We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diving experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great diving experience”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We did not stay at the resoort but used their dive shop often. They are absolute pro's who keep things very fun. My kids literally raved about their dive master Risky. Great boat and crew, amazing dives and fantastic staff. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottlpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Many people don't realize that there are some fabulous dive spots right offshore of our beautiful Playa Flamingo location. We are glad you enjoyed working with our dive team, and hope that the next time you come you will stay with us at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa so we can show you our Costa Rica hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    746
    245
    82
    46
See reviews for
707
852
58
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just spent 2 nights here and it was great! I've stayed at a friend's house on the other side of the beach so I've been to this hotel but never stayed there before. Everything was spotless, the staff absolutely wonderful & very attentive, rooms updated and with everything you need. I ate several meals at the restaurant and I thought the food was great! I also just saw the bar upstairs...I never knew it was there! The sunset was great, loved the "lounge" type of atmosphere with the sofas and just an overall great stay.:-)

Room Tip: Upper level Beach facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
It is so wonderful for us and our hard-working staff to read such favorable reviews as your recent post here on Trip Advisor; we are truly grateful that you took the time to share your positive experience with others. Our staff does work so hard to please our guests, and we invest so much to constantly upgrade and improve our facilities and amenities. Our goal is to provide a pleasant, enjoyable location for families and couples to experience a wonderful Costa Rica beach vacation and we appreciate it when our efforts are recognized. Thank you; please return whenever you can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Clean and spacious rooms with balconies, with lots of ameneties, and right on a very nice beach.
The restaurant serves delicious food, and the aqautic and sports desk has toys for all needs. An easy 1-hour transfer from Liberia airport.

Room Tip: Ask for pool/ocean view and not on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your short and very sweet review of your recent stay with us at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. We strive to be a great family hotel and are so pleased we succeeded in your case. Thank you very much for the recommendation; please come back and see us when you can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed a week in a studio. The property was beautiful and very well maintained. It was impeccable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We loved the delicious complementary breakfast with many food options and fresh fruit. The pool with the ocean view was incredible and we also really enjoyed the family room with pool tables/Ping-Pong and movies when we took a break from the sun. The beach was awesome and the locals selling items weren't pushy. We were hoping to snorkel off the beach, but it was too rough. We went on a tour for that. It was very nice having the kitchenette - we had lunches in and with breakfast included, we only ate out for dinner. We were thankful for the free parking and the extra security in the lot after the rental car company put the fear of God in us to always watch our car. Thankfully there were no issues. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend Flamingo!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MlleFrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. We are so thrilled that it was all you had been hoping for and that you would highly recommend us. We appreciate your business and would love to have you as return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as a part of a package tour then stayed an extra 3 nights on our own so switched rooms in the middle of the trip, which was our decision because we wanted the kitchenette with fridge for the remainder of the stay.

Pros: Beach is a few steps away, beautiful sunset views from the beach, they did bring lounge chairs over to the beach daily for hotel guest use, three nice pools including a covered kids pool, pool view rooms were OK in terms of size, the "secret" pool on the side of the hotel had a volleyball net, iguanas hanging out on beach chairs like they owned the place (cute!), friendly staff, good security, small game room for the kids with a pool table and ping pong tables and movies three times daily, good breakfast (worth the $10/pp/day and there really are no other options). We found out the second day that you can order a la carte for breakfast instead of just the buffet, which was nice. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful but I did think it was odd that the activities director had off on Sundays so we couldn't get a volleyball that day like we had every other day. Lots of tour and activity rental options on site and steps away. Nice looking tennis court and covered cabana-type area with hammocks and tables and chairs.

Cons: Very remote; if you are looking to leave the resort and shop/nightlife/eat out I'd probably recommend elsewhere like Tamarindo or other areas. If you want to sit at the pool or beach with a drink in your hand all day this is the place for you. Not too much shade in the pool area and on the busier weekend people would stake their claims to chairs/tables early in the morning then leave their stuff all day even if they weren't using it which was very annoying but not a huge problem. Air conditioners in the pool view rooms didn't work all that well, but they were fighting us opening the door to the balcony in 95+ degree weather. The pool view rooms we saw only had double beds. Beds were small but comfy, pillows were really flat. Food was average at best (go to Marie's across the street instead) and both food and drinks were very pricey. Also the shop, concierge/tour desk and casino were run separately from the hotel so you can not charge any of these items to the room and the nearest bank/atm is not really within walking distance. The surf is very rough at Playa Flamingo so watch your kids, there is a really strong rip current at all times. The photographers were everywhere, they were very nice but a bit intrusive.

Room Tip: We transferred mid-stay to a family room with a kitchenette and couch, it was ok but only a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlcctravelgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your views on Trip Advisor. It is true that Playa Flamingo is a quiet area in terms of nightlife. On the resort we have a family game room and movie theater, a small casino, and occasional evenings with live music or karaoke or other such activities. We also offer a large number of tours and excursions from our hotel, and if you rent a car there are many lovely beaches nearby to visit. So it is quite easy to use the resort as your base for exploring much of Costa Rica, and get out and about every day. However, if you don't choose to use the tour services and don't rent a car, it's true that the offerings of restaurants and shops nearby is limited. However, this is what gives our beach the privacy and tranquility that many cherish--since 100% of beaches in Costa Rica are public. In the end, it comes down to a matter of tastes and preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We spent one week at the Flamingo with our family this March and it was fantastic. The staff was over the top, especially Alexandra in the restaurant, Elias in the pool bar, and Arthur the activities director. It took us 30 seconds to get to the pool from our room, and 30 more seconds to get to the beach. The beach is amazing, the pool is clean, the rooms are clean and roomy, and the local bars and restaurants are very good. Everything is close and convenient. The food is good, it's not 5 star but we didn't pay for 5 star. The locals are very non intrusive but they are around to sell different things by the beach. I would highly recommend the Flamingo and we will definitely be back! We read a few of the bad reviews before the trip and realized that people go down there thinking it's the Ritz in Chicago and they want their feet kissed every four minutes. The hotel is older but it's VERY CLEAN and the staff is awesome. If you want the JW Marriott in Phoenix then go there but you will get what you pay for at the Flamingo. Like I said, we will be returning sooner than later!

Room Tip: Top floor is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. I think it is my most favorite of any review ever written about our property, I laughed so hard when I read your line about the Ritz! We do our best to provide good value; we never claim to be neither the Four Seasons, nor the Ritz nor the JW Marriott. We are a small, family-owned boutique property and try to provide a broad spectrum of amenities for our guests to enjoy, in addition to our privileged location on Costa Rica's most beautiful beach. Thank you also for your lovely comments about some of our extraordinary staff members, we really cherish them and love when our guests give them the recognition they deserve. Pura Vida, please return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hotel is overall comfortable, clean and contemporary. Located directly across the street (5 steps) to a public beach. Beach is very pretty and the local vendors do not bother you.

The hotel could use some renovations and this is evident in the rooms though not something that would make or break my decision to stay here. Hotel employees are very friendly but they are under-staffed resulting in slow food service. Restaurant food is expensive and at best average quality. Pool bar drinks are way too expensive, we went once and never returned ($18 for two small margaritas). The hotel photographers, while nice, are everywhere, and this becomes bothersome. Constant sunshine by the pool (not complaining) but not many shaded areas lay out, the beach has hardly any shade. It was difficult to find spots by the pool of this variety.

A decision maker: If you want a hotel near the beach with beautiful views and you are not looking for much night life this is a pretty good choice in Playa Flamingo. If you'd like to do things around your beach hotel (night life or shopping/exploring) that is a short walk, choose another Costa Rica Playa. Marie's restaurant down the street is excellent. Other beaches are a short drive away.

Room Tip: Pool view room is more than sufficient for a good view of the beach, wouldn't have upgrade to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Necole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are very sorry that your stay with us was not all you had hoped for. We will use your comments to do a better job, especially in food service. Your remark about the price of drinks is interesting because here where we live part-time, in Miami Beach, FL, you cannot even get one Margarita for $18! And please keep in mind that in Costa Rica, the government taxes and the required 10% service charge are included in the charges, while in the US they are add-ons to your bill. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,582 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,336 reviews
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
11.2 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Address: Playa Flamingo | Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once you've experienced a Pacific Ocean sunset from the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, you may never want to leave. Located in the vacation province of Guancaste, you’ll be perfectly-positioned to explore Costa Rica's natural beauty and limitless adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing