We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Coco Loco

Coco Loco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Relaxed, casual bar and restaurant directly on the south end of Flamingo Beach. Tables outside on the beach or inside in the shade. Feet in the sand, Coco Loco in hand. Open continuously from 11AM till 9:30PM. Wide variety of starters, beach bites, main courses and desserts. Extensive bar menu. Cash or credit card.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

We ate here twice. Great range of choices, from simple sandwiches to a nice sea bass. Reasonably priced and right on the beach. Careful to watch the road that runs thru it and it can get crowded quickly; but service keeps it moving.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JimmyTheClip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,786 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2019

I've been in CR for almost 2 months and this is by far the best restaurant we've eaten at. The ceviche is outstanding. The sizzling steak to die for. Their presentation is perfect and you can't beat the Coco Loco employees. They are attentive and go the extra mile. I would eat here every night if not for the fire :-(. Can't wait for them to reopen !!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nwr1chp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

This is the way to go. Rent a beach canopy from Texas Tico and order lunch from Coco Loco. The fish taquitos were fabulous. They looked more like a white fish egg roll than a thin taquito. One of the best restaurants in Flamingo and definitely the best restaurant on Flamingo Beach.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Gekeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019

This place was super cool. You eat right on the beach. The food is excellent. If you're going to walk to the restaurant, make sure either you have a flashlight or your phone is charged for your walk back to the hotel. It is pitch black at night once you leave.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

I spent 3 months in the Flamingo area. The staff and food at Coco Loco were awesome.. My tico friend sent me a message you had a fire. So sorry to hear that but thank GOD no one was injured. I honestly cant write anything bad about my experience at Coco Loco. Your staff were always friendly and called me by name, even after only a couple visits. Hope you recover soon and re-open. Best spot on Flamingo beach imo

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davemcly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jltaulere, Owner at Coco Loco, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Dear davemcly,
Thanks so much for your kind wishes. Yes we are so very thankful no one was injured as it was a serious fire. We are working to get back up and running and will post the update here on TripAdvisor. Thanks very much for your comments and we're glad you enjoyed your visits to Coco Loco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco Loco also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Coco Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing