We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Beach Bar-Restuarant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of coco loco

coco loco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A casual beach restaurant offering gourmet local cuisine at very reasonable prices. Feet in the sand or covered area. Gorgeous sunset view or watch the waves any time of day. Open for lunch and dinner. Visa and Master card accepted. We close annually from September to November for the rainy season.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Beach Bar-Restuarant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the nicest little beach restaurant. Tables are on the sand with a view of the volleyball (which we played) and the ocean. Fruit smoothies are also excellent after a round of volleyball. They have great cocktails - I highly recommend caipirinha - the fresh guacamole and salasa with fresh chips are delicious. Service is friendly. Pura Vida.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adelle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    306
    72
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

They were getting ready to close for the season when we were there. They did a pretty decent job, but the place was looking a little run down and they were serving a limited menu, so I'd like to try it out again during high-season. It's really nice to have a place like this right on the beach.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank benFlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
“Great food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently stayed on Flamingo Beach, Costa Rica and ate at this restaurant at least 7 times during the week. The owner is friendly, the food is good and the smoothies are great. Our family of 5 enjoyed every meal here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshua N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Nice place to have a refreshment. The food is not bad. If you want to catch up on the sports good place to go.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunshinemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food on the beach - reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I ate here twice over the course of a week. The food is good. The cocktails and juice drinks are great! It is right on the beach with some tables in the sand. The staff is kind and welcoming. The first time it took me something like half an hour to get my check, but they were busy and I think you can't care about that sort of thing too much when you're on vacation in Costa Rica.

I would definitely eat here again. It is one of the only restaurants (maybe there are two or three total) right on this beach, so I had figured their prices would be through the roof. By local standards, I think it is certainly not cheap. But it is not bad. We had an appetizer, four cocktails, and two main dishes for around USD 42.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed coco loco also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to coco loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing