We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!! Great Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradise Flamingo Beach
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great location to the Flamingo Beach and to the one plaza town. Our room was located poolside with a beautiful view. We suggest requesting this poolside two-floor building; we heard the rooms located elsewhere are very basic and have yet to be upgraded. Our room , though clean, was sparsely appointed.

More than offsetting the no-frills accommodations was the superb and most supportive staff, led by Willie Watson, general manager. He made sure our requests were graciously met. Thus, the room rates are appropriately based for the three star accommodation however, the service was , in my opinion, a four or five star rating.

The on-premise, Mediterranean restaurant, Jasmine's, had just opened . We enjoyed dinner on the patio, overlooking the water with candlelight and white tablecloths, a romantic finish to our two night stay.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank spdwkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Flamingo Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 208 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

I do not understand some of the reviews below, when people come to Costa
Rica they should not expect a 5 star hotel and service for the price they
are paying.

We spent a few nights at the El Sabanero Beach Hotel and continued to the El
Sabanero Eco Lodge.

Both places are totally different, although both places have excellent management and food.
If there is a problem, one just has toask and management is bending backwards to make sure everything is ok.

TheBeach hotel has recently been renovated but did not finish in time so there
are only 28 rooms.

The lower ones, which are also the cheaper ones are still in a very good price ratio.

Food was excellent and breakfast was as expected.
We certainly will return and recommend floors 5 and 6 for travelers.
Those rooms are great, 5th floor with a direct pool access from the room.

Another must is to try Danny's food, an excellent chef.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captainmorgan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for 6 days on our honeymoon. We really enjoyed it! When you walk in the lobby...you will be taken aback by the amazing view. The hotel sits on a cliff overlooking the crystal blue water of Playa Flamingo. Incredible! For the price, this place is a great value. Great location too....within walking distance to a lot of restaurants, shops and 2 beaches. The beautiful property and friendly staff really makes up for a few of the shortcomings of the place. The room was ok...it was all that we needed since we didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyway. Our only complaint about the room was that there wasn't a blanket (just a sheet). We asked for one, but I think they forgot, and then we just didn't bother asking again. They could also use a few ant traps as well, and every day we would find at least one of these tiny little crabs (i think they are called Halloween Crabs) scurrying around the room, especially the bathroom. The pool was beautiful, but later in the day it would get littered with leaves & foliage. The staff was incredibly friendly & hard working! I dont think any of them took a day off while we were there! Christian was especially helpful to us. However, they were a little understaffed, and would get easily overwhelmed. The included breakfast (which we didn't know was included - was a nice surprise) was pretty good....traditional Costa Rican breakfast with eggs, rice & beans, toast and delicious fresh fruit. The mediterranean food was great! The private beach was cool - a little dangerous getting down the steps to get there - but we considered it all a part of the adventure :-) Overall, we were happy with El Sabanero. Again, its a great value for the price. We will be back!

Room Tip: Get a room on the pool
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our vacation started in Dec, just after Christmas. My wife and I booked one of the pool-access rooms. Our patio door literally opened onto a balcony with our own private stairs into the pool. I had never seen anything like that before - it was awesome. The room itself was modern and very spacious, with a comfortable king bed.

The open concept style of the hotel not only provided an airy breeze wherever we were, but also a terrific sight line of one of the most exceptional features of El Sabanero - the view. The stunning view of the Pacific from everywhere - the room, the bar, the dining area, the back patio - is picture perfect. Great for bird watching too - the hotel sits atop an embankment and the back patio is a perfect place to bird watch up close at almost eye-level.

A foot trail behind the hotel leads down to a big, secluded sandy beach. We brought our blanket and books down there several times. We also visited the popular Flamingo beach down the road too, but found ourselves returning to the private beach most often.

We ate almost every meal at the restaurant, Jasmine's by the Sea, located within the hotel. The food was excellent. I worked my way through the menu during our stay, discovered favourite dishes, and ordered them again and again.

Through the hotel you can also book excursions - sailing, ATV tours, zip line etc. We went sportfishing and caught 3 tunas, which Danny at the restaurant prepared for us to eat that evening for dinner. I also booked myself a morning massage overlooking the ocean.

The staff was courteous and friendly. We got to know them quite well during our stay, and each day they remembered more and more of what we liked to eat, drink and do. We appreciated that personal touch.

We had a great stay at El Sabanero Beach Hotel and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Book a pool-access room!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is rather rundown. Our room was spartan and in need of renovation. Some rooms appeared to have been renovated recently. The hotel needs major investment. The location is nice and the views are great. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan-H-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We just returned from a week at El Sabanero. We were 8 people.

1. The hotel staff, particularly the manager and the owner were friendly, helpful and very professional. A true pleasure to deal with. They really went out of their way to provide excellent customer service, always with a smile. We were not satisfied with our rooms the first couple of nights and a change was made with no problems as soon as it possible given that the hotel was full.
2. The views are truly beautiful, and the hotel is well located, a short walk to Flamingo beach, which is lovely, with good wave action.
3. It is important to keep in mind that this is a 3 star hotel and not a five star property. In my view, some of the comments on line are unfair. You do get what you pay for, and I thought the hotel was priced fairly for the accommodations provided.
4. The breakfast isn't great, its the same every day with little selection (fruit, scrambled egg, dry rice and beans and dry cold toast).
5. The rooms were clean, and the amenities were 3 star, which was the expectation. Beds however were extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the 5th or 6th floors.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We moved to this hotel because brasilito was too noisy and dirty. Overall this hotel is terrible. The pool was dirty, all the foliage dry and dead, when you drive up the place looks abandoned and scary but the rooms are clean. The "private beach" is down a steep cliff. The stairs you have to take to get there are rickety and broken. The customer service is the worst though. We waited an hour and a half to get our food at lunch and they got my order wrong. Extremely overpriced. We should have stayed at the hotel brasilito instead.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camillarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
1.3 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
3.0 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
0.9 mi away
Guanacaste Lodge
Guanacaste Lodge
#3 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
410 reviews
2.6 mi away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
534 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Brasilito
Hotel Brasilito
#2 of 3 in Brasilito
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Flamingo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Flamingo Beach

Address: Flamingo Beach Road | Near to Flamingo Marina Resort, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sabanero Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range: $110 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Flamingo Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Flamingo Beach is an Ocean Front Hotel in exclusive Playa Flamingo. In addition to sporting its own privately accessed beach.Paradise Flamingo Beach Hotel is close to Conchal Beach, and Penca Beach and only a short distance from Tamarindo Beach and Hermosa Bay Beach. Paradise Flamingo Beach Hotel also features multiple dining venues, the best of indoor and outdoor dining, ample meeting and banquet space, multiple bars including a wet bar and spacious Ocean Front terraces. Weddings, events, family trips... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Paradise Flamingo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estela De Fuego Hotel Playa Flamingo
Paradise Flamingo Beach Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing