We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Morson
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Although we did not actually stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort, the condo we rented allowed us access to all the amenities. I was quite impressed with the resort. They have a wonderful pool area and the staff was very polite, courteous and attentive. They had a nice little casino, games room and there was even a little movie theater! How Fun, something for everyone! The beach itself is absolutely gorgeous. Wonderful for morning walks, lazing around (when not by the pool), swimming and catching some amazing sunsets!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
There are a limited number of condos in the area that provide access to the Flamingo Beach Resort. So glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    744
    245
    82
    46
See reviews for
705
851
58
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

After doing my research on TripAdvisor, we finally booked here not really knowing what to expect. We chose this location because of an ATV tour we wanted to take. I was in charge of making the whole itinerary for a group of five and did not wanted to disappoint anybody. What a big surprise when we got there. The location couldn't be better. It is right across from the beach, and the Beach its AMAZING. Flamingo city is small, so not much to do, but this was the end of our 13 day vacation so we just wanted a place close to the beach to enjoy the sunsets, relax and relax. Rooms were very spacious; it was like 2 rooms combined together. Breakfast, included in our plan, was the usual. The only downside to this hotel is that Wifi connection was not the best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afiroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We are very pleased that your research led you to us and that you were quite happy with what you found! Thank you for your positive review. We regret that you had trouble with WiFi, but it is a problem with the carrier in the area and the lack of bandwidth provided by our ISP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Flamingo Beach Resort Jan 25-29, 2014 celebrating our 40th anniversary on the 27th. Our room was always perfectly clean and the food was delicious. Service was exceptional. What stood out most was the attention to detail provided by the staff for our Romantic Dinner on the Beach. Juan Carlos Rojas and his staff exceeded my expectations with this surprise for my wife. What a great time. We hope to see you again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
It is always our goal to exceed our guest's expectations and we are so proud and pleased that we succeeded in your case. It is a total team effort and it depends on everyone to constantly be putting their best foot forward and 110% effort all of the time. It's a very tough and tiring business -- 24 hours a day, 7 days a week --- so we are touched and honored when someone notices and appreciates our efforts. We also hope you will come back and see us again, thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Based on all the great reviews was shocked at how dirty/awful our room was. Finally moved after 2.5 days but the horror of our arrival was hard to overcome - moldy, dirty, fridge with brown sludge, view of a parking lot, remote to a/c falling apart but turned out a/c was broken so had to supervise crew with loud walkie talkies - once working it kept me up all night. In morning, I supervised another crew to take off/shave down the bathroom door which wouldn't close and made loud rubbing sound because apparently I hadn't worked enough at home as a single mom who saved every penny to afford this vacation. My son cut his hand on the ceiling fan changing his shirt, once we moved the room was better but hallways/elevators filthy even after they mopped. Mediocre food & service but great setting. It's a public beach so better to stay cheaper rather than pay for disappointment. Would strongly suggest you avoid this place, I'm very shocked at how misleading the other reviews were.

Room Tip: beware "standard" room - it means dungeon which should be used as a storage closet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Moniglam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Every now and then, every hotel owner has to deal with a guest who wants something for nothing and when they do not get what they want, they threaten to write a terrible review on Trip Advisor. We regret that you were unhappy with the standard room that you booked. We would have been happy to upgrade you, however you came in high season and we did not have a pool or beach view room available, especially not for the price that you paid through a third-party tour operator. The only legitimate maintenance problem that you had was with your a/c remote, which was fixed in a matter of minutes. We offered you a complimentary meal at our restaurant to compensate your inconvenience, which you accepted and then said was not to your liking. We cannot please everyone...but we would certainly not classify the majority of honest and helpful reviews written by our other guests in this forum as "hype."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Back again for three weeks in our suite. Looked forward to it all year. Every day perfect with warm balmy breezes. but sooo many decisions-Beach,pool,balcony-nap?Wonderful ,large pool,steps to a fine white sand beach. You can eat at the resort or take a short walk to other restaurants.Wonderful staff always attentive to any needs and keeping the property spotless. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanaglor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We don't have to say how much our return guests mean to us because we have obviously showed it to you with our hospitality. Thank you so much for coming back to spend three weeks with us this year and for sharing your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My mother and I had never been off of U.S. soil and were a little reluctant about traveling safely without knowing anything about Costa Rica. But we had a blast! 3 of us stayed a week and never had any issues of any kind! We planned our week full of fun things to do: ziplining was the best! after much online research, adventure park was the best in the country (but it was 3 hours from flamingo), ziping 25 lines over 11 beautiful waterfalls! we also took a 5 hour river raft tour which was very peaceful, a sunset catamaran sail where they let us jump off the boat and swim (snorkeling is not good there), and a jungle/volcano tour. there is much to do if you look for it. the flamingo resort has a HUGE pool with swim up bar and many activities during the day. the beach is a few steps away. the rooms were very clean, although the water pressure was very poor in the shower and sink. the staff at the resort was AMAZING! they couldnt do enough for us to make us feel welcome. we spent our evenings at the upstairs lounge which overlooks the ocean. the beach is VERY dark at night so i would recommend always carrying a flashlight. we rented a car during our week, but the driving conditions are very scary! There isnt many shops around playa flamingo but if you head to playa tamarindo you will find the "touristy" spots/shops. flamingo has a very small casino with some slots and there is a small movie theater and game room. they do have a gym and a spa, but we didnt use them. we got a very nice breakfast every morning and we ate dinner in the lounge at night. the location is fine if you dont want to ever leave. there are a few things to walk to if you dont have a car. hope this helps.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garfieldgirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We totally agree that the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa is the absolute best place for a girls' vacation! We have so many fun tours and activities to offer, and our staff is like one big family, so they will watch out for you and pamper you and make sure you are always totally safe. We are so glad that your first overseas mother-daughter trip was such a success and are so grateful to you for making us a part of it. You didn't mention our OnZen Spa, but we do have awesome treatments there at a reasonable price and we will even do beach massages at a client's request. So if you didn't check it out, that's just one more reason to grab friends, sisters, cousins and aunties and come on back down!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Pefectly located hotel, with direct access to the beach

Staff was friendly at check in and during the whole stay

Pool is big enough if traveling with kids, other options if traveling with youngs are the small cinema were the play 4 movies a day all different and recent, space is enough for 20 persons and the playroom with pool tables

Included Breakfast is ok, with fruit, bread, juices, rice with beans and a few other options like omelettes, sausages and bacon, but if you stay longer than 3 days as we did, since they only change one option across the week the menu start to get boring, if you reach this point there are a couple of options available walking distance (Marie's is one of them)

The hotel has in-site support for tours arrangements, we tried the Catamaran experience with Lazy Lizards and had a blast of a time, pick up departs from the hotel and is 3 min driving. Other thing was the Paloverde boat tour, ok for kids but takes 1.5 hr to get there, tour company will pick you up and will include lunch in both rides

Rooms are clean, with view to the pool

Now, my biggest complain is the internet, although is wifi and free, the speed is really bad, I tried several spots across the hotel and didn't get any better, it was no more than 1MB download and 0.3 MB for upload, VPN worked fine but with such speed I couldn't do too much office work, so if while traveling you need to connect don't expect any fast connection, just ok for Facebook and whatsapp, not for any mid or heavy downloading or uploading

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank okumare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing the Flamingo Beach Resort for your Costa Rica family vacation. We are always pleased when our satisfied guests take the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Our sincere apologies that the Internet is not what many of our guests expect, but this is due to the local service provider for Internet and not to a lack of investment at the hotel level. We have tried to improve the service offered in every way possible, but we just do not have the bandwith available to us that we need for a hotel of our size. Glad you liked most everything else about your extended stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,575 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,322 reviews
11.2 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Playa Flamingo | Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 50304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing