We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mariner Inn
Nearby Hotels
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
$225
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Guanacaste Lodge(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Flamingo Beach(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brasilito(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
$59
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nany(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conchal Hotel(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
$83
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Marina Resort(Playa Flamingo)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
26
26
9
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
26
9
7
7
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 75 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I left the US with no particular landing place in mind in Costa Rica other than the airport in Liberia. A local friend called Larry who is the owner of the Mariner Inn, and got us a very difficult room to get in the high season. It turned out to be the best decision we made in the three years we spent in this area. This place is the focal point of all the interesting activities that go on in the Playa Flamingo area. Larry who has been around a number of years gets the best entertainment around and it is FREE. Its funky bar has a personality that should not be missed. My wife and I came back from the beach one day for lunch and found 6 young ladies dancing on the bar for an hour. They were celebrating St Patrick’s Day and had a little too much to drink but were having a great time. Don't miss this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chuck3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We just spent five days in the Captain's Suite and were very satisfied. The basic rooms are small, with a good bed, good A/C, fan, small refrigerator and bath with shower. The suite has a tub/shower, A/C in each room, wall safe, large refrigerator, bar area, bar sink, microwave, coffee maker, nice balcony area with table & chairs and very comfortable hammock.

The downside is maintenance. Everything is on the shabby side. Lights that don't work, fan that doesn't turn on, shower with no water pressure, no hot water, etc. However, Lin (the owner) was very pleasant and accommodating: when I showed her the shower problem she said they would fix it after we left (have to open the wall to replace valves) and gave me the key to the room next door, where the shower worked fine. The lack of hot water was not a problem: the "cold" water here in CR is pretty warm and not at all uncomfortable.

The upside is that it's clean, well located, lots of parking, restaurant, bar, swimming pool, Wi-Fi, very pleasant staff (thanks Yancy, Maricela and Cindi!!!). If you plan to spend a lot of time in your room, you need to be in the suite. If you just want a clean, comfortable place to sleep (with A/C) and wash up, this place would be hard to beat for the price.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: standard rooms are small, but clean and comfortable; suite has good options.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

ok place a local place cheap rates bar and food the basics says it best. no frills active loud bar
in teh center of flamingo. no frills short walk to beach, the rooms a re adquate and are not the most modern but they are fine, you dont spend much time in it. all good

Room Tip: it doesnt matter
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnyourtripmyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

When we started our trip to Costa Rica from San Jose, we were not sure what are we paying for.
Finally we made our way to Flamingo beach, because we were told it has the best beach in Costa Rica, after we entered this small exclusive town, the first place we saw was Mariner Inn and decided to stay there. Place is located in a secured area everything is very close. The next day we decided to see places like Brasilita (not very safe) and Potrero beach (no paved roads), thinking that it might be better (we were looking for a calm beach), we also looked allllllll over the Flamingo area and did not find a better place than Mariner Inn (avoid El Sabanerro unless you want to sleep with crabs and spiders in your room). It is family run business with Larry and Lin running it. With spectacular views from the rooftop restaurant. I think it is way undervalued, but the owner is running this place from 1990s and after staying there for 5 nights we realized that everyone who comes here are regulars who have been coming here for 8-9 years in a row.
Location is perfect for shops access to different beaches.
It is THE BEST KEPT SECRET in Costa Rica, and most locals/expats know the place. I usually don't write reviews of the hotels unless its a disaster, but I was so impressed by this place that I decided this is the least I can do.
Larry invites different live bands that perform on weekends, and by the way, we decided to extend our stay for another 2 weeks in Costa Rica just because of this place.

Room Tip: They have several kinds of rooms depending on the size of the family.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Arthur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We sayed at the Mariner in Jan,2013 the staff were great and Larry & lyn the owners are the most wonderful people you can meet. The food was 5 star . The rooms are very clean. We meet so many people that we will stay in contact with. They made our holiday gave us advice where to go and what to see. We had my purse stolen on the beach and Larry & Lyn were so helpful Lyn came with us to report it to the police and helped with everything that we had to do.This hotel is where everyone meets in the evening and have a few drinks talking about are day and lots of laughs.This hotel is by far the best we ever stayed in from the staff to the food.
Thank-You
see you next year
Chip & Cindy Wearmouth

Room Tip: Yiu get your moneys worth
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews