We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pura Vida”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We recently stayed at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. Family of 8 ,four Generations.we ranged from 15 to 73. We had an awesome time . I was in this same area 28 years ago before this hotel was built. Whoa, what a surprise to finally see this beautiful Jewel.Great Landscaping, huge pool, swim up pool bar with wonderful people like Manalo, Elia, Leo and of course Manuel ,who helped out wherever needed. We met people from England, Germany, France, Canada etc. which gave the place an international flair.Rooms are great and big enough. I had an issue the first day with my A/C unit but after calling front desk they send maintenance out immediately and it was fixed in no time. My daughter and husband had the Ocean view suite. It is huge with two balconies, one to see the gorgeous sunsets. This is truly worth the money charged.we had a total of four rooms,but would gather there some nights for family time,games etc.Restaurant is located between pool and beach, with indoor and outdoor dining. The outdoor patio was never too hot. It had great fans and ocean breezes.Beach is just steps away, crossing small dirt path.Super security.the Great grandchildren have been fortunate enough to have traveled to Europe, Hawaii and most places in US in Motor Home. This is the only time ever that they told their dad that they want to come back here to Flamingo and bring friends,that this was the best vacation ever.there is so much to do with all the wonderful tours being offered right from the hotel.not to mention the activities at the resort.The Game room was a real hit.Some of the younger adults enjoyed the Tennis Court.Do not compare this place with other resorts. It is different in a good way. Not too large and not too big.The Owners have accomplished something ,that is rare in the Hospitality Industry. They personalized it and make you feel like you were part of their family.It is magical and draws you in.The Costa Rican people are very friendly, educated and proud. If you treat them with respect and kindness they will do anything possible to please you.Do tip over the standard gratuity. We kept dollars with us and tipped separately when signing the tab to room.During the 7 days we were there the place was fully booked with two weddings and three soccer teams. It got a little noisy but it was happy noise.Rooms are super quiet , even the pool view rooms. After closing balcony door and AC running I was not bothered by any noise.Some people mentioned that it was pricey. The prices the Resort charges are typical of all prices in Costa Rica. Drinks could be stronger. Tip on other Restaurants. Marie's, Angelina's, Camaron Dorado in Braselito,La Palapa in Tamarindo as well as Coco Loco are all great. Our group split up and different people explored other options.We did not do the all inclusive since the younger ones went somewhere every day. Since the place was so booked it turned out alright as Restaurant was overly busy, explaining one meal not so good ,yet other times amazing, Try the Sea Bass over vegetables and Linguine, Beef Tenderloin , etc. All so fresh. Never tasted beef or Seafood this good as I have in Costa Rica. Even the burgers tasted good . A hit with the teenagers but they tried everything and ate with gusto. We were told that they just lost a Chef a short time ago , this explaining some of the issues that some people experienced. But they still did a good job. On last night the family wanted to go out as a group since we rented two cars for 3 days. But again we split up as the Teenagers said let's go back to our place, we like it best.We will be back next year for sure.Use plenty of sunblock, I didn't and got sunburn in less then 20 minutes on beach. Canceling out my massage,but other family members enjoyed it including the guys.If you have a negative experience or Issue ,talk with Management and they will do everything possible to fix any issue. Kudo ,mucho mucho gracias to Linda in corporate office for arranging our trip. She is the best. Hope to meet her some day.In mind and spirit we are still in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Ocean view suite is amazing. Some of us had pool view rooms,also great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Inge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our resort and for writing such a comprehensive and positive review of your family's stay with us. How lovely for you to say that we made you feel like you were part of the family! While we try very hard to have something to appeal to every kind of traveler, we do feel that families are our specialty. Maybe it's because we've enjoyed many vacations at the Flamingo Beach Resort over the years with our own extended, multi-generational family interacting and having a great time. We also appreciate your mentioning our hard-working staff members and your great advice to others to "treat them with respect and kindness." We could not agree more. Also to your point that if a guest has any negative experience or issue, to PLEASE go immediately to speak to management about it, and we will do what it takes to fix whatever is wrong and make the guest experience a happy one. That's our hospitality commitment and mission. Thank you so much for sharing...we hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    744
    245
    82
    46
See reviews for
705
851
58
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We were happy with our choice to stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. The rooms were comfortable and clean, but by no means soundproof--you hear your noisy neighbors. With that said, other things made up for this negative.

The hotel has a "family room/kids play area" with ping pong tables, pool tables and a movie theater. My boys spent a decent amount of time meeting and playing with other kids and/or watching a movie. We also liked the smaller/water volleyball pool off to the side of the hotel. We pretty well had that pool to ourselves for a few hours.

The big pool is nice. The beach just across from the hotel is beautiful and there is easy access.

There is a fabulous restaurant just a minute walk down the street from the hotel, and Tamarindo is just a 15 minute drive. We loved visiting Tamarindo (twice) but staying in the quieter, prettier Playa Flaming.

One final comment about the hotel -- the wifi connection was neither reliable nor strong. A number of guest had connection problems similar to ours. I don't know if this is a constant issue or just a temporary issue that happened while we were there.

I definitely feel comfortable recommending this hotel, and I would choose to stay here if/when I return to the area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you so much for posting such a positive review of your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. We are so happy that you enjoyed our family center and mini-cinema! We regret that you had problems with the WiFi...I believe you visited just around the time when we were switching over to a newly available system that has more capacity and speed. We sincerely hope that you will find this problem resolved on your next visit, and we, our staff and management look forward to seeing you again soon. When you make your reservation, please advise us that you are a return guest so we can try even harder to make your stay even better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Hotel is a bit rundown and crying for renovation. Service is ok. The pool is nice but not enough shade. The pool activities are very loud. but the beach is beautiful except for the tons of beach vendors.

Room Tip: Get a non pool view room, lot more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of your visit, and will also use this feedback to improve our product and service. However, we disagree that the hotel is rundown and "crying for renovation." We have renovated the resort on a continual basis since purchasing the property 14 years ago, not only improving room quality and amenities but also adding new services and attractions such as the spa, the casino, the family center, the aquatic center, the new Cafe Britt store, etc. The hotel was originally built in 1986 and considering the wear and tear that a beach resort gets from the salt water, from the tropical rain, and from guests themselves bringing sand everywhere, we are proud that this building of more than a quarter of a century has been so well-maintained and cared for. At the same time, we pride ourselves on service that is more than just "OK" and so will continue to work on this based on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Firstly the Hotel is set in a beautiful location that seems very secure on a peninsular. Probably the very reason we saw 3 wedding parties there in 5 days.
The Hotel reception is beautiful and the staff there informative and knowledgeable. The Hotel for us, kinda went down from there.
The buffet which we elected for one evening had pans empty so we informed the staff, waited 30 mins for replenishment, nothing happened, so informed them again, nothing happened, no answer was forthcoming so we left. There are only few restaurants in the facility so we were a little at a loss. The food when they had it was very good though.
The pool is beautiful but the sides are slippy as hell and we saw a number of people hit the ground after getting their feet wet.
The Pool Bar although friendly and had a dreamy swim up counter, was spoiled by an infestation of bee's, which swarmed around the sweet drinks. These were the type that sting!! We sat no where near them and my 24 yr old daughter got nailed twice.
I think the good outweighed the bad for us but were surprised the Management had not done something about the bees.

Room Tip: There are no Beach view rooms. The closest would be the Pool view rooms. The whole facility is non s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review; your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate your taking the time to write about your visit. As owners, we would like to apologize on behalf of the staff and management for the issues you encountered. There is no excuse for what happened in the restaurant with empty buffet trays and you not getting service. If the buffet was over for the evening, then the waiters should have offered for the kitchen to prepare you something special off the menu. To address the issue of the pool area becoming slippery when wet, we are currently getting quotes to refurbish the stone flooring to give it back the texture it had initially when it was installed, which has been worn down over time. As far as the bees, we have gotten rid of them again, but they are constant nuisance and we do not like to use harsh pesticides as it goes against our commitment to be as nature-friendly as possible; we can only work with natural methods. We are so sorry your daughter was stung and wantt you to know that the staff is committed to keeping the bees away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

VERY family friendly ... if you're not a fan of lots of children, don't go during school holiday. However, even then the pool area is very large and nicely done. The swim up bar staff was efficient (if not overly skilled). Their location is superb. It is a great little beach just 20 steps away. There are also a lot of dining options close by. We very much enjoyed our second floor pool side room (No, it wasn't too noisy.). It faced west letting us chose to watch some gorgeous sunsets from the beach of on our balcony. Their second floor, open bar with the beach on one side and the pool on the other was a lovely place to just relax.

Room Tip: It's in the review ... a west facing room to watch the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review after your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. While it is true that we are a very family oriented resort (after all, we are family owned), we also try to cater to couples and we offer a lot of romantic options such as private dinners on the beach, couples spa treatments, a smaller private pool area, etc. We are very glad that found our resort to be "a lovely place to relax."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed at the Flamingo Beach Resort for 7 nights. We enjoyed our stay very much. The whole staff was friendly. The rooms were modern, clean, quiet and the bed was so comfy. The food at the pool bar and at the restaurant was great. The only cons I have are - I must admit the drinks were light on the alcohol. We spent a lot of money at the bar and never really felt a buzz. Stay far away from the gift shop (a pair of kids goggles were selling for $70 (US)!! A bag of chips $9! Kids flip flops were $40!!). Even the shop clerk shook his head with shame. The wifi was very spotty, but it's free. And the beach really wasn't the best, but it was just steps away. Can't beat that.
Overall, we had a fun time at the Flamingo Beach resort. We miss it already and wish were still there! Such a happy place. I highly recommend it if you're planning a visit to the area.

Room Tip: I highly recommend staying in an ocean view suite. They are large!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYCfamily0f4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to write a nice review of your recent stay at the resort. We love that you called it "such a happy place"...what a lovely description! At the same time, we are looking into your comment about the drinks being "light on the alcohol," with an admonishment to bartenders that it is not what we want our guests to be reporting. As to the gift shop prices, what you mentioned sounds absolutely crazy, maybe someone's conversion math was wrong. Cafe Britt leases out the gift shop from the resort, so our own personnel are not involved in the pricing; however, if it leaves a bad taste with our guests, we will definitely get involved to correct things. To be fair, they just took over the gift shop this month, so in the rush to get merchandise in and get the store open, mistakes may have been made and you have our apologies. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend to others, thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaufman, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

If you're looking for a quiet peaceful place to retreat, this isn't it. The pool and bar areas are loud but having said that the place is beautiful and lots of fun. There's a game room with ping pong, pool, etc. The resort has a small casino (all video) and a spa on site that is amazing. The best part for us was the beach. It's across the street and its just breathtaking. There was hardly anyone there, the sand is soft and the water is clear. The mountains that surround the beach are gorgeous. It's a perfect way to spend a day or two relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristiSMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa and recommending it to others. Your comments are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,577 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,325 reviews
11.2 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Playa Flamingo | Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 50304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing