We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for all groups!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great choice for all groups!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have always enjoyed our July week at Play Flamingo, always for the same reasons...great staff, many of whom have been on staff 20 years plus; super clean, big, and comfortable rooms; delicious breakfast; great restaurant and lots of excellent dining choices nearby; fantastic huge pool and pool bar; and one of the most beautiful beaches in Costa Rica where the sunsets are absolutely stunning!

This place is for everyone, as I observed this past week. We were entertained all week by a large wedding party relaxing and hanging out before the big event on Saturday. The hotel appeared to do a marvelous job of hosting the wedding. Elderly couples relaxing by the pool along with young families mind families with teenagers....that pool is big enough for everyone to enjoy!

Highly recommend! Available with a very reasonable all-inclusive plan or breakfast only plan. Kudos to the management!

Room Tip: We always enjoy having a ground floor poolside room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamrod305, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We have been blessed by your continued patronage of our resort and are so happy that you have chosen us as your family vacation spot for many years. We do try to have something to offer for all ages to enjoy. Weddings of all sizes and budgets are a specialty for us, and thankfully we have enjoyed excellent feedback from our many brides and grooms over the years. Thank you very much for sharing your positive experiences in this forum; we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    744
    245
    82
    46
See reviews for
705
851
58
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My family and I had a great time at this resort last month. We stayed 2 nights and loved it. Beautiful view from our pool view room. We could even see a little bit of the beach/ocean. I was concerned about there being a "road" to cross to the beach, but it was not an issue. The back of the resort is basically on the beach, but there is a small dirt service road between the hotel lawn/restaurant and the sand. You can see the beach from the pool area and dining areas. It is maybe 100 feet from the pool and easily accessible from there. It was a 2 minute walk from my first floor room to the beach. We all loved the big, uncrowded pool with plenty of lounge chairs and a swim up bar. This is on a beautiful, quiet beach with just the right amount of waves that could get big but weren't too strong. Loved watching the sun set. The hotel also has some cool photographers who took some great quality photos of us in the pool area and beach. They really captured our good times! We bought some of the individual photos. Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The balcony was a very nice place to relax. We rented boogie boards from the hotel for the kids to use at the beach. We also did the kayaking and snorkel tour. That was fun and the snorkeling was great! Our guide was great. Only thing was the wind picked up for the paddle back in and it was tough. Breakfast was OK. The snack lunch at the pool was convenient and the kids really liked it. They had great mixed drinks. We didn't try dinner at the hotel. Marie's across the street has excellent food for dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the pool view. It was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jgatespr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We cannot thank you enough for sharing this wonderful review of your recent family vacation with us at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. Thank you for your aptly describing about the unpaved access road between the beach and hotel; it really isn't an issue for 99% of our guests as it wasn't for you and your family. As we have explained previously in this forum, we have offered to fund the construction of a beautiful pedestrian boulevard along the beach to protect the mangrove forest, but some members of the local community do not want to close the road to vehicular traffic because it inconveniences them by increasing their travel time by about 5 minutes. We are working with the local municipality to change hearts and minds, but it's a slow process. We are so glad that you loved our beach and pool, and had a relaxing and fun family vacation. That's what we are all about! We very much hope you can come back and see us again in the future, be sure to let us know if you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I had my wedding here and overall it was a wonderful experience. The staff is very helpful, Cesar went over and beyond with me and my guest. Odylie was my wedding coordinator and she was great! She made sure that every detail was taken care of for my big day. Last but not least, Linda was a God sent. Through some minor set backs she made sure to take care of everything. There were some minor disappointments during my wedding but not everything can be perfect, overall I was a happy bride. With that being said, I would recommend Flamingo Resort if you are planning to have a small intimate wedding.

The only recommendation I have is there should be night life at the sunset lounge. Some good music and dancing will make the resort even better.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soraya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you very much for recommending the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa as a wedding destination resort. While it is very, very unsettling to hear that you had some "minor disappointments" during your special day, we are pleased that overall you were a happy bride. Thank you for your special shout-outs to some of our valued staff members. Linda, our US-based wedding sales coordinator, truly goes above and beyond for every one of our brides and their friends and families, so it was nice for her to be recognized--especially since she give so much of herself and never gets to see the actual wedding take place. We hope you will come back to share an anniversary or two with us, and we are forever grateful that you allowed us to become part of your memories. A heartfelt congratulations to you and your groom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful fantastic place to visit, it was clean and the staff was so nice and the price was amazing the view was out of this world! It was our first time in Costa Rica and we were so amazed how beautiful it was there we can't wait to get back to Flamingo resort !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa! We are so delighted that we surpassed your expectations for your first visit to our beautiful country and we hope that you will come back and see us again soon. We very much appreciate your recommendation on TripAdvisor and sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My family and I went Jan 2014. The hotel was beyond unacommadating. The aircondiotioner leaked on our head. The bathroom was filled with nothing but mold. We had to shower with flip-flops on.I asked to switch rooms and was ignored by all the help there. Especially when I speak fluent spanish. I was paid in full with Bookit and until this day cannot get my money back from this horror hotel. This hotel should be rated a zero and should not be called a hotel.After I left that horror hotel I went to the most beautiful hotel and had a great time.

Room Tip: there was no elevator we had to lug 3 heavy suitcases by ourselves. Halls were scary and dark at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jamies320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Of course, it pains us that you were unhappy with your stay at our resort. However, your review is typical of the reason that hoteliers know these consumer review sites are a double-edged sword: Some guests use the threat of a bad review to try to get refunds from hotels for reasons that are not under our control. After your comments appeared, I thoroughly investigated with my staff members what had happened. Even though your stay with us was 7 months ago, several associates remembered your visit well. When I wondered why you had waited so long to make such a strong complaint, it turned out that you had finally been denied a refund through all the avenues in which you had been trying to get your money back for your stay (Booking.com, your credit card company, and our hotel). You were denied a refund because nothing was wrong with your stay from our part. Our hotel just wasn't the luxury property that you had been seeking. Most particularly, you and your family members were unhappy that the beach was not private. You were offered assistance with your luggage, but preferred not to wait. Actually, we have it documented that you were offered an upgrade to a room with a better view (which created much juggling on our part), but by then you were already looking for another place to stay. In fact, you moved to a newly-opened luxury boutique hotel whose room prices are 4 times what we charge! There absolutely was no mold in your room, and there was no complaint registered regarding mold in your room. The A/C did have a drip, but our records show that a maintenance staff member went in and fixed the problem no more than 5 minutes after your call to the front desk. Our front desk staff distinctly remembers feeling insulted by you and your family, which may be why they were less than eager to help you relocate. We're happy that you ultimately found the luxury property you were looking for, but we do caution you to next time do your research on a property before you book. Just because there was a mismatch between your expectations and what we offer in our mid-priced, family-owned hotel is not a good reason for you to slam us and our hard-working staff on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

The hotel was beautiful its all open so you feel the breeze. The beach was beautiful but the waves were so big it was had to just sit and relax in the water but was fun to ride them. What they don't show in the pictures is that there is a road in-between the beach and the hotel. The food at dinner was not very good at all they had very different food and wasn't very good. The lunch was good they had the usual american food, burgers, sandwiches, grilled cheese. The diving was excellent. There wasn't any nightlife at the hotel so if you're looking for fun at night then you'll have to leave the hotel. The swim up bar closes very early around 7, before its dark.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience on TripAdvisor; we truly apologize that we did not fully meet your expectations. It's quite true that there is an unpaved public road between the hotel and the beach, but it is usually not that busy with traffic. More than 10 years ago we worked with an architect and eco-landscaper to develop a beautiful pedestrian-friendly boulevard in place of this road, to beautify the entire beachfront area, and especially to protect the vital mangrove forest adjacent to the resort property. Unfortunately resistance from the local community has put the project on hold for all these years, simply because some residents would have to drive an additional 5 minutes to go around the mangrove to get from one end of Flamingo Beach to the other. We have been working with the local municipality in changing hearts and minds on this issue, and hopefully, we will be able to make this project a reality soon. As to the food, it is very disheartening to hear you didn't like our dinner menu, after much thought and time went into developing it to include a variety of locally sourced fresh food along with vegetables, fruits and herbs harvested from our own organic farm. We'll keep trying to improve in this area, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We have a time share here and are here almost every year, and I have never had a complaint. The service has been quick and efficient, pleasant people and over all this is the cleanest place I have ever stayed.
I think that the only comment that I have is that the drinks and the food are a little pricey - however the locale provides ample adventure in dining and there are little groceries in Brasillito that have loads of snacks, beer and wine. We just stocked up the room and avoided the pricey bar drinks - and ventured into loads of other restaurants.
Great concierge service which was great to book some adventures.
I will come back over and over!

Room Tip: Ask for pool view - the back side rooms look over the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelygirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
One of the true joys we have in this challenging business is to welcome our return guests, those that love our little piece of paradise the way we ourselves do, and accept us with our flaws and all to embrace us with their ongoing patronage and friendship. We cannot thank you enough for being one of those friendly, familiar faces that we look forward to serving time and again. We are pleased that we are able to make you feel like part of our family, and thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences on TripAdvisor. Hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,575 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,325 reviews
11.2 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Playa Flamingo | Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 50304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing