We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing resort with amazing people & an amazing beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing resort with amazing people & an amazing beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Can't say enough nice things about our week (3/21/14 through 3/28/14) at the Flamingo Beach Resort in Costa Rica. The pool is spotlessly clean and very inviting for those non-stop sun-filled days. The waves on Flamingo Beach out front often crash down with so much noise that you can hear the waves breaking while laying on a lounge chair at the pool...the ambiance is really amazing at the resort. The workers are very attentive, kind and helpful. Our room was perfectly clean and we had no issues what so ever during our entire stay. We were reluctant to take excursions away from the resort because it was so amazingly special to just enjoy the surroundings and amenities of the Flamingo Beach Resort. We did leave for two excursions which were very fun.
The wireless Internet (although free) is spotty and a little slow, but in reality, worked fine since guests throughout the resort were seen using laptops, smartphones and ipads checking voicemail etc. We did not get the all-inclusive plan, so we paid cash for our meals and the price of food and drinks at the resort are on the upper-end...but the quality of the drinks and food were also upper end. We found a few places nearby (Marie's across the street from the resort's front entrance and Coco Loco down the beach) that had very acceptable food and drinks that were more reasonably priced. Just can't say enough good things about the attitudes of all the resort workers...helpful, kind, genuine, friendly and fun as they all really work hard to keep the guests cared for while on vacation...Although not expected, please tip the workers throughout the resort as they are so appreciative of the encouraging tip of gratitude back their way. What a wonderful place and we do hope to return someday and of course would highly recommend The Flamingo Beach Resort to others! Last, we used Apple Vacations and flew with United Airlines into the close by Liberian airport.
Thank you for a wonderful vacation Flamingo Beach Resort!!!
Doug & Lesa, of Colorado, USA

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SenorBlancoColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Aw, you made our day! A very sincere thank you from me, my family, our wonderful management team and our yes--AMAZING--staff! You are so lovely to go on Trip Advisor to write these kind and positive words and we really appreciate it. Pura Vida, come back and see us soon. Give us a heads up in advance (an email to pdoñas@resortflamingobeach.com or dgarcia@resortflamingobeach.com) so we can make sure your return visit is just as special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    712
    240
    79
    46
See reviews for
652
812
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

I talked my husband into vacationing in Costa Rico after having traveled there without him three years ago. The Flaming Beach resort was within our budget and provided an excellent quality of service for the price. We purchased the inclusive package which has provided us with a good quality and variety of food, variety of beverages Ina very relaxed atmosphere. Flamingo Beach resort is a family friendly resort. We are empty nesters who prefer to vacation in places without children. However, the families here monitor their well-behaved children, so this was not an issue. The hotel is across the street from the the ocean, but easily within a five minute walk to the water. Book the odd number rooms if you want a view of the water. Our room was very comfortable. We are here in late March which is the height of the hot season. The air conditioner worked well, the bed is very comfortable, the pools a very clean, and the staff have been very polite, helpful and kind. This is our second evening, but so far we are very pleased with our experience.

Room Tip: If you want a the ocean side book the odd number rooms. They are not necessarily ocean view, but are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
We appreciate very much that that you brought your husband back to Costa Rica and are enjoying your stay with us at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. We don't claim to be fancy, but we are very family- and couples-friendly and believe we provide great value for the price. Our staff is comprised of mostly locals who have a real dedication toward making our guests feel at home, safe and well-taken-care-of in their beautiful country. Thank you for choosing us for your second visit; we hope there will be many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My grown daughters and I vacationed at the Flamingo BR, March 18th 2014 for one whole fabulous week! The view from our balcony allowed us to view the gorgeous beach, the pool and foothills surrounding the resort. We found the entire staff to be dedicated to pleasing their guests. The front check-in staff, baggage attendants, house cleaning staff, photo staff----all friendly and did their jobs very well. Food service staff were unbelievably AMAZING-----creating an interesting and always delicious dining experience---from the ambiance of the dining areas (clean and beautiful), tremendously respectful ( and obviously, "team player" oriented wait-staff , to the attentive bartenders. Everything we consumed seemed to be the most delicious thing ever! My special thanks goes to the Directors /Managers that organize it all! The attendants at the concierge desk were knowledgeable, helpful and cleverly witty. The activities arranged here were exciting, safe and SO MUCH FUN! We chose the Arenal Volcano Trip with zip-line and hot springs swim for one day and the "Lazy Lizard" afternoon to sunset, catamaran excursion with snorkeling on another day. The guides for each trip were gregarious with knowledge, education and their people oriented spirit! The Flamingo's rather secluded beach is one of the most beautiful that I have seen! I obviously highly recommend this vacation destination!

Room Tip: Room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely words! We are so pleased that you selected the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa for your Mom & Daughters girls' trip and even more pleased that you totally enjoyed your experience with us. Pura Vida! Sounds like you really took advantage of a lot of fantastic excursions while using Flamingo as your base. We are so glad you felt safe, comfortable and cared for during you time with us. Thanks for sharing this review on Trip Advisor and please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This resort was a great way to spend our vacation! Our room was very clean and comfortable. The balcony was large and we had a nice garden view. We had a couple problems with the fridge and air conditioner which was fixed immediately. The staff spoke better English than any other all inclusive we had been to. We got to know most of the bartenders quite well and they were very personable. Our favorites to mention were Elias, Manuel, Diego, and Alberto!! The food quality was by far the best we have had on any vacation. I am not a beach person, but was drawn to this particular beach because of how beautiful it was. The only thing I would say that I wish was different is there is no where for the all inclusive guests to eat after 9:30pm. We did however go to the casino and paid for a great sandwich. At the end when we went to get our photos from the "paparazzi" on the resort we liked so many of them, but had a budget in mind, we tried to push for a free photo but they wouldn't budge. All in all we would definitely come back! Thanks to everyone there who made our vacation so great.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaspinacharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review of your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. We were very, very happy to read that in the maintenance issues you had were handled quickly and efficiently. Maintenance problems are quite common at oceanfront hotels, especially after three solid months of high season when usage for items such as refrigerators and air conditioners is constant, without a break. We do have a wonderful staff at our resort, and we very much appreciate your mention and appreciation of their hard work. You words were very thoughtful and kind; we would love to have you come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here a few years ago (Apr 2012 not 2013) but think of it so often I knew I had to comment. We had a great family stay at this hotel, they went out of their way to give us adjoining rooms so our daughters had some privacy but we felt we were all together. The food on site was very good, we did not do all inclusive as food in the local restaurants was so good we varied the places we ate. The staff were always willing to help out and our room was spacious and clean. We still say best Wings we have ever had came from this resort and we look forward to being able to return some day soon! Beautiful beach and sunsets!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
It is very kind of you to take the time to write a review even though your stay was almost two years ago--how time flies, no? One of the things we absolutely love about our resort is the opportunity it provides us to become part of a person's lifelong good memories. We are so happy we succeeded in your case and would absolutely love to welcome you and your family back to the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. Please give us heads up when you reserve that you a return guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent 4 nights here with a tour group, over spring break. The initial impression that one gets of this resort, from the landscaping, the hotel entrance and lobby, pool etc..., is that of an older but well mantained property with nice furnishings...the reality is far different. The bathrooms are in bad need of renovation, the water pressure was ridiculously low and the thermostat in our shower was broken, so the water was either freezing cold or hot (we ended up showering in the kids bathroom). The bathtubs are old and gross, with a weird depressed border around the perimeter of the tub where sand would collect. The floors are ridiculously slippery when wet, my son tripped coming out of the shower wearing flip flops and smacked his head hard, so make sure you have lots of towels to mop up any water that gets on the floor.

The air-conditioning unit in our room was broken and would beep loudly every hour on the hour all night long, when we called the hotel front desk to complain, cause it was keeping us up, the response was "well we've never heard that one before" and "try turning it off and on" we finally just left it off and sweltered all night - the unit wasn't fixed till two days later.

The pillows were lumpy, though the mattresses on the beds were good.

There is free wi-fi practically everywhere in Costa Rica and getting an internet connection was never a problem till we got to this property - so if for work reasons you need an internet connection, this is probably not the place to stay, as the connection was either so slow an e-mail would at times take 20 minutes to send or non-existatnt.

We had to change to an Ocean View Suite the last night of our stay, the room was quite large with a full kitchen, but again there were issues with the bathroom which was cramped and poorly designed, the toilet in that room was a two flush model and it didn't work. The pull out bed had not been prepared and when we returned after a long day out and dinner at near-by beach restaurant, we called the front desk and were told the sheets would be sent up right away, but when no one turned up half-hour later we called again and were told there were no housekeepers on staff and that we would have to wait, when finally someone turned up with sheets, we weren't given a complete set, so we stripped sheets off our own bed to make the kids bed. We were woken up at midnight the night of our Ocean View Room by loud music blasting and people partying on the beach, there is a road that runs between the hotel and the beach which makes access to the beach very easy for anyone.

The only meal we had at the resort was breakfast and we found the food to be of good quality, though the flatware and plates and cups were often dirty and food-encrusted and service was average (slow and they brought us the wrong order 2x).

The beach here is lovely, not rocky, though not deep, with beautiful sunset views. It is probably not ideal for families with small children under 8, because after 2:00 pm the waves star rolling in with great force and there's quite a strong rip-tide, and no life guard. There are lots of vendors on the beach and a pretty aggressive photographer duo who operate a business out of the hotel. They also have a very strict pool towel policy, $25.00 per towel if they are not returned, so you need to guard your towels at all times.

We really didn't spend much time at the hotel, so I can't comment on any of the other amenities, tennis courts, family game room, or pool activities but heard from others in our tour that the activity room is great for the kids.

If you want a true 4-star experience it's best to go elsewhere. I'm not sure what the cost of the rooms are per night, as the hotel was part of a prepaid package, but I would gladly have paid more to stay elsewhere for a restful night.

If you do decide to stay at Flamingo Beach make sure to have dinner at Coco Loco, about 1/2 mile down the road that runs along the beach or a nice stroll on the beach from the Flamingo Resort; casual, excellent food (fresh catch of the day), and inexpensive (1lb lobster: $15.00), large bean bags to lounge on after dinner and watch the surf and gaze up at the stars)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcelloup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We deeply regret that your experience at the resort was not what it should have been and we apologize for the problems that you had in the areas of maintenance and housekeeping. We would like to assure you that your experience was not the norm for the majority of our guests, but of course we realize that this no consolation to guests like yourselves who do experience problems. As owners we have personally taken our management team to task over every issue that you mention, and they understand that this is unacceptable. Thank you for giving us your feedback so that we can work much harder in ensuring that all of our guests have a truly great and memorable vacation at Flamingo Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are nice but plan to pay more for a decent view. The decks are nice but the bathrooms are outdated. The pool is nice but no hot tub. The beach is quiet but road separates the resort from the beach. However, the sunsets from the beach are gorgeous. Not a bad hotel to be located in since two good restaurants are across the street. Be sure to take the free transportation to the Golden Shrimp in Brasallito -great food on the beach!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our resort. We are glad there are things you liked. Yes, our ocean & pool view rooms are the most popular and are in such demand that they cost a little more; unfortunately due to the way the hotel was originally constructed, not every room faces the pool or beach. We do have hot tubs, but it they are in our OnZen Spa--which, by the way, is worth a visit. We do have a small, unpaved public road that separates the resort from the beach, but our location is much closer to the ocean than 90% of hotels along Costa Rica's beaches, because for over two decades no one has been allowed to construct as close to the beach as we are. We also have a beautiful protected mangrove area right next the to hotel, which keeps our beach quite private and pristine. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,024 reviews
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
15.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Playa Flamingo | Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 50304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing