We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, Excellent food, Good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Mar Vista

Club Mar Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Central American, Costa Rican, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy the finest cuisine and drinks at Club Mar Vista while lounging around our infinity pool! Breathtaking sunset views, great fresh healthy food, and the best drinks and staff in the entire area. Events, parties, large groups and romantic dinner reservations are always welcome.
Porltand, OR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, Excellent food, Good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We found The Club at Mar Vista on Trip Advisor and had dinner there on Thanksgiving. Most of our group ordered off the regular menu and one of us had a traditional turkey dinner. Everyone (4 adults, 4 kids) loved their meals and found the prices to be very reasonable. The couple who run the restaurant make you feel right at home. We had hoped to return but the restaurant was closed on our last day in Costa Rica. We would come back again in a heartbeat. The restaurant is very welcoming, reasonably priced, has excellent food, and has a great vibe.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    54
    15
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard to Beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I've been all over the Caribbean, but my first trip to Costa Rica left me stunned. The Club at Mar Vista epitomizes all that now makes this lovely country my preferred sun and sand destination.

The restaurant is located in the hills just above Brasilito. The stunning view and pool are what first hits you as wander into the restaurant. I'm typically not looking for a pool when I'm hungry, but this pool is gorgeous and it eventually lured me in for refreshing dip. We were able to trade our swimsuits for dry clothes in the tidy changing rooms.

The people are wonderful, not just the friendly and efficient wait staff, but the clientele as well. A refreshing mix of Costa RIcans, tourists, and ex-pats provide conversation and people watching opportunities absent from many destinations. You feel less like a tourist here, more like a traveller, if that makes any sense.

The food is fantastic. They do a great job with both regional specialties and comfort food from afar. I loved the patacone/chalupa mashup they had on special. They swapped out tortillas for fried plantain for a fresh twist on a mexican favorite. The burger was great, but the ceviche really hit the mark on another blistering hot afternoon. They had pasta and great sandwiches as well as steaks and a beautiful whole fried red snapper. We stopped up here a number of times during our one week stay in Costa Rica. We were never disappointed.

Prices were vey reasonable. The Costa Rican and expat customers know the area well, and I think there presence here says much.

Absolutely worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Club at Mar Vista, is truely one of the more unique places to eat and enjoy the tropical sun set. Along with the stunning view, came great staff, service and food. The Clue is located on top of a small hill overlooking the ocean. You will need to entrer through the security desk on the way up and give your name and licence plate number, if you are driving. My wife and I would recommend the club for any one would would like an excellent meal, berverages and a fantasic sunset. Hola Tony! I personally want to thank you for going out of your way to assist us with the flat tire. Many thanks and see you next year amigo!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect ending to a fantastic vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our Ecotrans tour guide recommended this place when we requested a casual and memorable local restaurant for dinner on our last night in Costa Rica. We we were definitely not disappointed! The sangria was fantastic, and so was the Flor de Cana burger! The drinks were much cheaper than at our resort (and they tasted better!). We had a chance to visit with the owner, who was super friendly. The service was great too. We just wish we would have arrived before sunset because we know we missed out on a spectacular view. If you're staying in Playa Flamingo, be sure to add this place to your agenda!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing! Glorious ocean view and great food. It's rare to get a hamburger in Costa Rica that is tasty, but the burger here was delicious. And the fries were wonderful -- crispy, almost like potato chips. We had an incredibly pleasant, delicious lunch with wine and mojito a for a very reasonable price. There was a bit of confusion in the table service, but the extreme attentiveness more than compensated for tiny glitches. We are moving to Playa Flamingo in the spring, and can't wait to go back and try out the pool.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gibby56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club Mar Vista also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Club Mar Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing