We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to "Chill" in Playa Grande” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Marejada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Marejada Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome place to "Chill" in Playa Grande”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

La Marejada Hotel sits in a little cluster of hotels with Rip Jack Inn, Playa Grande Inn and Ranch Provado (although RP appeared closed) about 100 yards off the beach. Each hotels offers food and drinks and hotel patrons are free to mix-and-match, eating and drinking in the bar/restaurant as they like. Playa Grande is a premier surf location so the beach is nice mix of locals and tourists from sun-up to sunset. This was the most appealing aspect of the stay and location for me as I was not interested in Tamarindo with it's Daytona Beach like craziness. However, the BEST reason to stay at La Marejada are the owners Gail and Carli. They are just a couple of surf/beach chicks that make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pixystyx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
92
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Wife and I just returned from a 4 day stay at the La Marejada in Playa Grande. Clean, relaxing and friendly hotel. Owners are on site and very helpful with local suggestions for fun things to do. Highly recommend this place to anyone looking to just relax and enjoy chilling. Steps from the beach and close to lots of good food. Eggs benedict at the Mar Bar is highly recommended for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiwagon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Marejada last week and I can't recommend it highly enough. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are comfy and clean. The pool is shady and relaxing. The food was excellent. It is just a few steps from the beach and a few other small hotels so you can have options for dining. We already want to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliGirlForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Guaranteed relaxing time. The owners are great hosts, and the Mar Bar has some of the best food in Playa Grande.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RossnMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at La Marejada this past week and it was absolutely wonderful! Both Gail and Carly were super nice and very accommodating! We gave them a list of things we wanted to do while in Costa Rica and they set everything up for us without any problems! The hotel itself was very clean and comfy, and the bar downstairs served amazing food! Everyone in Playa Grande was extremely friendly, and the beach was only 200 meters from our door! The beach itself was pretty desolate, even for the holiday season, which we loved!! Playa Grande is a local surf town and definitely the place to go if you want to stay away from huge tourist areas. Carly gives even more amazing massages and all of the locals are very welcoming! Come visit Costa Rica and stay at La Marejada! It will be a wise decision!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramón, Alajuela, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I went to La Marejada with my wife on Dec of 2011, the place is great, in an excellent location about 200m from the beach. The room was very clean and the bed was comfy, the staff is very friendly, Carly and Gail are great! We really enjoyed our stay here, however we think that for a room with no fridge or tv is a bit pricy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Clean, spacious rooms, bed was very comfy. Very short walking distance to some of the most gorgeous beaches we've seen. We enjoyed our stay here and thought it was pretty good value for the nice, modern bedrooms (modern as in not a jungle bungalow, but no tv or fridge in the room, which we didn't find to be an issue at all). A major plus: MarBar the restaurant attached has great food. We did one dinner and two breakfasts there and it was really delicious and couldn't be more convenient. The hotel owner also helped set up a surf class for us which was great. We would stay here again and just realize it's not a huge hotel- only 8 rooms or so, more of a guesthouse, but a very comfortable, convenient one.

Room Tip: There's only two levels of rooms. We stayed on the second floor and had no complaints at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.0 mi away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#4 of 7 in Playa Grande
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#1 of 7 in Playa Grande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
9.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marejada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marejada Hotel

Property: La Marejada Hotel
Address: 200m Sur de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Marejada Hotel, located in the quiet town Playa Grande is a hotel for surfers and beach goers alike. The hotel is located a quick walking distance to the white sand beach of Playa Grande. Our on site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner focusing on fresh, homemade food made with the best local ingredients available. The property itself is shaded with mature palms, has an inviting pool to cool off in, as well as hammocks for relaxing outside in the tropical ambiance. The rooms are simple, clean, and stylish, with A/C, hot water, and comfortable beds and linens. The surrounding national park ensures an experience for nature lovers and gives a tropical sleepy charm to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Marejada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marejada Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing