We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Flamingo resort was absolutely beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful, the food was great, the room was large and comfortable. The pool is huge and the pool bar is so fun. Beach is absolutely beautiful. Wifi works well. Surrounding town doesn't have much to offer, but the resort is really great. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blah4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

We think that you are fabulous too, for choosing the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa for your Costa Rica vacation and for writing such a nice, positive review. Since having our guests leave with "no complaints at all" is what we strive for, thank you for letting us know we succeeded with you and your group. Please come and see us again, and thank you for spreading the good word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 2,167 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

the resort is small but very nice. we did not take all inclusive we ate at locale restaurant,beach front ,tubla,pangas just to name a few very good food.I suggest you rent a car at the airport road are well mark so its easy to get around ,tamarindo is a nice little town 20 minutes away nice souvenir stores,restaurant and surfing beach.no need to book excursion in advance locals are outside the resort by the beach every day and they sell them for a lot cheaper than the resort. the room was big and neat. the resort is very quiet at night its not a party resort its a place for romance.the buffet breakfast was great .local women give massages under the palm trees right on the beach $45 hour there's nothing better hearing the waves and getting pampered at the same time.the beach is about 1/2 mile long best beach around nice silky white sand we met a few other couples, they would drive a hour every day from other beach resort to come at our beach.local people are very friendly and we felt very safe every where we went outside the resort. I strongly suggest this resort for couples who want a nice quiet romantic time. the sunset are the best the beach gets pack every evening to see it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

We agree that our resort certainly does lend itself to romance and are so glad that you and your significant other felt so too! We have the best sunsets anywhere, and the beach is just steps away from our well-appointed rooms. Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor, come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our stay was for our son's wedding, and even before we arrived we were pleased with the service offered by the hotel. The staff were warm and efficient and the organisation was top notch. The property and buildings were neat and clean. Our room was well set up and the bed was very comfortable. The hammock they supplied was ideal for that transition between outdoors and cool indoors and just vegging with a cool drink. The dining facilities were clean and well set up. The staff both in the kitchen and dining room were friendly and efficient. We brought back some fish after an excursion and they turned them into a feast. It would be unfair to try to single out one of the staff for praise when everyone did a super job making our stay so pleasant. We plan to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you very much for that wonderfully kind review! We are so pleased that your son's wedding was what you had hope for and that you left us with such positive feelings. We aim to please, and are so glad to have succeeded with you and your group. Thank you for choosing the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, and thanks for spreading the good word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Throughout our stay I went back and forth on this place. All in all it's a good value for the money and if you plan to stay here at night and get out and explore during the day this is a good place for that.

I will start with the good: The rooms and the grounds were very clean and well kept. Beds were comfortable and clean and so were the rooms. Hats off to their staff and management for keeping this place up. Also, we always felt safe and the security seemed to take their jobs seriously which made us feel good. Very good location - this place is basically right on the beach and you just have to cross a small street and you are walking in the sand. There are some waves and current at the beach but nothing a decent swimmer can't handle. The breakfast buffet was pretty good and it was nice to start off the day with a decent meal before heading out (we didn't do the all-inclusive so I cannot comment on that). My wife had a serious allergic reaction during our stay (not related to the hotel) and we called the front desk for help. They had a real doctor in our room within 30 minutes and he got her fixed up which was awesome. It cost us $200 but it was worth every penny. They have a couple photographers on site that take professional photos of you during your stay. I cannot remember her name but the girl who was taking the photos was really nice and she captured some great photos of our family and daughter which we purchased for $8 a piece. Having a stranger take photos of you while you are hanging by the pool or beach is a little strange at first but we got used to it and since they did not pressure or bother us we ended up really liking this service.

Now it's time for the not so good: The overall staff just didn't seem all that friendly. Some of the staff were really friendly and fun, some were kind of friendly and some weren't friendly at all. It was really a mixed experience which I didn't like. One thing that blew my mind was the concierge seemed so put out when I approached her with a question. I turned to my wife and laughed because I couldn't believe I was getting attitude for asking her a simple question. Isn't this her job? Also, the person working in the gift shop that was reading a magazine and wearing earphones that seemed put out when she had to say hello when we walked in to shop for souvenirs. I turned right around and walked out and we bought nothing from her. Not buying from somebody that acts like they don't want me in their store. It would be nice if all of the staff would make eye contact and say "hello" or "hola" when you walked by them in the hotel. It would also be nice if everyone just smiled and had a good vibe. That would have made our experience so much better. And I know this has nothing to do with the hotel but most of the guests were not very friendly. I guess being from Texas I have different expectations when it comes to being friendly and the fact a lot of people staying there were from Canada and the Northern part of the U.S. probably had a lot to do with it. I'm just used to smiling, saying "hello" and being polite to everyone. I'm not used to people not smiling and not making eye contact and not saying "good morning" or "hello". Also, things like cutting in front of you (or reaching over you) in the buffet line for breakfast without saying excuse me got annoying pretty quickly. Speaking of breakfast, nobody every explained how things worked. Every day we learned something new about breakfast like you can get smoothies made or you can order pancakes or fried eggs. We had to figure this out on our own. It would be nice if somebody explained all of this when we sat down to eat each morning. Also, getting our coffee refilled was a chore. Multiple times I got up and filled my coffee myself. This was puzzling to me because I appeared to be the only guy in the entire place that tipped our waiters every morning. We also tipped housekeeping every day but only got small bath towels and one large bath towel every day. There were three of us in the room.

A few tips to people looking to say here: There is no poolside service. You have to go to the pool bar and if you don't have a credit card on file they get a little annoyed. Put a card on file if you plan to drink at the bar. Outside of breakfast we ordered food a couple times and it was not that great. Walk down the road and eat at the Mariner's Inn. They had good food at decent prices and they are really nice. We went to Marie's down the street (which everyone recommends) and for myself, wife and daughter it cost $50 for lunch and a couple drinks. A little too rich for my blood.

A few tips to the management: PLEASE provide written instructions on how to use the Air Conditioning System and put these instructions next to the remote. We struggled with the AC the entire trip and should not have to call for help at the front desk when we want the room cold. Please don't make us feel weird if we don't book services and tours through the hotel. We did our research and booked with services for which we felt comfortable and safe. Whenever we needed help from the front desk from our tour services faxing us info. they weren't helpful and acted like we weren't making good decisions. Finally, there was a nice lady at the front desk (Crista or Cristen) and she was really nice and helpful. She stood out above everyone and made up for others that weren't so helpful. We really liked her.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor and liked our room. Very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3DTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay with us. It's a shame that it wasn't as overall positive as we would like, but we have taken note of your complaints and appreciate the constructive criticism. We especially liked the suggestion about the written instructions for the A/C remote control and have begun to fully implement it. We are surprised that you didn't find our staff to be so friendly, because usually their friendliness and interaction with our guests is one thing that stands out in most reviewers minds. We can't really do much about the friendliness of the other guests, but we will say our crowd differs from week to week. One week we will have a lot of families, another time it will be more couples, sometimes complete strangers bond and form lifelong friendships at our resort, and other times folks just keep to themselves or their own groups. You can never predict it, and it's part of what makes the hospitality business so interesting and dynamic. Wish you had had a more compatible crowd when you were there, we are sure it would have really made the difference in your overall experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The resort is 29 years old and it shows. It does need a facelift! I was disappointed that the staff was unable to give us directions to a local restaurant and bar where the band the "Leather Backs" were playing. They definitely want you to spend all your time at the resort. We found that prices for activities scheduled outside the resort were considerably less expensive. For example, hiring a boat for sport fishing at the resort cost a whopping $500. for 5 hours. The same excursion booked ourside the hotel was $350. Still expensive but quite a savings. The same was true for kayaking and snorkling adventures.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank disappointed96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. While we are not yet quite 29 years old, it is true that our property is nearing its third decade, but we have renovated it extensively several times. We are sorry you were disappointed in your stay, but it is totally not true that we "want you to spend all your time at the resort." We offer so many activities and excursions off of the property, and offer flexible meal plans to accommodate those who plan to be out exploring most of the time, unlike many other all-inclusive resorts. Also, the fact that some of our staff members cannot give directions to a local bar/restaurant where a musical group catering to local North Americans and tourists is playing shouldn't be held against them, because you have to remember that our staff members probably do not patronize these establishments and may very truthfully not be familiar with the venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the resort for 10 days from 1/11 to 1/21. The weather, the food,the employees there, are top notch. I could name names of the staff but each one was gracious, accommodating and resourceful. The rooms were clean and inviting. I already said to my wife I want to go back next year and reserve room 1205. It's a big world and I'm not sure we will actually go there next year but we will visit again some day. A most memorable vacation in a beautiful country.
Frank Di

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is nice and there's plenty of vegetation between the balcony and the pool t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Although this is just another resort it is wonderfully located. We were disappointed that they could only provide us with double beds although we had ordered a queen or a king, when we arrived they said they had upgraded us to a no view junior suite (still double beds) with a cooking unit, as we had paid extra for pool view and had no intention of cooking we refused it sending them into a bit of a spin. When we did get a room overlooking the pool it was wonderfully located we could see both the pool and the ocean. The resort is within walking distance of several restaurants and facilities the on site restaurant is very nice, overlooking the beach and with good food. The pool was great but the loud music from the pool bar was a bit much at times and seem to cater to the younger group of which there were not many, most patrons seemed to be older or families with children. The WiFi was very poor reception.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
10.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
11.2 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,518 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo Santa Cruz | Guanacaste, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range: $129 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once you've experienced a Pacific Ocean sunset from the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, you may never want to leave. Located in the vacation province of Guancaste, you’ll be perfectly-positioned to explore Costa Rica's natural beauty and limitless adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing