We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here several times and highly recommend these facilities. It is clean ,a lot of choices and good prices. Our grandchildren still talk about the resort.
There is easy access to the beach.the pool area is lovely ,and the staff willing to,please you.They enjoyed the activities and atmosphere so much and we did too.
We will come again. Doreen&Zen (Western Canada)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 2,150 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here because of a Groupon deal and it was a great deal! Service at the front desk was superb and the rooms, pool, restaurant were clean and looked after. Hammocks big enough for two on our deck (bottom floor in Bldg 1) were great. We didn't have the all inclusive but we bought the breakfast for our stay and it was great, though you have to ask for the extras, like french toast or pancakes.
The beach is only across the road and was great to play in the waves and soak up some rays.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the pool. Room numbers ABXX with A being the building number (1 or 2), B is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneJacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My rate was $138 with breakfast included. Our room was spacious, very clean, comfortable mattresses and for our surprise it was equipped with refrigerator, microwave oven, blender and toaster! wow!
The beach was just across the street and it was beautiful, my oldest kid really enjoyed it. The breakfast was good but nothing really special.
The prices in the restaurant menu did not include the 23% taxes (there was a warning note at the bottom of every page though), I found this to be misleading as the final price will be considerably higher and everything was kind of pricey ($3.2 for a glass of soda without refill for example).
I plan to come back with my family in the future.

Room Tip: Bring your own sodas!, there is a refrigerator in each room, and buying them in the hotel is too exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

There are a lot of nice things about this property! You enter by a set of grand stairs to a very pretty open air lobby which opens on to a lovely pool area which you then follow the eye right to the beach. Stunning! The pool has a swim-up bar, plenty of chairs in sun and shade and even some in a shallow shelf of the water, as well as a shaded shallow section of pool for children. The pool area had an activities director who offered fun things to do in and around the pool. The one restaurant has indoor and outdoor sections and an ocean view, as does the upstairs bar. Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was varied, with many options. The waiters are attentive and speak a bit of English. There were all kinds of folks at the resort from young, to families, to older. Families would be very happy here. The hotel is set on beautiful Playa Flamingo just a bit back from the water and you can book tours through the hotel's very helpful concierge or through vendors on the beach. We did both and all were terrific. There is also a cab driver that sits on the road just a bit from the hotel and can take you anywhere. Our room was basic, with little charm, 2 double beds that were a bit run-down and old linens, but it was clean and light-filled. I don't think the grandeur of the pool area is matched by the quality of the rooms but one doesn't spend much time inside. Since the hotel is built around the pool centerpiece, it's hard for me to see how any of them have ocean view but perhaps a few do toward the outer edges. The hotel has very high security! They stop anyone who is not wearing the hotel wristband. We had some trouble with this because our son was in language school there and he and his wife visited us at the hotel. It was a bit of a process to get them approved as our visitors. We loved the Lazy Lizard Catamaran tour, The Palo Verde Park Tour and an ATV tour to neighboring beaches. Restaurants are average but one should not miss the infinity pool/dining experience at Mar Vista or having a drink in the sand at Coco Loco while watching the sun set!! Have fun! You'll love it!

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room for added view above the trees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judithalmissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Nice older but comfortable family resort! It had great pool, a nice buffet breakfast and steps from a beautiful beach with wonderful sunsets.. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. The guest rooms are very large and clean with a hammock on the patio. The air conditioner & internet work well. You could fill your water bottles with the safe water. Thanks!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lmgreener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at Flamingo Beach Resort in January 2014 for one week. We really enjoyed it and the people were great. Our room was nice and clean and kind of pool view. We were in the lower level which was fine with us. We had breakfast included in our price and that was very good. Had dinner two nights and the food was excellent. Would like to return another time.

Room Tip: For the price our room was fine lower level pool side. We were not in the room that much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The two of us (wife and I) stayed at the Flamingo beach resort for 8 days from January 7-15. Picked the Flamingo Beach Resort based on Trip Advisor reviews and price. The resort is older probaby built in the mid 1980's but overall is probably the best value and location of any resort we have stayed at in the tropics. There are 132 rooms in two buildings, 2 kids pools and one main pool, two bar/lounges, one restaurant and a vlt casino. Also included is a small gym, a large games room with billiards and pingpong tables etc. and 3-4 shops. There is a tour provider called TAM with an office next to the pool and two or three others just outside the resort. The number one asset of this resort is it's staff. They were the friendliest and most professional resort staff I have ever met, always smiling, always ready to accomodate every request. Nothing it seemed was too difficult for them to do for us. While there is no night life in the area you wont be disappointed if you are looking for a relaxing place to stay. It takes 1 to 11/2 hours by shuttle bus from Liberia International airport to the resort.

Beach- One of the best in Costa Rica. The beach is only 10 metres from the restaurant and across a small road the local people use to access the beach. It is approximately 1 1/2 miles long with white powder sand and is very clean with a few rocks at either end. You can get out of the sun and lie under the trees on loungers between the road and the waterline. There are not a lot of people on the beach as there is only one other resort and a 1/2 mile deep ecological reserve between the two. There is good snorkelling at both ends of the beach.

Rooms- We were given a room without a balcony/patio facing the parking lot in Building 2 per terms of a vacation package from AirTransat. For 20 US dollars/night, we upgraded to a third floor pool view room with a king-size bed and balcony. The room was average size but very clean and nicely appointed. The AC worked very well, we never had a problem with having enough hot water and and there were no insect problems. Didn't use any insect repellent the entire week. Very quiet at night after 8:00 pm.

Front Desk- There were 2 or three staff at the front desk a concierge and a porter during the day.
The were friendly, attentive and genuinley concerned about our well being.

Food- Excellent food. We had the all inclusive as part of our package and were glad we did. There is a small buffet of 6-7 hot items at the only restaurant and we ate there breakfast, lunch and supper every day except when on tour. There is inside and outdoor seating what ever your pleasure.With the all-inclusive you can also order off a fairly large menu if you dont want the buffet or you can take some items from the buffet and add from the menu. Try the breaded sea bass from the buffet, it's very good. Some food items and premium drinks (check for an asterisk on the menu) do have additional charges. The waiters (Orlando, Carlos and William for starters) were fantastic.

Pool- The main pool is situated between the two buildings and 30 metres at most from the furthest rooms. It is about 4 1/2 feet deep and relatively warm. There are iguanas lounging in the grassy areas around the pool but they are very wary and quite docile.
There is an excellent swim up bar with once again top shelf staff (Manolo and others) who were always quick to refill your drink or snack order from the restaurant. Try the pina coladas and chicken quesadillas. They are out of this world! There were always loungers available around the pool but the ones in the shade were taken by 9:00 am every morning.

Overall it was a great experience. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room with balcony. It's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sasksquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
1.5 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
10.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,554 reviews
11.2 mi away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo Santa Cruz | Guanacaste, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range: $111 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once you've experienced a Pacific Ocean sunset from the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, you may never want to leave. Located in the vacation province of Guancaste, you’ll be perfectly-positioned to explore Costa Rica's natural beauty and limitless adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing