We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A couple of great guys”

Los Piratas de Flamingo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A couple of great guys”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Pirates arranged a Canopy (zip line), trip , ATV tour and catamaran trip. Their prices are the best in the business. Just on the catamaran trip they saved me 25.00 compared to other catamaran trips. I highly recommend using Richard and Douglas for anyone who comes to Playa Flamingo.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike79912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    10
    1
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fishing trip”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

They are professional and nice. They will not cheat you out of your money. At first I was a bit worried, but they kept their word. Book with these guys, Douglass, he will take care of you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Het5385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikesville, Maryland
1 review
“These guys are fabulous!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were in Costa Rica for a friend's wedding. The groom scheduled an excursion for our group of eight to a wildlife park. The trip was amazing! Douglas is very knowledgeable and personable and the rates are extremely reasonable. They really customized the trip to fit our group. We got some incredible photos and had an amazing time. My husband and I cannot wait to go back to Costa Rica. We will definitely use Douglas and Richard again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Pirates - Flamingo Beach Costa Rica”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I booked various tours with Richard and Douglas (los Piratas de Flamingo) and found the experience to be very pleasant. They are located outside the hotel on Flamingo Beach and the prices were reasonable (much better than hotel). They were very friendly and professional.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great choice for excursions”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Flamingo for our 50th anniversary. Douglas and Richard helped make it a memorable trip.

They set up next to the beach just outside Flamingo Beach Resort and can be found there every morning from about 8:00 until late afternoon. Their prices are considerably lower than those to be had at the resort or advertised by the major agencies via internet. However, while price is a major consideration, it isn't the only one. We did two tours with them and one with a major agency and we the "fun factor" was a bit higher with Las Piratas.

We didn't rent a car and a couple from Austin, near our home, suggested an ATV tour of the beaches to get an idea of the lay of the land. Our caravan had only 5 ATVs counting the delightful guides. My wife and I have seldom had such fun as we did going around, through, and over the sights of rural CR.

We had been somewhat dismayed by a river trip booked through the hotel. The river itself was wonderful and the guides knowledgeable but it took a couple of hours by van to get there. We wanted to do zip lining and Douglas suggested a site only 20 minutes from Flamingo. We had 7 in our group and, in contrast to what others had found at other zip line operations in CR, we suffered no long lines at each platform. The site features a total of 10 zip lines and is located on part of a large cattle ranch that was worth seeing in and of itself. To our surprise, we felt perfectly safe zipping along far above the trees and flowering vines.

Finally, Douglas is fun to talk to even if you don't plan any tours. He is a fount of knowledge about CR and its culture.

By the way, they deal mostly in cash, either dollars or colones.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank ProudlyEmeritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Piratas de Flamingo also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Los Piratas de Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing