We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for casual night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mariner Inn

Mariner Inn
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Bar, Costa Rican, Mexican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place for casual night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

After reading the other reviews and seeing it's location was just down the hill from our house at the Mariner's Inn we decided to stop by for dinner and drinks. Well, we are glad we did, and so happy we did it twice! We had great fresh Guacamole, Pico, Fish & Chips and the best quesadillas in Costa Rica. Great staff and a nice relaxing casual atmoshere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    38
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Playa Flamingo!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

WOW! We stopped in here for a quick dinner bite before packing up to go home. What a FABULOUS stop!!! Best prices...what you would expect in Costa Rica. Top notch food, excellent service...overall fabulous. It was a quiet night when we went, but peaceful, relaxing, and overall fantastic. We had 2 vodka club sodas, chips and salsa, 1 quesadillas ticas, and one chicken fajita. My husband and I shared the eats...only $24.73 for ALL of that! My gosh, if we'd be staying longer, we would go to Spreaders again and again! The quesadilla ticas were absolutely delish! The cheese in it was top notch. We would definitely go back. If you're headed to Playa Flamingo, hit this place up for the great food, service, and prices!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Flamingo
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value, Awesome American-Style Food and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This place has a reputation for having "decent bar food", but I'd say they have a great all-around family-friendly menu with large portions and excellent quality and friendly service- more so than some local restaurants that have a better "reputation". I took my family there for dinner last night and we ordered the chicken fingers, buffalo wings, and roast beef sandwich. Being an ex-pat, I get to missing "American style" food, so this was a treat! Although listed as "appetizers", the chicken fingers and buffalo wing orders were huge (we had to take some of both to go), with the buffalo wings quite authentic- we were happily cursing and sweating from the super hot and tasty sauce. One of the things you learn when you live here long enough is that the grass-fed beef is tasty but more often than not very tough- I was expecting the roast beef sandwich to be a little "off" because of this, but it was really tender and delicious, with all ingredients well arranged and the bread toasted just right. The roast beef had that "Arby's" flavor and texture (only thicker and better!) that I get to craving after many nights of Tico-style casados that we have at home all too often. Our server was friendly and fast, the food came quickly, hot and straight from the kitchen, and all told it was about $26 for everything I mentioned plus a couple of beers and a soda. Awesome! We'll be back...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Country, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spreader's Bar at the Mariner, Playa Flamingo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Greatest quesadillas ticas in the country, a perennial favorite. Great hangout for mariners, locals, turistas who want a nice local snack and a frio cerveza or cold drink.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaimito D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mardi Gras and Mahi Mahi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wow! Last night in Playa Flamingo and we found the Spreader Bar! Where the locals celebrated Mardi Gras. The grilled Mahi Mahi filets were the best ever!

The celebration included drummers and feathered dancers, a hot guitarist channeling Stevie Ray Vaughn that got us on the dance floor, the Queen and King of Mardi Gras all while Obama is giving his State of the Union speech. A fun time was had by all.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariner Inn also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Mariner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing