We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very nice property”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My partner and I spent 3 nights here in early January.

The hotel is exceptionally clean, is almost elegant in its
lobby area, and has a great pool. Our room was on
The 2nd floor and had a nice view of the pool and
the hills above the property.
My main critique of the resort is that its design
leaves very few rooms with true ocean front or
ocean view labels. A second, and this is a
matter of personal preference, is that the
hotel and area are very quiet at night...
This is clearly a property that appeals
more to families than to singles or to
to those who prefer more diversions,
especially in the evenings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiBeachFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your accurate and thoughtful review of our resort. We purchased the hotel as it was built, and have renovated extensively, but we totally agree: if we were to tear down the property and rebuild it, we certainly would make sure that every room had an ocean view, because the light-sand beach right out front and the deep, blue Pacific sea are picture perfect in every way!
Thank you for choosing us; we are very happy you enjoyed your stay! Come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    720
    241
    79
    46
See reviews for
663
822
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Flamingo Beach was all we needed for a relaxing last couple of days in Costa Rica. Nice restaurants near the hotel (Marie's and Coco Loco), great pool with good bar service. Only complaint is they could have left the pool bar open a little later into the evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We appreciate your review of the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, and would be happy to take your constructive criticism into consideration. We are pleased you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Flamingo beach is quiet, very relaxing, at least during the off peak travel times.
You do need a car. Other than the beach down the hill, you must drive for groceries, and other sites. To reach the cloud forest it is a 4 hour drive. I recommend planning to stay overnight there.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjvf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for the beach portion of your Costa Rica vacation. We actually hope that our guests choose to stay more than one night, because it is the type of place where you can totally chill and relax, so you absolutely won't want to be rushed and running in and out. Having said that, we do offer day-long tours to the volcanoes, cloud forests, hot springs, etc., which is what Costa Rica has become known for. But there are so many beach activities to do around here as well, such as scuba diving, boating, wave runners, surfing, paddle boards and deep sea fishing, to name just a few. Just hate to think you had to miss out on all of that! Guess you just need to come on back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Hotel is fantastic, very clean, great pool, good breakfast and steps from a beautiful beach. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. The guest rooms are very large and clean. The pool also has a good about of lounge chairs to ensure that you can hang out there anytime you want.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We were ecstatic to read your review and wish to thank you for giving us five "bubbles", which is what we aim for. Sometimes we read comments by reviewers who complain about exactly the things you commend us for, and we are left scratching our heads, because they never complained about a thing while on property. It's truly puzzling, but your review makes us feel a whole lot better that we are doing something right---because we sure do try our hardest to make our guests happy. Thank you for taking the time to let us know that we succeeded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent 2 nights here January 12, 13, 2014 with friends from Costa Rica. The rooms were expensive and dirty. Room furniture filthy and stained looked as though no one cleaned room before we arrived. Bathroom mirror filthy, hairs everywhere.- same dirt on mirror until we checked out. Dead cock roach in bathroom. Very well abused hotel in need of a major update. Lobby furniture filthy dirty. Lobby toilets filthy. Beware happy hour can be a rip off. Would I stay again? No.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orbiting1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We have put in a request to TripAdvisor to see if you even stayed at our property--or possibly got us mixed up with another hotel in the area, because some of the property names are similar. Not that we don't want to own up to our mistakes--quite the contrary!-- but your comments seem just so far off the mark for our hotel! While we are not brand new, we are updating constantly and have one of the most beautiful lobbies in the area, with clean, comfortable furniture and a gorgeous view of the pool and beach. Of course, while we try to be on top of everything, the daily housekeeping of individual rooms sometimes can and do fall through the cracks when the hotel is very full. We take complaints about housekeeping very, very seriously, because cleanliness is the number one rule of successful operations. We have already let one housekeeper go because of negative comments on this site and our in-house guest comment metrix, and we won't hesitate to keep changing and re-training our staff until we achieve perfect scores in that department. Our goal is to remain the number one hotel in Playa Flamingo and we constantly reinvest in our property to make that happen. If you did indeed stay with us, you have our sincerely apologies for not being up to par--and next time please complain right to management in the moment. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I researched and researched before we ended up at Flamingo Beach Resort for the last two days of our nine day trip to Costa Rica. The reviews are all over the place when you look on here. Now that I have been, I have no idea why. This hotel is great. We wanted to spend the last two days of trip at an all-inclusive on a nice beach and with a nice pool. This place had it all. If you are looking for a party hotel this is not it. We did go to bed early every night and did not leave the resort. We came here to relax and soak up some sun. We did make friends at the pool and the beach with other guests. There were a lot of kids, but honestly for the price and location--this place is great. If you want to party, go to Tamarindo or Samara for a night or two.

All-Inclusive Option-if you like to eat and drink, I would definitely sign up for this. Every time my husband and I sat down to in CR it was between $45-$80 for food and drinks for two people. We felt we would get our money worth with the AI option. We did. The drinks are fair. No, the AI option does not include any top shelf or any beer other than Imperial. The frozen drinks were fair. But we did drink. The mixed drinks were better. The food at the bar was wonderful. Loved everything we ordered. It was all junk food, but good junk food!! The breakfast was good. Plenty to choose from and just like everything else we had in CR. The food at dinner was pretty good. We ate off the menu and buffet. I had pasta every night. It was pretty standard. My husband had fish every night and said it was very good. I could see how it might get old to eat here for more than 5 nights, but based on our experience in other parts of Costa Rica it was on par with everything else we had. It is not 5 star, but definitely edible.

Pool- Wonderful. Clean. It is tough to get a chair if they are busy, so get out there early. You can get great Wifi at the pool. Like the swim up bar!

Beach- Beautiful and clean. We loved this beach, it was far better than a few others we saw in Costa Rica. Had we stayed longer we might have tried to surf. The waves were incredible when we were there. Beware of the guys on the beach trying to sell you tours. There are a few plastic chairs on the beach to use. The sunset was amazing to watch every night. The beach is literally 20 feet off the back of the resort. Walked barefoot from the pool to the beach often.

Rooms-We thought they were amazing. We were in 1201. We stayed many different places in CR. This room and bed was by far the nicest. We had a balconey view of the pool. It was not loud. The room was not musty. The bathroom was nice. The shower was not the best hot/cold, but that is all I can complain about. The housekeeping service cleaned up nice. Great American TV stations and the air conditioning was great. Absolutely 100% recommend this place and think it is just like many other AI I have been too, but very simple, nothing fancy! WiFi was not great in the rooms, spotty. The only thing that happened was I left a pair of really nice running tights when we left. I called multiple times and emailed. Still have not heard back from them and I know they found them. Don't leave anything! Getting it back might be difficult!

Spa-We did get massages. We thought the pricing was better than some other areas in CR. In Arenal, the massages cost twice what they did here. The spa itself was nice. My massage was so-so. My husband had the hot rock and loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in 1201. I know it is a wonderful room. I cannot vouch for any of the others! That is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbirdrobison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a balanced and thoughtful review on Trip Advisor of your Honeymoon Stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. 'Perfect" is what we love to hear! We regret that people sometimes go out early in the morning and put their towels down to "hold" lounge chairs, but that is something that we really can't police, we have to rely and people's common sense and sense of fairness. Which doesn't always work we admit, but truly puts us in a bind. Just like we warn our guests about using the guys on the beach who sell tours without credentials, insurance or safety concerns-- all the same, our guests often prefer these options because they can be cheaper. Glad you tried our spa. We wish we had wowed you, but at least your husband loved his, and you felt the prices were reasonable. Once again, we have to compete with massages offered by day merchants on the beach at lower prices; our guests seem oblivious that these don't have any bathroom or other facilities and usually don't even change the sheets between clients...Yuk! Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed January 3 - 10, 2014. The resort was very full due to locals being on vacation and our first room was a parking lot view with no patio/deck. On Sunday night we were moved to a third floor pool view room with a deck. Although the new room was smaller, it was better to have a deck to sit on. The smaller AC unit was also much more quiet. The rooms come with a small refrigerator filled with mini-bar drinks. We purchased beer in town and took out some of the mini-bar items to make room. The mini-bar is expensive and should be avoided. You can purchase snack items in the rec center and in town.

After reading TripAdvisor reviews, we did the breakfast only plan. The breakfast was quite good and filling. We found it easy to have a late breakfast and try one of the local restaurants for dinner. One of our favorite things at the resort was happy hour (2 for the price of 1) between 5 - 6PM at the bar above the restaurant. In January this was a great place to watch the sunset. Non happy hour drink prices were high if you are not on the all inclusive plan.

If you buy meals/drinks at the resort or in town you will save by paying in Colones. The resort and local shops/restaurants take $ but you will not get the best exchange rate. The Bank of Costa Rica is a bit of a hike and it would be nice if the resort would have shuttle service to the bank and into Brasalito.

If you plan on using the pool, do not expect to be able to go out and find a pool chair. Guests would go out before 7 AM and put towels on chairs and then disappear. It would be nice if the resort would have and enforce a rule that you have to be in the pool area in order to tie up a chair.

All in all, we were very satisfied with the resort. Our rooms were comfortable and staff were friendly and helpful. The resort is probably best for couples and families. If you want night life, this is not the place. (That was a plus for us.)

For a last tip or two if you enjoy a morning walk, go down the beach road past Coco Loco and walk up the hill. There are some spectacular houses and a great view of Playa Flamingo and the marina area. Even saw a few monkeys one morning. If you walk to Coco Loco at night with no moon, a flashlight would be advised. Great spot for a romantic beach dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomR741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
A satisfied guest is always what we want to have, so thank you for choosing us and for writing your positive review in this forum. Like other reviewers, however, you mention your annoyance at guests who go down to the pool early to "reserve" pool chairs by placing items on them. There is really no way for us to prevent this or enforce a ban; if you see a lounge chair open for while with only a towel placed on it, feel free to move that person's towel! Unfortunately (and as always) the nice, respectful people suffer at the hands of those who don't care as much about their fellow man!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
6.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,110 reviews
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
15.0 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Playa Flamingo | Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 50304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing