie boards for playing on the waves.

We will return to La Marejada.

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs room, as it gave us a view down to the pool and limited the number of folks wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarchasmHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great place, nice and relaxed atmosphere.
Good foods and drinks in La Marejada bar. The staff is really nice.
Simple, comfortable and clean rooms. And a small and nice pool.
Perfect location.
Best surfing spot on the beach right upfront.
The owners, Carli and Gail, will make sure you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had 2 nights in this wonderful hotel - after being recommended by a friend.
Gail and Carly were fantastic hosts and helped us organise local transport - a must do is the boat trip across the estuary (about $2 each way) to Tamarindo - we even saw a couple of crocodiles/alligators.
A beautiful setting with an awesome restuarant - the home made ginger beer was scrumptious!
Would definitely recommend this to others

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The La Marejada Hotel was a great spot for my 10 day vacation. I decided not to rent a car and just relax in the Playa Grande area and taking a cab every now and then when needed.

The owners Gail and Carli were very proficient on the phone and over email making reservations and arranging a cab from the Liberia airport to the hotel($70) They arranged a shuttle on the way back for $20 a person, but they made a few stops on the way. I would take the shuttle next time as it was still efficient. The hotel was a perfect spot to walk to the beach. You could walk about 30mins down the beach to Tamarindo and take a water taxi for $1 across the estuary for a little more night life. Rooms were cleaned everyday, had warm water and wifi but had to step out on the balcony to get a clear connection. No TV, but didn't miss it at all! The only thing I would consider next time in a hotel is having a kitchen and picking some things up at the local grocery store if I'm staying in one place more than 5 nights. Gail was a pleasure to talk with and she had a lot of activities that was recommended and would arrange transportation. We ended up doing a catamaran sunset sail/snorkel for about $80 and was worth every penny! (See pics) Gail also let me borrow a surf board a few times at no cost. Another highlight of my vacation was SUP surfing in Tamarindo with Marco and Lydia, Costa Rica SUP Adventures.(Check out their reviews on here!)

The Marbar restaurant downstairs has an awesome staff and made you feel at home. They seemed to be the only consistent place open for drinks and food in that nook of area which was nice. Food was very good and had some good specialty cocktails! Prices were comparable to U.S.(I live close to D.C.)

Overall, I would definitely recommend a stay here when coming through Playa Grande or living there permanently. I thought about it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We made a good choice staying here. We felt welcome and the small hotel was nicely kept. The reviews below mine are spot on.

Room Tip: Upstairs is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank occy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 6 in Playa Grande
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 6 in Playa Grande
374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
5.9 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marejada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marejada Hotel

Address: 200m Sur de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range: $95 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Marejada Hotel, located in the quiet town Playa Grande is a hotel for surfers and beach goers alike. The hotel is located a quick walking distance to the white sand beach of Playa Grande. Our on site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner focusing on fresh, homemade food made with the best local ingredients available. The property itself is shaded with mature palms, has an inviting pool to cool off in, as well as hammocks for relaxing outside in the tropical ambiance. The rooms are simple, clean, and stylish, with A/C, hot water, and comfortable beds and linens. The surrounding national park ensures an experience for nature lovers and gives a tropical sleepy charm to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Marejada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marejada Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing