We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice & Good Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Choice & Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here 1/29 through 2/6. After doing my online research, I had emailed the resort to request a 2nd floor room for our stay as opposed to being half underground in a 1st floor room or climbing even more stairs to a 3rd floor room. Upon check in, the girl (who I can't remember her name) tried to give us a 3rd floor room & I thought to myself...oh no, not again...as I had gone through this before at other resorts & my reason for always emailing my room/floor request before arriving. After explaining to her I had previously sent an email to their hotel website with my request & offered to show her the copy of it which I had with me, all of a sudden a 2nd floor room became available.

We liked the location of our room, #2215, which had a nice view over the pool area with a partial view of the ocean. It was probably the 5th room in from one end of the building & close enough to the ocean that you could hear the waves crashing while out on the balcony, nice! Had no complaints with the room itself, was clean & beds were comfortable & maid service was fine, even though one day we didn't have enough washcloths but that was remedied the next day. Plus, I was happy to see we had a dresser in our room with drawers, so that we could even unpack some of our clothes for our week stay. A nice little perk were the small little toiletry samples of shampoo, conditioner, hand lotion provided along with the usual body soap. Enjoyed the large balcony with the lighted ceiling fan also & a mini fridge is provided along with snacks if one wishes to partake in for a cost, a room safe also provided.

We arrived early enough to be able to check in, get in our bathing suits & hit the pool to just chill & relax after a tiring day of travel. While sitting at the swim up bar waiting for a drink seemed to take forever, bartender Elias seemed more intent on serving & visiting with other customers while I continued to wait & as I was getting ready to make my presence more known to him that I continued to wait...he finally took my drink order. He seemed to get a little more attentive over my week stay however, I was always served more promptly by more friendly bartender Manolo who seemed to be more customer oriented. Drinks were usually good but sometimes had to ask for more alcohol in them. All inclusive did not include premium liquor & would sometimes have to sign for drinks & food during stay which was explained that was for inventory purposes, even though we were staying all inclusive.

Although there is only one restaurant on the premises, I found there was enough variety in the food selections to not be redundant. All inclusive includes the breakfast, lunch & dinner buffets & food ordered through the swim up bar as well. We mainly did the buffets but another option is to order off the menu for a price for whatever is not included in the all inclusive package. We liked the option of either dining on the main floor inside, or outside on the open air patio or on the upper level, we liked the comfortable setting with the bar, tables & couches to just relax & enjoy the warm breezes & a sunset view. On only one day I had ordered an omelet that quite frankly was not so good, so I was hoping this was just a bad day. That proved to be just that one day, omelets I had after that were very good. I'm really picky about how my scrambled eggs are done & every morning I had the scrambled eggs, were delicious & done just the way I like them!! My only wish was that there was more of a variety of fish offered, was mainly sea bass in the buffets which I'm not a big fan of, did like the "fish fingers" though. Would like to acknowledge Leonardo, as one of the cooks, who we thought did a good job providing a tasty, variety of food. Service sometimes a little slow in the restaurant, but hey, you're on vacation & service was always friendly with a smile, much appreciated. Excellent Costa Rican coffee served in the mornings, loved that, just wish they had offered a more rich, half & half to go along with such good coffee.

The resort itself is only 120 rooms altogether, which I prefer over large, mega resorts. I found the majority of the staff to be very helpful & friendly & must acknowledge Fiona, I believe that's her name, as the hotel concierge who was very helpful to us in arranging some of tours we took, we appreciated her for doing such a good job! Same goes for the front desk staff, always helpful & friendly. There was only one time we did not receive a requested wake up call that was requested from the night before from a female front desk person I spoke to, oh well. We ended up being awake early anyway, the other calls we made to the front desk to gentlemen we spoke to for requested wake up calls we did receive.

We thought the location was very nice, just have to cross a not very busy road to get to the beach area. We chose Playa Flamingo beach to stay after reading it was a more passive beach area good for swimming. I never did venture into the ocean as every time I observed the waves, they seemed too big for my comfort level & I witnessed some people actually getting pummeled by the waves, some days were worse than others. One day even heard a visitor remark there were small sting rays in the water close to shore. After all, this is the Pacific ocean & not as calm as the Caribbean ocean, wasn't really an issue for me since I enjoyed the massive pool every day with the convenient swim up bar. The resort has convenient access for ATV tours or water sports/activities on their property. We did the ATV tour & were able to see other beaches in the area...Brasilito & Playa Conchal & actually I liked Playa Flamingo the best!

Playa Flamingo isn't really a city or town so shopping is limited in the area. The resort has 2 small gift shops off the lobby area & across the street is a little plaza that has a couple more shops with a couple of restaurants, Marie's & Angelina's. A short 10 minute cab ride to closest little town of Brasilito has better prices in their souvenir shops, along with a few restaurants that line the beach area there, very nice little town with friendly locals. Bigger, touristy town of Tamarindo a little further away.

A couple of little glitches that happened during my stay as mentioned above wouldn't prevent me from giving an excellent review of this resort. Overall, I found the majority of the staff here to be very accommodating, friendly & helpful. I cannot agree with some other negative reviews about staff, resort being outdated, pools dirty, food, etc. Granted, reviews are made based on personal experience & mine was a positive one by far. Enjoyed my stay here with friendly, helpful, smiling staff, willing to accommodate their customer's needs. Beautifully landscaped property with clean rooms, nice open air lobby, large clean pool & good food in a scenic location on the beach. I've traveled to some caribbean islands where although the sights were beautiful, they were lacking in customer service & friendliness with some of the locals being downright rude. For example, my friend was asked by one of the hotel's staff on our departure if there was anything they could improve upon. This was impressive & proves that this resort is striving to do their best to satisfy their customers that they would take the time to ask for suggestions for improvement! For the first time visitor to Costa Rica enjoy this beautiful, friendly country & I can personally recommend this resort for an enjoyable vacation!

Room Tip: Recommend a second floor room overlooking the pool, closer to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank burnsyislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We really appreciate your taking the time to write such a detailed and comprehensive review of your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, and are certainly pleased that you gave us such high marks. It is quite true that we are doing our best to satisfy our customers and we thank you for acknowledging that and for such a nice recommendation! Hope you'll come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    703
    237
    76
    46
See reviews for
640
803
54
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed at this resort for one week in February, 2014. I travelled with 4 family members and we were very impressed with the cleanliness, staff and facilities. We booked 2 standard rooms and they were more than adequate. One room did overlook the parking lot, but we were not in our room long enough for it to matter. The staff always obliged us, the breakfast which was included was great, no complaints with this resort and may return for another vacation at some point. The location is fantastic, the beach amazing with wonderful sunsets, the weather was exemplary.

Room Tip: Another time I would request a room with a walk out or a balcony with a hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and recommendation. We are so happy to hear that you may return for another vacation with us and would love to honor your request for a pool view room if you would please send it to us in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Although we did not actually stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort, the condo we rented allowed us access to all the amenities. I was quite impressed with the resort. They have a wonderful pool area and the staff was very polite, courteous and attentive. They had a nice little casino, games room and there was even a little movie theater! How Fun, something for everyone! The beach itself is absolutely gorgeous. Wonderful for morning walks, lazing around (when not by the pool), swimming and catching some amazing sunsets!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
There are a limited number of condos in the area that provide access to the Flamingo Beach Resort. So glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

After doing my research on TripAdvisor, we finally booked here not really knowing what to expect. We chose this location because of an ATV tour we wanted to take. I was in charge of making the whole itinerary for a group of five and did not wanted to disappoint anybody. What a big surprise when we got there. The location couldn't be better. It is right across from the beach, and the Beach its AMAZING. Flamingo city is small, so not much to do, but this was the end of our 13 day vacation so we just wanted a place close to the beach to enjoy the sunsets, relax and relax. Rooms were very spacious; it was like 2 rooms combined together. Breakfast, included in our plan, was the usual. The only downside to this hotel is that Wifi connection was not the best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afiroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We are very pleased that your research led you to us and that you were quite happy with what you found! Thank you for your positive review. We regret that you had trouble with WiFi, but it is a problem with the carrier in the area and the lack of bandwidth provided by our ISP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Flamingo Beach Resort Jan 25-29, 2014 celebrating our 40th anniversary on the 27th. Our room was always perfectly clean and the food was delicious. Service was exceptional. What stood out most was the attention to detail provided by the staff for our Romantic Dinner on the Beach. Juan Carlos Rojas and his staff exceeded my expectations with this surprise for my wife. What a great time. We hope to see you again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
It is always our goal to exceed our guest's expectations and we are so proud and pleased that we succeeded in your case. It is a total team effort and it depends on everyone to constantly be putting their best foot forward and 110% effort all of the time. It's a very tough and tiring business -- 24 hours a day, 7 days a week --- so we are touched and honored when someone notices and appreciates our efforts. We also hope you will come back and see us again, thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Based on all the great reviews was shocked at how dirty/awful our room was. Finally moved after 2.5 days but the horror of our arrival was hard to overcome - moldy, dirty, fridge with brown sludge, view of a parking lot, remote to a/c falling apart but turned out a/c was broken so had to supervise crew with loud walkie talkies - once working it kept me up all night. In morning, I supervised another crew to take off/shave down the bathroom door which wouldn't close and made loud rubbing sound because apparently I hadn't worked enough at home as a single mom who saved every penny to afford this vacation. My son cut his hand on the ceiling fan changing his shirt, once we moved the room was better but hallways/elevators filthy even after they mopped. Mediocre food & service but great setting. It's a public beach so better to stay cheaper rather than pay for disappointment. Would strongly suggest you avoid this place, I'm very shocked at how misleading the other reviews were.

Room Tip: beware "standard" room - it means dungeon which should be used as a storage closet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Moniglam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Every now and then, every hotel owner has to deal with a guest who wants something for nothing and when they do not get what they want, they threaten to write a terrible review on Trip Advisor. We regret that you were unhappy with the standard room that you booked. We would have been happy to upgrade you, however you came in high season and we did not have a pool or beach view room available, especially not for the price that you paid through a third-party tour operator. The only legitimate maintenance problem that you had was with your a/c remote, which was fixed in a matter of minutes. We offered you a complimentary meal at our restaurant to compensate your inconvenience, which you accepted and then said was not to your liking. We cannot please everyone...but we would certainly not classify the majority of honest and helpful reviews written by our other guests in this forum as "hype."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Back again for three weeks in our suite. Looked forward to it all year. Every day perfect with warm balmy breezes. but sooo many decisions-Beach,pool,balcony-nap?Wonderful ,large pool,steps to a fine white sand beach. You can eat at the resort or take a short walk to other restaurants.Wonderful staff always attentive to any needs and keeping the property spotless. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanaglor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We don't have to say how much our return guests mean to us because we have obviously showed it to you with our hospitality. Thank you so much for coming back to spend three weeks with us this year and for sharing your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
13.8 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
15.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Playa Flamingo 2050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing